We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly efficient staff, fabulous location”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from busy week's sightseeing holiday and the Plaza provided the perfect base for this. Easy access to the harbour, bus stops
and train station made all our trips so simple. Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri, Vesuvius, Positano, Amalfi... we did the lot!
After an initial dissatisfaction with our room, we were swiftly moved to a quiet room at the back of the hotel which was comfortable and welcoming to come back to. Breakfasts were good with excellent service. In fact, service is a big plus at this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always courteous and very helpful. (Lovely Maria on reception deserves a special mention)
We celebrated a special occasion whilst there and were presented with a special cake and prosecco which was a lovely touch.
Thank you Plaza, we will reccomend you to anyone we can bore with our holiday stories!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I booked through Thomson for a week long stay. Be careful when upgrading with Thomson for a superior room as it is not the hotels superior room, it is a comfort room.We were not happy but was not the fault of the Hotel. We were allocated room 111 lower floor which had a wall outside the window. The room however was fantastic , even though it was not a superior I would class this as being of that level. Beds are very hard though so you will have to get used to it and the only TV channel in English was the news so make sure you download stuff on your ipad or laptop if you like watching something at night.
Reading through previous reviews they said to try and get a balcony room high floor as these are the best for views etc. Be warned it is very noisy from cars horns and general traffic so is not a pleasant experience when you want to chill, the hotel were good enough to give us one of these rooms upon request after a few days , but must say I wish we had stayed in room 111 as the room was bigger overall and much better quality and would have been quieter. If you want a view go to the rooftop for a coffee or cocktail, it's great.Rooms are cleaned well but did have to ask for this to be done a couple of times. Just put a note on the door if you want your room made up.
We took a trip to Capri , got a ferry which was fine but did'nt have a clue where to go on arrival in the port, It is a very busy place so be prepared. To get to the centre you will need to get the cable bus up , the ticket office is on the port side a little walk on the beach side to the right and the bus is caught opposite .You will find wherever you go there is a lot of walking so have good footwear, this us not the place for stiletto shoes so don't bother packing any. I took a few long dresses to find very few wearing them. Mostly I found women wearing shorts, 3 qtr length trousers or a little dress but not too colourful . No flower power here.
Pompeii and Herculeum well worth a visit and you can get to them by train. Wear a het when walking round. Positano great but very busy yet again, a lot of uphill walking. This holiday would not suit anyone who has trouble with walking unless you want to stay local.
Lots of side street shops and restaurants well worth trekking round. Try walking down to the harbour via steps then up again , see how fit you are. Enjoy

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are smaller, go for lower level it does not matter about view as so noisy out front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for a week as part of tour. It is a block from the center of town, convenient to many good restaurants. The roof top bar affords great views of the bay and Vesuvius. The breakfast was very good with fresh baked rolls. We had two dinners here and they were excellent. Some of our belongings liked the Hotel so much, they stayed behind. With the help of the staff, they were rounded up and were home with us in a few days. Everyone was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank billj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for having underlined the helfulness of the staff, we are proud to have contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

Hoping to see you in the near future, we send you best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The first thing you notice when arriving at the Hotel Plaza Sorrento is that it is attractively modern. It has the feel of a brand new building both at the reception level and in the rooms.
The second thing you notice is the hotel’s location. It’s in the very heart of Sorrento, convenient to many good restaurants, shopping, parks and scenic overlooks, all in the historic area of the city. And all of these places are within easy walking distance from the hotel. Also, the location, not far from the bus station, is ideal for taking day trips along the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast as well as boat transportation to the Isle of Capri. My wife and I stayed here for eight nights with our small group tour and did just this.
The third thing you will notice about the Plaza is how comfortable you are while staying here. The complimentary sumptuous breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi are always appreciated. There are also two computers with a printer available at no charge to check into flights and print boarding passes. The rooms have large beds and plenty of storage. The top floor consists of a Sky Bar with a breathtaking view of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius and even a swimming pool. But most noticeable is the friendliness and helpfulness of the entire staff. They all seem to go out of their way to please their guests.
Staying at the Plaza Sorrento added a lot to the enjoyment of our visit to Southern Italy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank POGO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ask for a room with a balcony in this clean, modern hotel in the middle of Sorrento. Grab a drink on the roof deck and enjoy the views. You can walk to it from the train station and grab a taxi a few feet from the front entrance. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy. What a great place. I'd return.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Location is everything with this hotel just off the main piazza Tasso,
All staff very approachable, rooms clean but slightly small.
Rooftop terrace has stunning views of the bay and surrounding mountains.
And the Infiniti pool was heaven sent in the heat of the day,small bar serving drinks and food was very good

Room Tip: We had 208 triple,small window but if you want balcony I think they are all at the front our friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xskindiverx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for a week in April during a tour of Southern Italy. We used the hotel as our base as we traveled during the day to Naples, Amalfi, Pompeii and more. It was a great central location to all these amazing spots. The hotel is very modern from the lobby and bar to the rooms and bathrooms! The staff was lovely and was willing to help anyway possible. They even arranged a massage at a nearby spot just a day in advance. My only concern was the food. The breakfasts were fine but the dinners we had there were less than satisfying especially since all the great food available in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
616 reviews
0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £101 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing