We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good central location”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Comfortable modern hotel, we had a 'comfort room' which meant a bit more space. No view except a brick wall but the roof terrace was great for a view , a dip or for sun. Easy walk to the station , for Pompeii , or the lift to the sea and plenty of good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    368
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
348
907
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our 2nd visit to The Plaza. We returned as we liked it so much the first time and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are very comfortable, the staff are friendly and efficient. The pool on the roof is a really welcome addition to relax in after a day of sightseeing. As previously mentioned the breakfast buffet is excellent. It is centrally placed for all the local restaurants and transport to other areas, and that is a real bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great boutique hotel in the middle of Sorrento, walking distance from beach, restaurants, shops, even the bath ruins on the coast can be walked to. The staff was very helpful, the rooms super clean, the bathroom was a delight with the rainfall shower head. The rooftop bar and pool is da bomb, we hung out there quite a bit, even during a stormy afternoon. The breakfast buffet was the best on our two-week trip, it was hard to stop trying every single thing laid out on the tables. I really can't come up with one single negative comment about this place, it's was truly lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zsuzsanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were directed here by our travel agent and it was an ideal choice. Clean, modern rooms. Friendly helpful staff. Easy access to station for train to historical sites. Quiet despite being close to city centre. Nice little pool on roof to cool off in. Good bar and lunch time snacks, not to mention the fantastic breakfast.
Only slight shame is no restaurant in the evening, the food we had there was excellent and there are a lot of fairly indifferent restaurants locally that I'm sure the plaza could surpass.
The wifi was good, ( vital for teenage children! ) and I would happily return there.

Room Tip: If you want a kettle to make tea, just ask at the desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for a week.
It is a 4 star but it is one of the very best I ever saw.
Staff are so friendly helpful and very professional.
Just read some of the previous reviews all are excellent.
Breakfast is a treat everything you could possibly want.
I certainly would return to the Plaza again.
The reviews I had read was the reason I choose here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There are very few hotels I would actually travel back to stay at. This is one of them!
After experiencing the hustle and bustle of Rome and Florence, my wife and I arrived at Hotel Plaza and instantly relaxed.

One of the big selling points for this hotel is the location. The central square in Sorrento is Piazza Tasso and Hotel Plaza is about 20 seconds away – close enough for a simply short stroll, but it keeps the hotel lovely and quiet.
Yes there are other hotels with views over the sea and the bay, but from what we saw, many of these are more dated and tired. Plus, many can be very expensive and we found Hotel Plaza to be reasonably priced.

There are hundreds of restaurants and bars within minutes. Explore the backstreets on the opposite side of the Piazza within minutes.

ROOMS
We stayed in a standard room but asked for a room with a view. We were on the 5th floor and had a beautiful view across the bay and Vesuvius on the other side – stunning.
The room was stylish, modern, clean and had everything you could ask for.
The shower was a rainforest style shower which I loved. And the mini fridge was big enough to put some of your own beers/water/wine in there to chill.

REST OF HOTEL
The hotel is extremely modern and stylish. Every part of it looks stunning and you can’t help but to be impressed. This is particularly true for the pool area, which is beautiful and has excellent ‘mist sprays’ to keep you cool. The pool has lovely jets as well to keep you relaxed.

SERVICE
The staff here were all excellent and really did the hotel justice. Nothing was too much trouble and whilst I’d like to be able to point out a single member of staff, I simply couldn’t because they were all excellent.

BREAKFAST
I have to make a point of writing about this - everyone does. Probably the only better hotel breakfasts are those in huge all-inclusive resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean.
The breakfast has fried breakfast, fruit, a juice maker, cold meats, pastries, croissants...the list is endless. Oh, and if you want to really enjoy your holiday, there is prosecco as well!


Would I recommend? Yes.
Would I stay here again? Yes.
No question.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is modern and feels more like a business hotel as a result, but what a great place to be overall. Others have covered its features well - great location, super well maintained, beautiful roof-top pool, outstanding staff, and extensive breakfast buffet. I would not hesitate to stay here again. I wish we would have stayed longer on this trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlr575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for your very positive comments about the Plaza after your recent stay. We are very pleased that you found our hotel super well-maintained and our staff outstanding. We too wish you would have stayed longer. Why not plan a future longer stay at the Plaza then? We look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,991 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing