We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Choice!”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and really liked it. It was clean and quiet, with good beds, enough towels, and a strong shower. There were pleasant helpful staff. Lots of breakfast choices. Great location and free wifi.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank JfromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,674)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 1,674 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

This hotel is superb, if you want to have a lovely time in Sorrento it should be high on your list, if not top. Clean, well furnished, friendly staff, excellent room, location is central and very close to public transport links. Breakfast is great. The roof is brilliant, swim in the infinity pool while looking over the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius centre stage and order a drink from the bar. Free wifi. The restaurant in the hotel is not open in the evening which is super, no need to feel bad about not using their facilities, there are loads of brilliant restaurants to try in the old quarter 5 minutes walk away, then back to the hotel for a cappuccino and limoncello, sheer pleasure! We will definitely be going back, soon I hope!

Room Tip: Lovely view from our 5th floor room facing the sea, but the same on the roof so I guess not a big de...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived by train and the hotel was just a short walk from the station and was within easy walking distance of the town. Our room was large, comfortable and clean and had everything we needed including free wifi. The rooftop terrace, bar and pool was a welcome place to relax after a busy day sightseeing with brilliant views across the roof tops. The buffet breakfast was amazing with an excellent choice of hot and cold, sweet and savoury, the staff were very efficient replenising the buffet and offering refills for hot drinks.Reception staff were very helpful recommending restaurants and making reservations. Excellent hotel and would not hesitate staying here again if we return to Sorrento

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berylalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived by taxi from the port after taking a ferry from Capri. Were charged 15 euros for the short trip - I think we were ripped off, and meant to ask the going rate once we got to the hotel but didn't. We arrived about 11 and had to wait about an hour before our room was ready. The desk staff was very helpful throughout our stay and stored our luggage while we walked around town a bit. The room was lovely and quiet, even though it faced the busy street. The bathroom had a scale which was greatly appreciated - I could see that my self discipline (only 1 scoop of gelato per day) was paying off. Hotel was full (I was there the same time as the Ladies, Ladies, Ladies group) so the breakfast buffet was crowded and service to get coffee was often slow. However, buffet was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeggyS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I have recently returned from a holiday to Sorrento with friends. We had a fantastic week staying at the Hotel Plaza. Its location is perfect, just off the main piazza with easy access to the town and public transport. We had a triple room which was comfortable and clean - the mattress was a little hard for me, but fine for my friend so that's just personal preference. Good sized towels - important for a tall girl! The staff were friendly and helpful. There is good free wifi in the hotel and we were able to use the computer to book our return journey to the aiport and print our boarding passes. The rooftop terrace has a beautiful view and we were very grateful to have the pool to relax in at the end of a day of sightseeing. Breakfast was good and the hotel bar serves great cocktails! Overall, I highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate in staying here again if I ever returned to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjt_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at Hotel Plaza, Sorrento Italy October 6-13, 2013. I was with a tour group of 17 ladies. The room was clean and hotel centrally located. The staff at the hotel was very kind and helpful, their English was excellent. They made available adapters for the electrical outlets, called ahead to make sure restaurants were available, and made excellent suggestions. One night a storm knocked out electricity in the town but the hotel had back-up generators so we did not worry. The hotel also had a coat room full of umbrellas for guests use. We enjoyed the roof top bar and pool on the 2nd day, but then the weather declined so that was it. The pool was just big enough to cool off. The breakfast buffet offered an assortment for everyone. On the last day I had to leave at 4:00a.m. to catch an early flight and they had packed a breakfast for me to eat on the way to the airport. I felt the love!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is attractive, clean, and very convienently located - only a short walk from Sorrento's city- center. The roof-top bar, view, and pool were nice extras as were the balconies for each room! The breakfasts were excellent each morning and all staff members we met were extemely courteous and helpful. We stayed at Hotel Plaza with two other couples and everyone was very happy with their accomodations.This hotel is highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £98 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing