We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed for 5 days at the Plaza Sorrento and it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel was recently remodeled (not common in the city), rooms are clean and offers a great service. The only downside is that the roof top pool area is small for the number of guests the hotel can accommodate. Sometimes it may be challenging to find a deck chair and clean towels, but nothing that takes the 5-star rate from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear valued guest, we are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. We especially appreciated your mention of the Plaza as standing out in Sorrento for its modern design. Thank you too for remarking our high standard of cleaning and great service in general.
Eagerly anticipating your next visit, receive our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    374
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
354
920
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Absolutely a great hotel. Modern, clean, friendly. excellent location. Rooms are average European size - beds were extremely comfortable, bathroom was clean, loved the overhead showers, air conditions worked and rooms were always cool, breakfast was truly unbelievable -excellent assortment and preparation. The waiters were extremely helpful and professional, the chef - Antonio Pollio is masterfui especially on any of his baked goods. Can't say enough about the wonderful pool and skybar, what a view of scenic Sorrento. However, the BEST part is the friendly staff at the front desk, who are professional, helpful and provide excellent customer service (they will do anything they can for you) . Special note - Maria made our vacation memorable and we shall return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms by the elevator can be noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirPuff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile reception at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear valued guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza. Thank you for mentioning how comfortable our beds are and of course our fantastic buffet breakfast.
Special thanks from our staff, our chef Antonino Pollio, the waiters and all the members of our front desk whom you regarded as "the best part" of the stay for providing excellent customer service. Maria (front desk) is very grateful for the special note and sends her greetings.
Hoping to welcome you soon again in the future, we send our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

A wonderful clean, modern hotel in a fantastic location. We asked for and received an upgrade to a 5th floor room (the highest, apart from roof top bar on 6th), and whilst the room was quite small it did not disappoint. Despite some previous reviews, when the balcony doors were shut it was totally quiet.
Enough has been said about the breakfasts, we did not see anybody having a cake!
We hadn't really appreciated how close it was to the main square, 1 minute walk, and it has a nice downstairs bar where you can have a drink inside or outside to start or finish the evening (or both!).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnandbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I couldn't wait to stay again at Hotel Plaza in Sorrento and let me state I wasn't disappointed. Raffaele and staff went beyond in order to make my group's stay enjoyable and worry-free. I don't really understand the negative review of the double rooms because that's all we had reserved and no one complained about noise. Let me suggest that if you have a request for the staff to not be timid in asking. If they can't help, they will find a way to make sure your request is taken care of to your satisfaction. On my group's 14 day excursion through Italy, this was their favorite hotel and let me add that we stayed in several 4 star hotels.
To management and staff at Hotel Plaza, I look forward to my next stay there. Thank you again for being so friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: If you want to lay out in the sun at the beautiful infinity pool with views of Mount Vesuvius, get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katlowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear valued guest,
thank you so much for your appreciative comments! We are so pleased to have you among the many travellers who choose to return to our hotel once and again. That is indeed the greatest compliment we could possibly hope to receive.
Looking forward to your next visit soon, we send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at the plaza for a week and upgraded prior to arrival to a larger room with balcony on the 4th floor. Lovely views of the sea and the tree lined street below. Nice on a morning to sit out in the sunshine. The hotel is very modern and clean. The rooms were serviced everyday. We cannot fault the housekeeping. The breakfasts were fantastic. Pastries, lots of fresh fruit, cakes, cheese, ham, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage............the list goes on. Plus a juicer to make your own combination of fruit juice.
The staff were very efficient and helpful. The rooftop pool bar is lovely and they serve food at lunchtime. The pool is small and only waist deep but the views from it are fantastic. Theres only about 20 sun beds in total but we didn't sunbathe much as there was so much to see around the area.
The hotel is 2 mins walk away from the main square so it's a great location and even though It's a bit manic with traffic but the room was very quiet.
If you walk across the square there are steps down (about 130) which take you to the harbour and beach. Its only about 5-6 mins walk but you can walk round on the road which doesn't take much longer but the steps on the way back up help to work off some of the fab food!

We got the bus from outside the train station (5 mins walk from hotel) to Positano. Fantastic place and worth a visit. Costs about 7 euros return ticket and takes about 50 mins to get there.

We also did the blue cruise which is an all day trip for 24 euros. You sail towards Capri and stop for a swim at the faglioni rocks. Then you sail to Positano where you can stop off for 3 hours or you can carry on to Amalfi which we did. Another lovely place where we had nearly 2 hours to look around and have lunch. Then it's back on the boat to collect the people who got off at Positano and sail back to Sorrento. There are plenty of deck chairs so you get a bit of sunbathing as well as seeing the fantastic Amalfi coastline. If you're lucky Mario also let's you drive the boat.

Pompeii is a must see but go with a guide to get the most out of the day and Capri is stunning to visit but leave the credit card at home!!!!

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to a larger room as we heard the standard rooms are quite small. Get a room on the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillibobsNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

First, the good: The hotel is in the best location in the city - right by the main square. That being said, outside noise can seep through the walls. The hotel itself is wonderfully renovated, with simple modern furnishings and bright colors. Each floor is a different color theme (blue, the 4th floor, is the best). Breakfast is the best I've seen, with not only the typical Italian desserts and pastries, but also bacon, sausage, eggs, cereal, fruits, and a juicer! (I've never seen a juicer at a hotel breakfast before.) 
The not-so-good: I booked this hotel for 3 nights, but made the mistake of booking the "comfort double room."  Thankfully, I was able to upgrade to a larger room for the final night (Superior room). But if you want to be able to take a shower, do NOT get a Double room. The room itself was an okay size for one person, but the bathroom was microscopic. In the renovation, it seems as if they cut some of the bathrooms in half to make room for smaller rooms. In fact, you can hear you neighbor taking a shower! The door of the bathroom didn't open all the way b/c it was hitting the hairdryer attached to the wall. The toilet is right by the door. The grate for the bidet was leaking something onto the floor. The sink is beautiful, but it's so large that there is no counter space at all. The washcloths are really hand towels. And the shower is too small for a grown person. I only weigh 100lbs (45kg) and wear a size 0. But the space is not much bigger than a telephone booth (about as wide as a standard door) and I kept hitting my elbow on the sides of the shower wall. The shower head is in the middle, so there is no where to stand. Trash cans in the rooms do not come with a liner, so the bottom of them can be a little soiled. Also, upon entering both rooms (the smaller and the larger one), I found hairs and lint on the bed and floors. A better job could have been done cleaning them. 
All in all, Hotel Plaza Sorrento is a nice hotel. There are a few tweaks that could make it better; but given other options, this is really, in my opinion, one of the best hotels in Sorrento (as long as you get a larger room).

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedilori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear valued guest,
thank you so much for visitng the Plaza Hotel in Sorrento and taking your time to write your positive review afterwards. We are very pleased that you have joined the crowd of international guests who define our breakfast as the best they have ever had! Thank you too for mentioning nice details about our modern style and design. However, we are sorry that the first room that you occupied before upgrading did not fully satisfy you especially in terms of space.
We would like to underline that all our rooms are double/twin and can comfortably accommodate 2 guests. The comfort room that you stayed in is about 20 square meters including the bathroom. The “limited” space of the room is compensated by the private front balcony with 2 chairs and a table. Such comfort rooms do not have a bathtub but only a shower. Yet, we have never had a complain about the size of the latter as it respects the international standards and can decently fit even well-built people.
However, if guests are not bothered with a front balcony and view, they may request a comfort double room with window which is 27 square meters including the bathroom with bathtub and shower. Alternatively, to combine the 2 advantages together: front balcony and space (27 m2) a superior room is definitively recommended. In the superior rooms guests will also find individual bathrobes and slippers. All such accommodation details are now clearly outlined on our website.
Our washcloths are 1x1,5m large and honestly cannot be called hand towels.
As to the cleaning, that has become by now our trademark as hundreds of previous reviews clearly testify. However, we will certainly be ever more scrupulous in the future.
In conclusion, we would like to thank you because through your review you have in fact given us the opportunity to give a more detailed description of our accommodation offer and clarify aspects that may concern thousands of other travelers.
Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Excellent Honeymoon stay in Sorrento. We had 2 glasses of champagne and some treats delivered to our room in honor of our honeymoon. Very nice touch. Love the modern decor of the hotel. The staff that we encountered always had a smile on their face and were quite helpful. One of them even helped my husband set up the TV in the bar area around 3am so my husband can catch the NBA playoffs. The hotel breakfast was excellent. Excellent Excellent Excellent. The rooftop infinity pool was amazing. Will be my hotel of choice when I return to Sorrento

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KOONy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing