We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic week in beautiful Sorrento. The Plaza hotel is the perfect base for exploring the stunning Amalfi coast. The Hotel is 100m from the Piazza Tasso which is the heart of Sorrento and lined with restaurants, bars and shops to suit everyone. The hotel is modern and very clean with excellent facilities. The choice and quality of food is very good and varied. The rooftop sundeck has a bar and an infinity pool with stunning views towards Vesuvius,the Bay of Naples and the mountains surrounding the town. The room was very clean and comfortable and all the staff are very friendly and welcoming and cannot to do enough to help. Carlo in particular was very helpful and always willing to take time to advise on local culture and places to visit. A great holiday at a great hotel in wonderful Italy. We will be back. Grazie mille !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,732 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. We travelled to Sorrento for a friends wedding and arrived on Saturday the 21st of June 2014 and stayed until the Wednesday the 25th. The hotel is right in the centre and surprisingly it wasn't very noisy. It was so convenient to get to all of the sights and general shopping instead of having to get on a bus or taxi and for us this was very important because we were only there for a limited time.
The hotel staff were exceptionally polite, the room was very modern and clean and the breakfast was varied and nice. The pool and sun deck on top of the building provided us with a relaxation area rather than having to walk down and pay to go onto the beach. We would use the hotel with our children but the pool area was very quiet and we wouldn't have liked the children running about. We probably wouldn't take the children to Sorrento anyway unless we were in an all inclusive hotel because it isn't really a place I think they would enjoy until they are in their teenage years. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenToby2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As newlyweds we visited the hotel from the 06-16 June.

Well amazing, beautiful & just perfect.

Location
You could not ask for a better location in the middle of the main square so you have restaurants, shops, ice cream & sea at your disposal but even with Italy winning the first World Cup match we never ever had any disturbance at night.

Rooms
Clean, modern, amazing bathrooms. The cleaning service was very efficient and I could bit complain about any aspect if the rooms.

Facilities
Roof top pool, snack bar, restaurant (for B&B) car, gym & free wifi

All facilities were fit for purpose, clean, tasty & really great

Breakfast
A great variety catering for everyone from the full English to the smoothie machine.

Staff
Well well well, amazing, friendly, helpful, could not do for us & we specialties this being on honeymoon.

Would I recommend - is go back in a heartbeat!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jackiegodding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guests,

we hope you had a good journey back home.

We are glad that we were able to contribute to your "perfect" honeymoon in Sorrento. You seem to have appreciated the main highlights of the Plaza hotel - from its central location to the helpful staff.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future, we greet you sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

hotel plaza is a modern and very clean hotel located in the heart of Sorrento. the infinity pool is absolutely spectacular - you can see across the entire peninsula from the Roof top. staff was amazing and did everything to help when we needed. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guests,

thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our infinity pool on the rooftop, its amazing view of Vesuvius is unrivalled. A perfect place to relax and taste our barmaids' delicious cocktails...

We hope to see you again one day.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Plaza Sorrento. The breakfast was delightful and the location is perfect. I would give it 5 stars except for a few items that should be addressed.
1. Never knew what housekeeping would leave or not leave. For example, one day, the tissue was not replenished, another day we had no bath mat. Another day we received plastic cups in our room and the following day we did not. It was just inconsistent. Not a big deal, but when you are traveling, you expect consistency so it is known what to expect.
2. We hired an expensive guide throughout the hotel to take us to Rome. We all felt the driver was unsafe. The response we received to our complaint was totally untrue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malawne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear valued guest, thank you for your review. We are sorry to have missed the 5th star this time but we are confident to get it next time especially after we have clarified some points:
1. our hotel adheres to the eco-philosophy. Thus we have got cards in all the rooms explaining how the towels' replacement works. Towels in the bath-tub or shower stand for "please change" - towels or bath mat back on the towel rack mean "I will use them again".
So it is not really inconsistency on the part of the housekeeping staff rather we let the guests decide whether certain items should be replaced or not for our environment's sake.
2. transportation: we only collaborate with extremely professional companies and we never had a complaint so far. In your case, while in the traffic, a scooter accidentally hit the car's side rear mirror. No one was hurt nor was the car damaged as it was a minor thing. We are sorry if that alone made you feel unsafe. When you say that our response was totally untrue, well we simply reported the driver's version.
In conclusion we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I couldn't wait to write a review of this lovely hotel! The location is great, just off the main square. The staff goes out of their way to make your stay perfect! Special thanks to Maria at the front desk who was able to hire us a car when we were stranded 30 minutes away because the light rail had broken down. The breakfast is fantastic, the room was clean with a balcony with an ocean view! Overall just a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel-lover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento.

We are happy to hear that you had a good time during your stay. We are glad that you appreciated the hotel's central position and the delicious and rich breakfast buffet.

Thank you for having also underlined our staff's contribution in making your stay perfect. Service is one of the most highlighted feature on TA - staff will do everything to make your stay memorable.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel last year with my husband, loved it so much booked a girlie break for a friends special birthday. Just as lovely as last year, staff very helpful, a little cramped for 3 adults in a room, but the location, views, pool was just fab. No hesitation in recommending this hotel. Breakfast great, lots to chose from. On our last night reception offered a take away breakfast for our early check out, and coffee was available in the bar area before we left. Airport transfer was also arranged by the hotel as we were 5 girls travelling with big cases a mini bus was organised and the driver stopped off at the beauty spots for us to take photos, he also bought us a lemonade for us which was so kind! The trip was just perfect. So near all the restaurants and bars and shops. Spent a day on the beach, had lunch at one of the restaurants which was expensive but not brilliant. Would recommend The Garden Restaurant as the food was fantastic, 5 min walk away, also a wine bar and shop, very handy for a bottle or 2. Little shop opposite the hotel sells fruit & veg has a deli and sells all sorts of drinks to.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms 504 and 505, both had balconies which was lovely to sit out and people watch, put you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear guests, we are so very pleased that you enjoyed your girlie break in Sorrento and that you have no hesitation in recommending our hotel to others.
We are also very pleased to read that you found the transfer service arranged by our concierge very good and professional.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £86 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing