We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Plaza
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$507
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$524
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$358
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$473
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$533
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$431
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,701
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,836)
Filter reviews
1,836 results
Traveller rating
1,362
416
44
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,362
416
44
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolrooftop barthe main squaremodern hotelpiazza tassogreat hotelpastriestrain stationperfect locationhotel barbreakfast buffetamalfi coastwould definitely stay here againpeople watchingour honeymoonrestaurants and barsstayed here for a week
Filter
Updating list...
939 - 944 of 1,836 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We just stayed at the Plaza Hotel for 4 nights and we loved it. The staff were all so welcoming, friendly and helpful even from the first minute when I realised I left my suit carrier on the bus from the airport they were right on the phone and recused it for me !

The hotel could not be better located as its right off Tasso square which is the heart of sorrento and there is nothing nicer that after a long day out to have your hotel so close to where buses drop you off.

Our room was not huge but perfect with a lovely powerful hot shower which is always a concern !

The buffet breakfasts were ideal with a mixture of hot and cold and plenty of choice. There is free wifi in the rooms which is an added bonus.

Try and get a room to the front as our faced a back courtyard but didn't make much difference as we were out most of the time. There is a swimming pool on the roof but we didn't use it so can't comment.

All in all a fabulous little find and highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to write review on your stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for having associated such positive adjectives to our staff. It was a pleasure for the front desk to help you retrieve your suit.

You also mentioned the Plaza’s central location, in fact it is only a few steps from Piazza Tasso - the main square and public transport. We agree with you when you write that upon returning from excursions and trips it is essential to have your hotel so close.

It is true that your room did not have a balcony, but as you say this was not a priority for you because you were out most of the time. Guests wanting to book a room with a front balcony are strongly recommended to book a Superior room.

What a shame that you were unable to take advantage of the swimming pool on the roof so we hope to see you again in the future so that you can enjoy our infinity pool and of course the lovely view.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We made this out base for eleven nights whilst touring the region and were not disappointed with the hotel in any way: the welcome, the quality of the rooms, breakfast or bar all exceeded expectations.

Breakfasts were among the best that we have ever had in Italy and catered for all tastes - from cooked breakfast, cold meats and cheeses, smoothies, pastries etc. The restaurant staff were excellent and made each morning pleasant, noting our preferences for drinks and table.

Our room had a balcony overlooking the street so it was interesting to view the wedding parties leaving the car park and people watch. It was in the shade in the afternoon, which was perfect after a hot day sightseeing, and generally the room was quiet other than our last night when the street was very noisy and there were people shouting in the corridor.

The bathroom was modern, clean and towels changed as regularly as we required. The only slight concern was that since we were staying so long, I question just how deeply cleaned the room was each day. It was beautiful clean when we arrived and we deliberately put all our things away each morning to make the room easier to clean, but still found grit on the floor in the evenings and long, dark, hairs in the bathroom and in the bath. A small point but worth noting.

If you have washing done, make sure that you state what temperature you want things washed - we didn't and three polo shirts came back at least one size smaller than when they were dirty!

The sun bathing area on the roof is small and can get busy, so if you want to lay in the sun and use the beautiful pool with views over the city to the sea, get there early. A lovely place to sit and have a cool beer or wine with a light lunch.

Reception staff were helpful with questions, early morning calls and advice and we would have no hesitation in returning to The Plaza should we return to Sorrento. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skippy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for sharing your experience at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento and for writing such positive comments on your recent stay.

We are glad that your stay was positive and enjoyable in general and that you appreciated among many things our breakfast, having it defined as one of “the best” you have ever had in Italy; in fact it surely does cater for all tastes – both sweet tooth and those who prefer savory food.

You also mentioned our staff – restaurant and reception – who, as you say, contributed to making your stay as pleasant as possible.

What a shame that during your stay a wedding party took place, they can be noisy sometimes and we try to do our best to keep them as calm as possible, but of course these situations sometimes can go beyond our power.

As regards to the washing, first time ever this was reported. As a habit our laundry staff always check the labels carefully on the clothing to avoid these inconveniences.

On the other hand, as for the cleaning we thank you for having reported the issue. Although, as you say, it was only a slight concern we will further investigate into the issue, in order to avoid such problems in the future.

Nevertheless, we are glad that you have had the chance to appreciate our Sky bar/pool area. What a better place to spend a day relaxing, sipping a drink while enjoying the lovely view?

Thanks again for your time and for choosing us.
Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

You couldn't ask for a better located hotel, but make sure you get a room on the front of the hotel so you can people watch and admire the views for hours on end. Stayed for 10 days and we had a great time. Staff were very friendly and food both breakfast and skybar were good. Cocktail bar and waiters were lovely. Bedroom cleanliness was not great. It was perfect at the start but day-to-day left something to be desired. Pillows were left with no covers on. Bath not cleaned, balcony not swept, bedroom floor not swept. Having said that we would definitely stay here again. It's not cheap, but then nowhere in Sorrento is.

We ate in many of the local restaurants and were not disappointed in any way. Plenty of them have views over the bay of Naples as a bonus too!

Hired a moped for a few days to do some of the sightseeing on our list. Best way to do the Amalfi coast in my view!

Our only sadness was that as we left to go back to the airport we got a taxi down from the rank outside the hotel to the port, which is about 1Km away, and the driver charged us 19 Euros - yes 19 Euros. He was not going to take any less and wanted to start arguing so we paid up. If a policeman had been around we would've called him over, but then the taxi guy knew he was safe. Result is always ask how much before you get in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel with a high floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillgill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear guest, we are glad that you had a great time in Sorrento and that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza so much that you would definitively choose our hotel again. We are also glad that you especially appreciated our friendly staff and the food both at breakfast in the morning and at the snack bar by the pool at lunch.
On the other hand we are really surprised that the cleaning of your room was not up to our well established standards in this area. We will certainly look into this matter to verify how that may have happened. We wish you would have reported this important issue to our front desk manager especially as you stayed 10 nights. We would have given it immediate attention.
However, we are very pleased that you would stay here again.
Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Hotel Plaza was the perfect place to stay in Sorrento with my husband, 2 grown sons and my father. It is ideally located in the center of town near the plaza, but far enough away to avoid the noise. But more importantly the staff was exceptionally helpful. I was juggling the vacation requirements of 2 active teenagers and a father with limited mobility. The hotel was very helpful in finding activities for everyone and they had a wonderful open bar area for my Dad to sit and watch the world go by. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ema B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear guest,

thank you for writing a review on your stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for having defined the Plaza hotel the perfect place to stay in Sorrento.

You seem to have appreciated its central location, it is in fact only a few steps from the main square.

Moreover, we remember you really enjoying the outside area of the Plaza Café with your two sons as well as your father. It is a great area for all ages where you can really watch the world go by while sipping a drink and/or, just like you did, play a game of cards or two.

Most importantly, we are pleased to have found activities and excursions to suit everyone and should you decide to come back to Sorrento, the staff will be waiting to welcome you again with the same cordiality and helpfulness.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is located a few steps away from sorrento's main square. Modern, convenient, clean, it has a nice coffee terrace where snacks are served throughout the day and on some evenings in the sounds of live piano. The breakfast was EXCELLENT!!! Unfortunately we only had the chance to enjoy it once (on the next day we had a very early start to catch the shuttle bus for the airport). The hotel is within walking distance from the town's main train station from where you can catch the train for pompeii and the bus for the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedbacks after your stay at our hotel. We value our guests' comments as they represent the greatest incentive to try and do ever better.
We are pleased that you particularly enjoyed our excellent breakfast and the live piano at our Plaza cafè. Looking forward to your next visit, receive our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews