We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a FANTASTIC stay in Sorrento!”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a FANTASTIC stay in Sorrento!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I've just came back from a week stay at this hotel in Sorrento & i have to say i have nothing but praise for this hotel! The staff were lovely & polite and were always helpful with any questions we had. The rooftop pool was AMAZING and offered a spectacular view! The only thing i could suggest to the hotel was to somehow fit more sun lounges in as throughout the day it does get busy or people go off and just leave their towel on the sun lounges for hours before returning!

Our rooms were very clean and were cleaned everyday! They were an average size rooms for me & my sister and the family room for my parents & younger sister was a reasonable size offering them plenty of space!

The only downfall with this hotel was how thin the walls are! I'm not sure if we just had a noisy floor of people but we could always hear room doors banging throughout the night and we could hear the next door people having showers and going to the toilet throughout the evenings. It was slightly annoying in the evenings especially when you were trying to get to sleep and you keep hearing heavy doors banging but my family managed to ignore it and however annoying it was i guess the hotel can't do much to stop the noise.

Other than that the stay was amazing and i would strongly suggest this hotel to friends & family!

Thank you for much a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becki081290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile reception at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your lovely review! We appreciated your mention of the AMAZING rooftop pool with its spectacular view and the accurate daily cleaning of the rooms. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza and that you will strongly recommend our hotel to your family and friends. We thus look forward to your and your friends' next visit. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    367
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
341
890
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Fantastic stay in the Plaza. It's well located to get the main square and so most parts of Sorrento. Room was comfortable and clean. Staff were very helpful too. Rooftop pool has great views over the Bay of Naples. It helped make our honeymoon a great event. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Marr_1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile reception at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your positive review! The central location of our hotel will never be overemphasized. You really simply forget the car at the Plaza eveything being so close at hand. Thank you too for describing our rooms comfortable and clean and our staff very helpful. We are finally very glad to have contributed to a memorable honeymoon. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We chose this hotel in Sorrento after reading so many positive reviews and we certainly weren't disappointed. It more than lived up to our expectations and more worthy than its 4 star rating - we've stayed in far worse 5 star hotels! All the hotel staff were polite, friendly and helpful and always greeted you with a smile. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean and tastfully decorated throughout in neutral colours and wood.
Our room was on the 5th floor and although we didn't have a balcony, we had wonderful views across Sorrento and the Bay of Naples.
The location is perfect, far away from the noise of the traffic in the main Piazza Tasso but near enough to walk to everywhere - shops, buses, trains, places of interest, etc.
Breakfasts were a full meal in themselves to start the day and the choices were fantastic and all served in a bright dining room with cosy alcoves round the edge.
The infinity pool on the roof commanded superb views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples and was a wonderful way to cool down after the heat of the day and we never experienced any trouble in getting a sunlounger or chair to sit on. The roof bar was a a relaxing place to read a book or have a few cool drinks.
All in all one of the best hotels we've stayed in and are planning to return again to Sorrento and the Plaza hotel sometime in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happily-married23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Visited Sorrento July-Aug. The hotel was very busy but the service was still excellent - the best service of all the places we visited in Sorrento.

The rooftop pool is amazing. The pool is lovely and the rooftop bar was a great place to get a quick drink before heading out for the evening.

The breakfast was very good - the staff were excellent - down to remembering what room we were staying in & what morning drinks we have.

The room was very modern & clean. Nice balcony but no view to speak of. The only problem during the stay was that we could always hear doors banging. This was slightly annoying. I think that if the hotel could solve this problem - allowing me to sleep in I would book again without hesitation! This hotel is offering something special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJ20100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile reception at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your kind review! We are very pleased that you particularly appreciated the quality of our service which you found to be the best of all the places you visited in Sorrento. We are also glad that you enjoyed our infinity pool and Sky Bar on the rooftop, a great place indeed! As for the banging of doors, besides trusting in the consideration and good manners of our guests, we have adopted a special system to reduce the noise. So we wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have recently returned from our honeymoon to Italy, where among several hotels, the Hotel Plaza stands out above the rest as being the most memorable.

In addition to a great location, the hotel is run by an incredibly friendly and helpful staff. The concierge especially was always on hand to help with queries and make recommendations about where to eat and where to visit - all of which were very well informed.

In addition to a very comfortable room - we stayed in the superior room on the top floor with a balcony - the hotel hosts a rooftop infinity pool, which during the summer season in Italy is well received. The hotel also has some of the best breakfast options of any hotel I have visited ever.

I cannot thank the staff enough for being attentive, friendly and for looking after us on what was a very special trip. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade if you can afford it, you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We’ve recently returned from a wonderful weeks stay at the Plaza. This is a well run, efficient modern hotel in a very central location. It’s an amazing quiet oasis considering its location immediately behind the famous Piazza Tasso. It is superbly situated for access to all the sights of the beautiful city of Sorrento.
The rooms are fairly small and are in a very minimalistic and contemporary style but they are spotlessly clean, as is the bathroom. The balcony was a lovely facility although there was no view as such.
The roof top terrace and pool is absolutely lovely and a great place to retreat from the crowds and bask in the lovely views of the Bay of Naples.
A lovely stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneCotswoldCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The Hotel Plaza is in a great location, right off the main square. I loved being within walking distance of all the great shopping in Sorrento. The pool is small, but very nice - amazing view! I wish the rooftop bar would be open later than 7pm. Great bar area on the main floor. The breakfast was very good. Had a great patio off our room. The only complaint about the room is that the shower was extremely small. Had not shelf built in so you practically had to stand on your head trying to get your shampoo in the morning. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing