We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not extraordinary”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
glc84
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, but not extraordinary”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Myself and my partner chose this hotel based mostly on the reviews on here. It was a lovely hotel, and we had a lovely time. Staff were very welcoming on our arrival. We had just travelled from Venice by train, and were frankly exhausted. We were hoping just to have a few nibbles in the hotel bar before heading out. Unfortunately they had stopped serving food at 6pm I believe. However the gentleman at the reception was able to suggest a couple of restaurants. When he found out we were on honeymoon he got one of the other staff members to bring up a bottle of fizzy wine and nibbles. (which didn't last long!) The room was comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. However felt a little on the small side, (especially compared to the hotel we had stayed in Venice)had scuff marks on the walls and didn't have much of a view (we were on the second floor facing into a neglected back garden) but we were not there all for bedroom views. After showers the next morning we found our shower to be over flowing. The reception staff were very apologetic and it was fixed by the time we got back in the afternoon. The breakfast staff were all very attentive and hard working, though as previously stated, very pudding heavy (which we found very strange for breakfast), I tried a rum and raisin pannacotta (i think) it was very nice, I fully embraced the desserts for breakfast philosophy. Much to my hips disgust! Hehe! Overall a good holiday, I liked this hotel, and liked the staff. The staff were all very very nice, gave us some good restaurant recommendations, and tips for our holiday, all extremely friendly and approachable. I would recommend Plaza to my friends. But would get them to ask in advance for a room with a better view! Overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: you do get a little noise from the stairs/lifts in the rooms next to the stairs/lifts (room 212 for...
See more room tips
Green Features: ummmm...... We got lots of bottles of shampoo and shower gel when not really needed.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    374
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
354
920
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for a week with our teenage daughters.Location couldnt be much better for the town and 5 min walk to the bus and train station.
Very clean, bright and modern hotel with very polite,helpful staff.Sky and downstairs bar great for pre dinner drinks and you get given generous portions of nibble and canapés for free.Wifi was free which kept the kids very happy(why dont all hotels have free wifi ?).
Great views from the roof pool and bar across the rooftops looking out to sea or the hills behind.Most times we managed to get sunbeds but there was one occasion when we had to wait a short while till a couple became free but there are usually other type of chairs to sit on.
Breakfast is good but we have been spoilt lately with some other hotels giving us an even bigger choice especially on the hot choices( we tend to choose hotels that offer an American type breakfast).
Only small gripe is that this is the first hotel for years that we have stayed in that hasnt had any sort of hot drink making facilities in the room but we did ask the reception staff and they lent us a kettle and cups although we had to source own own milk etc.
We plan to come back to Sorrento again in the next few years and we shall definitely try to stay at the Plaza again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front would probably have a better view from their balconies as the rear ones face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RollOnNextHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were extremely disappointed with our room at Plaza Sorrento. We had paid for a family room for my husband and me to share with another family member. We had booked through booking.com and requested a room for 3 adults so the hotel was fully aware of this, having received the booking confirmation. We were in Sorrento for a family wedding and it was supposed to be an enjoyable week for us. However, we were so let down by our accommodation that we came home more exhausted than rested!
The room we were given (room 411) was small, had no windows and as a result was dark and cold. There was a small terrace but this faced another concrete building so we received very little sunlight. Whilst the room accommodated a large double bed it could not fit an additional single bed as stated on the hotel website. The sofa bed we were given was more like a child’s cot. The room would have suited a couple but we expected a larger room considering it was for 3 adults. Because the bed was so small my brother in law went and slept in another room with some other guests who were attending the wedding with us. This in itself was an inconvenience for him and the friends he ended up sharing with.
We voiced our concerns about the bed on the Wednesday; the night we had arrived. We were politely told there was nothing that could be done until the next day which was understandable. When we returned to the room the following night a camper bed was placed in our room, making the room even smaller than it was. It also blocked the opening of the door but with a bit of force the bed was pushed out the way. This bed was also at a 45 degree tilt. When we informed reception we were told again that nothing could be done until the manager was in the next day, (Friday).
We spoke with the manager on Friday, Raefello who said he would look into another arrangement for us. We were very frustrated with the room situation. We were now almost half way through our holiday and my brother in law was having to go and find a spare bed elsewhere every night. Friday evening we returned from Capri and and no change had been made to our room. We spoke to the receptionist on Saturday morning and he said that we would have to wait until 5pm to speak with the manager. By this point I was direct and said that I would be expecting financial compensation for the poor service and resolution of this problem. It was also unacceptable for us to wait for the manager as the wedding ceremony was that day.
The hotel did recognise they were at fault because on Saturday night when we returned to the room, we were greeted with a bottle of Prosecco and a letter from the manager. The letter was full on mistakes including the statement that my brother in law “had accepted the bed on Friday night”. This was not the case; he never slept in room 411 during the entire stay.
Sunday morning 7am we checked out and my husband paid the full amount without any arguments. We were hoping for the situation to have been sorted by the manager but nothing had been arranged. We were now met with a receptionist who could not help us. We had paid for a family room and yet really it was used as a double room.
We are a well-travelled family and do not like to make such complaints. We were hoping that the hotel would recognised our dilemma and given us some serious solutions. We could appreciate that another room wasn’t an option given that the whole hotel was fully booked. We feel we were fobbed off. We think we had been given a small double room dressed as a family room with a camper bed as a last resort hoping that we wouldn’t notice its short fall. It upset my brother-in-law who had to go and seek a bed elsewhere. We were there for a family wedding and feel that the room situation heavily impacted the enjoyment we got from our week stay in Sorrento. We will not be returning to the hotel or making recommendations in the future.

Room Tip: Don't book room 411 - apparently a "family room". Just about enough room for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ney_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Direttore at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear guest,
we are very sorry to receive your negative review. We understand the accommodation was not what you expected. However, the descriptions of our triple and quadruple rooms are accurate and pictures are very realistic. In fact, your room 401 (not 411) appears in the triple room's description (the blue one)on Booking.com through which you made the reservation. This was even brought to your attention. Really, it is not our custom to dress double rooms as family rooms. We regularly sell that very room to families of 4 and we never got a complaint. At the time of your visit, the hotel was fully booked but that is not the point because there would be no larger room in the hotel as far as space is concerned. We realized that the problem was the sofa bed which your brother in law did not find comfortable enough. That is why the day after your complaint, on the Thursday, another bed was put in the room.
The receptionist who arranged that even spoke to your brother in law and he seemed satisfied.
Two days before you checked in you emailed us requesting a single room for your brother in law. We hope that you are not blaming us for that very late request that could not be satisfied.
Our front desk management always go the extra mile to make sure that our guests are happy and enjoy their stay as hundreds of reviews testify. Even in your case we did the best that the circumstances allowed.
In conclusion, you were assigned the type of room that you booked, even a quadruple room in fact so we did not fall short and their was no mistake. It is more a matter of unmet expectations.
The complimentary bottle of sparkling wine, which I was delighted to offer you, was not meant as an admission of responsibility on our part but merely as a gesture of courtesy.
Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We strayed six nights in Sorrento at the Hotel Plaza for a family wedding in Aug 14. We all felt very welcomed and there was no complaints, which is surprising for a large group! This boutique hotel is highly recommended - the rooms are great sizes, the views are breath taking and the hospitality is spot on. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 936LRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This a superb hotel. Very close to main square and the shops. There's a small shop opposite and a Deco supermarket about half way towards the railway station.
We stayed for seven nights. Our teenage children had adjoining rooms and we enjoyed sitting on the balcony each night.
As everyone as said before, the breakfasts are superb. The lemon cake is very good. We really enjoyed the fresh fruit. The service was always very good and the staff were always helpful. The reception staff are always willing to help.
The rooftop pool is fantastic, with great views. The bar is also a great place to have an early evening drink. Lots of sunloungers and deck chairs, with towels provided.
This has to be one of the best value hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Plaza in Sorrento for four nights we wished it could have been longer. We were booked for 7 nights but unfortunately because of business commitments could only go for 4, they allowed us at the last minute to change our booking. The hotel is lovely in the heart of Sorrento with a lovely bar and fantastic rooftop pool and bar with a sunbathing area which was just perfect at the end of a hectic day seeing all the sights that Italy has to offer. Maria the receptionist recommended and booked all our restaurants for the whole stay, fantastic choices and great service (it made our holiday). We will definitely be returning to the Plaza next year.

A great hotel with help friendly staff in the Heart of Sorrento.

Thank you to all the staff at the Plaza for making our holiday really enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Italy. We spent 4 nights in Rome and 7 nights in Sorrento. The Plaza was a fabulous hotel. The staff were exceptional, we were made very welcome and their attention to detail was amazing. This will certainly not be our one and only trip. The hotel is situated in a perfect position metres from the main square. I did worry before we arrived having a 12 year old with us but no need both staff and guests helped our 7 nights to be relaxing and perfect.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MandH-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno_Amuro, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Plaza, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at the Plaza hotel in Sorrento. We are glad that you enjoyed your first trip to Italy.

We appreciate that you have underlined the attention to detail given by our staff. They always do their best to make your stay as welcome and as you defined it "exceptional" as possible.

We are very happy to hear that this will certainly not be your last trip here in Sorrento and in the meantime we send our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing