We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location;perfect view”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect location;perfect view”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

hotel plaza is a modern and very clean hotel located in the heart of Sorrento. the infinity pool is absolutely spectacular - you can see across the entire peninsula from the Roof top. staff was amazing and did everything to help when we needed. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear guests,

thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our infinity pool on the rooftop, its amazing view of Vesuvius is unrivalled. A perfect place to relax and taste our barmaids' delicious cocktails...

We hope to see you again one day.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    377
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
358
929
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Plaza Sorrento. The breakfast was delightful and the location is perfect. I would give it 5 stars except for a few items that should be addressed.
1. Never knew what housekeeping would leave or not leave. For example, one day, the tissue was not replenished, another day we had no bath mat. Another day we received plastic cups in our room and the following day we did not. It was just inconsistent. Not a big deal, but when you are traveling, you expect consistency so it is known what to expect.
2. We hired an expensive guide throughout the hotel to take us to Rome. We all felt the driver was unsafe. The response we received to our complaint was totally untrue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear valued guest, thank you for your review. We are sorry to have missed the 5th star this time but we are confident to get it next time especially after we have clarified some points:
1. our hotel adheres to the eco-philosophy. Thus we have got cards in all the rooms explaining how the towels' replacement works. Towels in the bath-tub or shower stand for "please change" - towels or bath mat back on the towel rack mean "I will use them again".
So it is not really inconsistency on the part of the housekeeping staff rather we let the guests decide whether certain items should be replaced or not for our environment's sake.
2. transportation: we only collaborate with extremely professional companies and we never had a complaint so far. In your case, while in the traffic, a scooter accidentally hit the car's side rear mirror. No one was hurt nor was the car damaged as it was a minor thing. We are sorry if that alone made you feel unsafe. When you say that our response was totally untrue, well we simply reported the driver's version.
In conclusion we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I couldn't wait to write a review of this lovely hotel! The location is great, just off the main square. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay perfect! Special thanks to Maria at the front desk who was able to hire us a car when we were stranded 30 minutes away because the light rail had broken down. The breakfast is fantastic, the room was clean with a balcony with an ocean view! Overall just a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-lover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are happy to hear that you had a good time during your stay. We are glad that you appreciated the hotel's central position and the delicious and rich breakfast buffet.

Thank you for having also underlined our staff's contribution in making your stay perfect. Service is one of the most highlighted feature on TA - staff will do everything to make your stay memorable.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel last year with my husband, loved it so much booked a girlie break for a friends special birthday. Just as lovely as last year, staff very helpful, a little cramped for 3 adults in a room, but the location, views, pool was just fab. No hesitation in recommending this hotel. Breakfast great, lots to chose from. On our last night reception offered a take away breakfast for our early check out, and coffee was available in the bar area before we left. Airport transfer was also arranged by the hotel as we were 5 girls travelling with big cases a mini bus was organised and the driver stopped off at the beauty spots for us to take photos, he also bought us a lemonade for us which was so kind! The trip was just perfect. So near all the restaurants and bars and shops. Spent a day on the beach, had lunch at one of the restaurants which was expensive but not brilliant. Would recommend The Garden Restaurant as the food was fantastic, 5 min walk away, also a wine bar and shop, very handy for a bottle or 2. Little shop opposite the hotel sells fruit & veg has a deli and sells all sorts of drinks to.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms 504 and 505, both had balconies which was lovely to sit out and people watch, put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guests, we are so very pleased that you enjoyed your girlie break in Sorrento and that you have no hesitation in recommending our hotel to others.
We are also very pleased to read that you found the transfer service arranged by our concierge very good and professional.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My friend and I stayed in this boutique style hotel for 3 nights. The room, although not large, was well equipped and very clean. It was on the 4th floor and had a balcony overlooking the main street but wasn't noisy. The hotel is in an excellent location, 5 minutes walk from the train station/bus stop, just off the main square and 10 minutes walk from the Marina. The beds are really comfortable and the air conditioning was very good. Breakfast is just amazing, with a huge choice of cereals, bacon, sausage, eggs and the most delicious pastries, cakes and pannacottas. There is a juicer with fresh fruit and veg for those who want to make their own. As well as this, there is a choice of fruit juices and prosecco. It really is the best breakfast I have ever experienced. There is a rood top bar serving drinks and snacks, with sun loungers and a small plunge pool. Pool towels are provided. Drinks and food in the hotel are reasonably priced. All the staff we dealt with were efficient, knowledgeable and very friendly. I can't speak highly enough about this hotel and would highly recommend it if you are visiting Sorrento. If I go back there, this will be my hotel of choice,

Room Tip: Room 404 has a balcony overlooking the Main Street but not noisy. Gets the morning sun but in shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetaLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear valued guests, thank you for such a lovely review!
We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our service. Besides the ideal location, we are glad to read that you found the beds comfortable and the modern AC system very efficient. It is also very nice to know that our amazing buffet breakfast was the best breakfast you ever had.
Knowing that on a future visit the Plaza Hotel would be your first choice in Sorrento is the greatest compliment we could get.
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I hate to be the one to leave a negative comment about this hotel but this is a staffing management issue and should be addressed. We stayed at the Plaza recently for a week and overall the stay was satisfactory and the majority of staff were as previously stated, friendly and helpful. However on day two we were subjected to a twenty minute argument between a female and male waiter which was heated and angry, especially on the part of the blonde female staff member who during the incident flailed her arms about almost hitting another guest who had to duck to avoid her. After complaining to the desk we were then confronted by the staff we had complained about! The incident left us feeling intimidated and threatened and for several days afterwards we received poisonous looks whenever the female staff member was on duty. There was clearly no manager present at the time to deal with the unruly staff and curtail the argument before it got out of hand. We did complain at the time and were subsequently offered a complementary drink but the management should take note that they need to have a person in charge during breakfast. Always happy to chat with anyone about it.

Room Tip: Avoid ROOM 112 - only window faces a wall and is always dark. Balconies do not face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pistolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are pleased that overall you found your stay at the Plaza satisfactory. As regards your negative note, we are working towards perfection so any comment that can help us in that direction is always welcome!
Honestly I was very surprised to read of a 20 minute angry, heated argument which took place one morning in the middle of the restaurant between two waiters. The excellent reputation of our breakfast staff is now well established and no other guest has ever reported anything similar before.
I personally investigated the matter and it came out that the two staff members were merely discussing a work issue which demanded urgent attention. After all, the Italian way of gesturing is well known even though we realize it may at times result over emphatic or worse being misinterpreted. However the chief waiter personally apologized for any disturbance caused and I was also very pleased to offer you and your wife a complimentary drink that very day.
We assumed that the issue was closed and clarified but evidently it was not for you and we are sorry that you let this isolated incident influence your assessment of our hotel so much.
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Hotel was spotless the staff were always very helpful, Maria was a great help with bookings.
The breakfast was fantastic. Even a bit of bubbly if you wanted . It had the Healthy as well as the sweet taste in mind. The roof top bar had an excellent view. Could not fault the hotel all all. Great location for exploring.

Room Tip: Really great breakfast even for the healthy or the sweet taste in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing