We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convinience”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is located a few steps away from sorrento's main square. Modern, convenient, clean, it has a nice coffee terrace where snacks are served throughout the day and on some evenings in the sounds of live piano. The breakfast was EXCELLENT!!! Unfortunately we only had the chance to enjoy it once (on the next day we had a very early start to catch the shuttle bus for the airport). The hotel is within walking distance from the town's main train station from where you can catch the train for pompeii and the bus for the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedbacks after your stay at our hotel. We value our guests' comments as they represent the greatest incentive to try and do ever better.
We are pleased that you particularly enjoyed our excellent breakfast and the live piano at our Plaza cafè. Looking forward to your next visit, receive our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,695 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Plaza in Sorrento for one week. It is truly an excellent hotel, from the friendliness of staff to the beautiful views from the pool and SkyBar area. We happened to celebrate our wedding anniversary and a birthday during our stay and the staff made us feel very special!! The cocktail bar in the evening is a great place to watch the world go by, fabulous cocktails, the best I've tasted in a long time. Hotel Plaza is located just off the main square which is very convenient. Bedrooms have excellent Aircon and I found the bedrooms to be spotlessly clean, as with the whole hotel. Food up in the Skybar was beauitful, very fresh and great menu choice. I will defiantly be staying at the Hotel Plaza again, excellent hotel with excellent staff. Thank you for an unforgettable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmychoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear guest,

thanks for sharing your experience with us and the many readers of TripAdvisor, the latter upon which they often rely for their vacation choices.

We are glad that you appreciated the friendliness of staff and the view from the Plaza’s Skybar/pool area, where as you have underlined, there is also a vast menu choice offered during lunchtime. The snack bar is served every day from 12:30 to 2:30 p.m. on the 6th floor.

You have also mentioned that our rooms are spotlessly clean – our cleaning staff do an excellent job to keep the already well-established standards.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again, in the meantime we greet you sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in the hotel for four nights in July, very impressed with the hotel.
We pulled up in the evening and the hotel looks beautiful including the lobby, it is spotless, modern and tastefully decorated. The staff on reception were pleasant.
The room we didn't have a balcony which didn't matter because we weren't in there that much. The room was clean and again modern and decorated in a lovely way, bed was comfy also. The A/C was great and quiet.
Breakfast was delicious and the staff were lovely. The cakes and pastries in particular was fantastic.
Roof top pool was amazing such great views, a small pool but lovely to get in to get out of the heat but not really for swimming, towels were provided for the pool by the hotel.
Location was fab right in the heart of everything, I think this is much better than being in a bigger hotel on the cliffs. The mojitos in the bar were top notch.
All in all loved the hotel and Sorrento would most certainly go back!
We went to Pompeii but we did not do the excursion as were expensive - short walk to train station€4.50 return each and €11.oo to get into the ruins.
Thanks for an amazing stay hotel Plaza.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tap88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel.

We are glad that your first impact upon check in including the lobby, décor, cleaning and front desk was pleasant and it remained so throughout your entire stay in July.

We agree with you on the fact that it does not always matter to have a balcony and a view especially if it is a short stay. To compensate there is a stunning view on the 6th floor, which you have had the chance to enjoy and where you were able to taste our bartenders’ delicious mojitos.

We are happy that the Plaza hotel and its services have contributed to making your stay amazing and we thank you for choosing us!

Hoping to welcome you again, in the meantime we greet you sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We returned from a 3 night stay at this excellent hotel on the 20th July. I reiterate what others have said re great location, well appointed, comfortable and immaculately clean rooms ( as was the whole hotel). We had a room at the back which was lovely and quiet. The breakfasts were fantastic - gorgeous doughnuts, pastries, croissants, fruit, full English, panna cotta and the selection of vegetables and fruit for the juicer made you feel as if it was all very healthy!!! All this and extremely helpful and cheerful staff made it a hotel we would highly recommend. Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would probably be quieter, but you would get a more interesting outlook at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.
We are honored to be defined with such a positive adjective in both your review title and text.

You have mentioned our central location - just a few steps the main square, cafés, restaurants and shops, 5 minutes to trains, 10 minutes to either Marina Piccola (ferry port) and Marina Grande.

We are also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast; the latter offers among the food you have mentioned: doughnuts, pastries, croissants, full English breakfast, fruit and vegetables to make a fresh and healthy juice, a great range of cereals.

Finally, we would like to thank you for having defined our rooms as immaculately clean, this is a point on which we pride ourselves very much.

Thanks for choosing and recommending this hotel!

Hoping to welcome you again, in the meantime we greet you sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A very convenient location, literally two minutes walk from the square and all the lovely shops and restaurants, I checked in at noon and my room was ready as soon as I arrived. The room itself was nicely appointed with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space " a must have "!!!! Nice bathroom with decent hairdryer which is another plus point. I found all the reception staff very kind and helpful and there was nothing that they wouldn't help with. The rooftop pool and skybar was a personal favourite of mine where I could take a dip, have a cocktail and generally take in the wonderful views of Sorrento.

The breakfast was lovely with everything you could think of on display. You could even have champagne with breakfast if you wished and a juicer was there for the healthy guests. The staff at breakfast were good, as was the bar staff who all worked very hard to please the guests.

This is a lovely gem of a place, but I would say it is better suited to adults and couples. In all I had a fantastic time and would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for a room with a balcony, or a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive comments on your stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza.

You seem to have appreciated your room very much, its design together with all its comforts – from the furniture to the minor details such as the hairdryer.

You have mentioned our very central and convenient location, just a few minutes from the main square, shops and restaurants.

Having also advised on the room choice, we just wanted to clarify that more than a balcony, travelers who would like a sea view need to ask for a Superior room, which is the only type of room which guarantees a front balcony. And make sure you book well in advance because Superior rooms are very few and even fewer on higher floors!

Thank you again for your time and for choosing us.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Plaza for the first week in July and couldn't have asked for more. The hotel is ideal location within 1 minute walk to the main square and 10 minutes to either the marina grande or the ferry port which takes you to either Capri or Ischia. Rooms were comfortable and a really good size with air conditioning, the roof top pool and bar area has stunning views and the staff were friendly and helpful all holiday.

Breakfast is all you could ask for, a great selection varying from cereal, fruit, cooked breakfast, continental and even early morning desserts!

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sorrento. An ideal couples retreat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and in particular have appreciated our ideal location, the main square is really as you say reachable within 1 minute walk. As you mention, it is also approximately 10 minutes to either Marina Piccola (ferry port) and Marina Grande.

We are also glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, which offers a great range of cereals, fruit, both sweet and savory food.

Thanks for choosing and recommending this hotel!

Hoping to welcome you again, in the meantime we greet you sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Just finished a week here in Sorrento staying at this hotel. What a brilliant location. A few metres walk from the main square and a great base for exploring Sorrento and the surrounding areas. Cool down and take a dip on the roof top where there is a lovely pool and lounge area with snack/cocktail bar - with an amazing view over Sorrento. It is hard to find a hotel here with everything - perfect location, pool, and boutique. Not forgetting the staff who will bend over backwards for you - especially Maria!!

A must go!

The Churchills

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Churchill2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive comments on your stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you have had the time to relax and of course sunbathe on our rooftop/Sky area. You have both surely taken back to Manchester a southern Italy tan for everyone to envy.

As you have mentioned our very central location, just a few meters walk from the main square, is definitely a great base to reach surrounding areas.

Many thanks for having also mentioned our staff. Hopefully we will be able to see you back at the Plaza shortly.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £98 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing