We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option in Sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good option in Sorrento”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I've spent 3 nights at the Plaza and I had a good experience. The hotel is nice and modern. The location is extremely convenient and they have a lovely rooftop area with a pool, lounge seats and bar. The rooms were very clean and followed the style of the modern lobby. On the down side, the mattress was extremely hard, we could not get used to it, I did not sleep well. The other problem is that although they state on their website that they have parking available for 15 EUR / day, the parking was full thought out our stay and we had to rely on the parking across the street for a hefty 25 EUR. Anyways, overall it is a good option, especially if you don’t care for the outdated and dark rooms of a lot of other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator -- it makes a 'beep' every time it stops on each floor and you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear valued guest,
thank you so much for your kind review! We are very pleased to note that you appreciated the modern, fresh style of our house in contrast with the traditional standard of most hotels in town.
We are sorry that you found the mattress a bit hard for your taste. All our mattresses are new, excellent quality and orthopedic however we realize that it is difficult to match everyone's preference in this regard. That is why we invite guests who are used to softer mattresses to immediately inform the front-desk in order to replace the mattresses.
Concerning the parking, as clearly specified on our website we have a limited number of private parking spaces (€ 15 per day). When these are all taken, there is the public parking across the street.
Looking forward to your return, we send our kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    357
    38
    10
    2
See reviews for
332
856
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in Sorrento over the Easter Weekend and stayed at the Plaza. Very nice hotel, just a short walk to the Piazza Tasso. The Breakfast was fabulous! Fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, ham, pastries, cake, even a juicer! The hotel has been remodeled recently so everything is clean a fresh looking. The the paintings/prints in the room are a little bizarre (I'll leave it at that). Sorrento is such a beatiful town and the Plaza made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for leaving these nice comments after your recent visit at the Plaza. Our rich buffet breakfast has become a trademark by now and we are very proud of it. It is also nice that you remarked how clean, fresh looking and modern our hotel is. Hoping to see you again soon in the future, receive our kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stopped in to this bar on a few evenings during our trip for some delicious cocktails in a lovely luxurious setting. The cocktails were quality and made with care - a great variety on the cocktail menu and we had complimentary caviar canapés on our second visit. Its difficult to find a nice spot for a late drink in Sorrento but I would highly recommend this spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive review on your recent visit at the Plaza Cafè in Sorrento.

At the Plaza Café you will find a wide selection of the world best rum, vodka, gin and whiskey served by our professional bartenders in a sublime and elegant atmosphere.

The most popular drinks and cocktails, just as you say, are made with care and the appetizers served with them give an extra touch.

Hoping to see you again in the near future, in the meantime we greet you sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is a lovely, modern, spotless hotel with a fantastic breakfast. All the staff were very pleasant, helpful and friendly with a special mention to the barman who gave that extra touch. We would definitely return to this beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merjn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

From check in to check out all the staff were excellent. The reception staff all had impeccable English. on the last day we got towels in the shape of a heart and a swan. I loved the location because we had 2 days of ruins and 1 day at Naples museum so was grateful it was close to the Station and plenty of places to eat. The room, though on the small side, was modern and well kept with a fantastic bathroom. Pretty much everything has been said on breakfast, though I would have liked a better bread choice (dry sliced bread for toast or small not especially fresh rolls) perhaps the emphasis is on the pastries. We found early breakfast a bit mobbed by a tour party on two of the days. Check out their itinery see if you can avoid them. I loved the rooftop pool/bar/seating. It had a fantastic view I feared it might not yet be open so was glad to see it was. We braved the unheated pool on a couple of sunny days - not bad in April.
If I went back to Sorrento it would be the first place I would check on.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is perfectly located just a few steps from the main square without all of the noise of the busy streets. The room was super clean and aesthetically pleasant but the bed was hard as a rock. The other downside was the walls, which were paper-thin and you could hear people talking in the aisle or the elevator loud and clear. I am a heavy sleeper so it didn’t bother me, but I wonder it may bug some people. The breakfast was excellent, with tons of options and a wonderful coffee. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda_rsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Great location just a stroll away from the old town. Our room was small with a balcony onto the alley- but perfectly adequate, very clean and well fitted out. Staff were very friendly and helpful eg getting us a slightly earlier breakfast so we get early taxi to airport. Breakfast buffet was excellent.huge range of high quality food..shame we couldn't do it justice due to early start
Pool on roof had great view of Vesuvius although was chilly ( well it was April)
Great place for a few nights in sorrento

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MandC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing