We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of the town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newbury
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of the town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Modern, very white and in a good position to enjoy the best of Sorrento.
We were lucky as we had a larger room than most but all rooms are very well appointed with almost everything you could need. I could really have done with tea & coffee and a kettle in the room but when I mentioned this at the end of our stay, they did say I should have asked!
The plunge pool (to cold to be anything else) is on the roof terrace that affords amazing views.
Breakfast was in a comfortable restaurant very well staffed who were quite polite.
The best member of staff was Carlo who serves in the bar in the evening, he always has a smile and is very attentive.
The white wine in the hotel was always served perfectly chilled, in good measures and at a good price. Also reasonable lunch snacks are served on the roof for lunch until 2pm
The loungers around the pool were a little hard on the back but there are plenty of them.
We were on the 5th floor (as requested) and so no problem with noise.
We would stay again for sure,

Room Tip: Ask for as high up as possible. Room 511 was large and lovely. No balcony but amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are glad that you appreciated the hotel's central position and its services. It is in fact a real shame that you did not mention anything about your need for a kettle, our staff would have surely provided one for you.

Hoping to see you again in the near future, the entire staff including Carlo greets you sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    357
    38
    10
    2
See reviews for
332
856
33
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This one ticks all of the boxes. Now, we did have a 4th floor room with a beautiful balcony so that may have helped but all I can say is that you will not be disappointed. The location is the best in all of Sorrento. You can walk everywhere from the port to the train station in minutes. And the hotel is located on a quiet side street right off the main square and shopping district. (Don't know what the other reviewer was talking about it being loud and horns, etc, didn't hear anything for the 5 nights we were there!)
The whole hotel is beautiful, airy, and pretty much all white so it would be very obvious if there was any dirt or anything in disrepair...there isn't.

Do I need to mention the breakfast room (stunning), or the breakfast buffet (OMG) or the incredible staff that cannot do enough for the guests? These are all mentioned in pretty much every review for a reason. It's all true. A special thanks to Maria at the front desk for being so helpful and for great restaurant suggestions. We had some amazing meals thanks to her!

The decor is fresh, light and so very inviting. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else when visiting Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your great review! It was so nice reading that for you the Plaza Hotel ticks off all the boxes. We are also pleased that you appreciated the hotel's fresh and inviting decor as well as the ideal location which we agree can be called the best in all of Sorrento with virtually everything being walking distance.
Thank you for the kind words about the hotel staff. Maria on the front desk thanks you for the special mention.
Looking forward to your next visit, we send our kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The plaza has everything you want in a hotel, clean rooms, friendly staff, comfy bed. Some people complain about noise levels but I found it to be very quiet. Also had lovely breakfasts every morning with again friendly service. Enjoyed the terrace, never had a problem getting a sunbed, yes the pool is small but was fresh on a hot day. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from busy week's sightseeing holiday and the Plaza provided the perfect base for this. Easy access to the harbour, bus stops
and train station made all our trips so simple. Pompeii, Herculaneum, Capri, Vesuvius, Positano, Amalfi... we did the lot!
After an initial dissatisfaction with our room, we were swiftly moved to a quiet room at the back of the hotel which was comfortable and welcoming to come back to. Breakfasts were good with excellent service. In fact, service is a big plus at this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were always courteous and very helpful. (Lovely Maria on reception deserves a special mention)
We celebrated a special occasion whilst there and were presented with a special cake and prosecco which was a lovely touch.
Thank you Plaza, we will reccomend you to anyone we can bore with our holiday stories!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I booked through Thomson for a week long stay. Be careful when upgrading with Thomson for a superior room as it is not the hotels superior room, it is a comfort room.We were not happy but was not the fault of the Hotel. We were allocated room 111 lower floor which had a wall outside the window. The room however was fantastic , even though it was not a superior I would class this as being of that level. Beds are very hard though so you will have to get used to it and the only TV channel in English was the news so make sure you download stuff on your ipad or laptop if you like watching something at night.
Reading through previous reviews they said to try and get a balcony room high floor as these are the best for views etc. Be warned it is very noisy from cars horns and general traffic so is not a pleasant experience when you want to chill, the hotel were good enough to give us one of these rooms upon request after a few days , but must say I wish we had stayed in room 111 as the room was bigger overall and much better quality and would have been quieter. If you want a view go to the rooftop for a coffee or cocktail, it's great.Rooms are cleaned well but did have to ask for this to be done a couple of times. Just put a note on the door if you want your room made up.
We took a trip to Capri , got a ferry which was fine but did'nt have a clue where to go on arrival in the port, It is a very busy place so be prepared. To get to the centre you will need to get the cable bus up , the ticket office is on the port side a little walk on the beach side to the right and the bus is caught opposite .You will find wherever you go there is a lot of walking so have good footwear, this us not the place for stiletto shoes so don't bother packing any. I took a few long dresses to find very few wearing them. Mostly I found women wearing shorts, 3 qtr length trousers or a little dress but not too colourful . No flower power here.
Pompeii and Herculeum well worth a visit and you can get to them by train. Wear a het when walking round. Positano great but very busy yet again, a lot of uphill walking. This holiday would not suit anyone who has trouble with walking unless you want to stay local.
Lots of side street shops and restaurants well worth trekking round. Try walking down to the harbour via steps then up again , see how fit you are. Enjoy

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are smaller, go for lower level it does not matter about view as so noisy out front an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for a week as part of tour. It is a block from the center of town, convenient to many good restaurants. The roof top bar affords great views of the bay and Vesuvius. The breakfast was very good with fresh baked rolls. We had two dinners here and they were excellent. Some of our belongings liked the Hotel so much, they stayed behind. With the help of the staff, they were rounded up and were home with us in a few days. Everyone was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for having underlined the helfulness of the staff, we are proud to have contributed in making your stay enjoyable.

Hoping to see you in the near future, we send you best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The first thing you notice when arriving at the Hotel Plaza Sorrento is that it is attractively modern. It has the feel of a brand new building both at the reception level and in the rooms.
The second thing you notice is the hotel’s location. It’s in the very heart of Sorrento, convenient to many good restaurants, shopping, parks and scenic overlooks, all in the historic area of the city. And all of these places are within easy walking distance from the hotel. Also, the location, not far from the bus station, is ideal for taking day trips along the Bay of Naples and the Amalfi Coast as well as boat transportation to the Isle of Capri. My wife and I stayed here for eight nights with our small group tour and did just this.
The third thing you will notice about the Plaza is how comfortable you are while staying here. The complimentary sumptuous breakfast buffet and free Wi-Fi are always appreciated. There are also two computers with a printer available at no charge to check into flights and print boarding passes. The rooms have large beds and plenty of storage. The top floor consists of a Sky Bar with a breathtaking view of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius and even a swimming pool. But most noticeable is the friendliness and helpfulness of the entire staff. They all seem to go out of their way to please their guests.
Staying at the Plaza Sorrento added a lot to the enjoyment of our visit to Southern Italy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank POGO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing