We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, clean, comfortable, couldnt be better.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great Location, clean, comfortable, couldnt be better.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2009

Stayed here in October 2009 after spending two days in hectic Naples. The hotel is modern clean and stylish. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was nice. Location is excellent, right in the centre, close to all the shops and walking distance to the bay, ferry port and train station. Pool on the top is a nice touch although we went end of season and October it was pretty cold but still a great view from the rooftop. All in all a great experience and I would definitely return to this great hotel in what is a beautiful and relaxing seaside town.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicyhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    350
    38
    10
    2
See reviews for
328
836
33
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

When we arrived on our honeymoon at the airport in Naples, our luggage did not arrive. Without any help from the airport staff, we immediately called the only person we could think of to help - Rafael at the Plaza Sorrento. He was so kind and told us to just come to the hotel and he would help us once we were there. That friendly attitude set the tone for the rest of our stay at the Hotel Plaza. After sorting out things with the airport (still without luggage), we arrived very late at the hotel so Rafael was already gone for the day. Before he left, he arranged with the night staff (also very kind) to upgrade our room for our honeymoon and our troubles to a beautiful room with sea view (room 501 - perfect). After checking us in, a knock on the door greeted us with champagne and cookies.

The hotel decor can be compared to some of the finest boutique hotels we've stayed in in San Francisco, New York, and Europe. Very modern, cleaner than you could ask for, and simple. The entire staff at this hotel were great and everyone was very approachable. It's been since July, so I can't remember everyone's name to thank them, but that doesn't matter because any of them will help you with anything you need. The bartender on the roof patio remembered our orders each day and had our coffee drinks ready whenever he saw us.

Free internet, great breakfasts with fresh juice, and parking for our vehicle. The location was ideal too right in the heart of the city centre where you could get to everything and anything. Use this hotel as a base for visiting the entire Amalfi Coast with day trips to Capri, Amalfi, Positano, etc.

After checking out after just 2 days, we continued our tour of the Amalfi Coast. We quickly decided to change our course and head back to Sorrento for the final couple days of our trip. When they heard we were coming back, the staff made sure we got our room and cookies were waiting!

What a great place - we will go back. We don't usually recommend hotels to people because we don't want the pressure of a place not living up to our friends or family's expectations, but we have already recommended this place to many people.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WtoCtoTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

I stayed here for a week with my mum and brother and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is perfectly placed just off the main square, 5 minutes walk from the train station but was very quiet. The decor is modern and stylish, the rooms are comfortable, the buffet breakfast was extensive and the staff were very friendly. We used Sorrento as a base for sight-seeing in the area and the Plaza suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntiePaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

I have stayed at a lot of hotels . . . for business and personal use and this hotel really blew me away. It is gorgeous - totally South Beach. The hotel has just been redone and everything is impressive about how they redid it from the white on white front entrance hall to the see-through doors on the elevator. It also included a roof top patio with amazing food and an infinity pool that was cold but had an amazing view. It was really quite impressive. The hotel is a welcome new jewel for Sorrento and for Italy in general where so many hotels are really tacky and old.

We stayed there for four nights making sure to have their amazing breakfast each morning that had everything from hard boiled eggs to make your own juice stations - it was really well stacked. The service staff in the hotel went above and beyond to try and make your stay enjoyable – everyone couldn’t do enough to help.

Our hotel room was also very stylish and modern with a comfortable bed, modern furnishings and a bathroom with a glass enclosed modern shower, square toilette and sink. It is also centrally located in downtown Sorrento (right beside the big valley in the middle of town that our balcony actually looked out over) and is walking distance from the train station which made it really easy to do a day trip to Pompei.

We also took an excursion from the hotel to Capri Island – the concierge will set it up. It was 65 Euros and it was with Captianoago (www.capitanoago.com). This was the best excursion that we have ever done. They pick you up from your hotel (might be a little late – in our case they were about 45 min late picking us up) and then drive you to the marina were you find Capitano Ago with his amazingly fun personality and his gorgeous boat. When we went there was 12 people on the boat – more than enough space for everyone to be comfortably. He will take you to Capri to see the island for a couple of hours and then around to the various grottos. It was a very relaxing day and much better than the other tourist boats that we saw taking people around the island – they were packed with benches to sit on and really just took people to see the grottos. We got to take our time at all of the grottos and swim and really enjoy them. As a note, if you want to get into the Blue Grotto you need to pay 10 Euros extra because it is controlled by the government of Capri and sit in a little fishing boat that takes you in. Also if you go on this trip you should take some sea sick medicine just in case. There were a couple of people on our boat that were not feeling to well . . .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-babe-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

Spent a week at the hotel and spent time relaxing in Sorrento and exploring the surrounding area. As said in many reviews the hotel''s location is simply fantastic. Less than a minute from the Piazza Tasso.

The rooms are fairly small and minimalist in a modern style, but the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms well appointed and our room had a nice balcony.

The rooftop bar and infinity pool have a fantastic view and its a great area for relaxing and reading a book with a drink. A real asset in a town-centre hotel that doesn't have any grounds or gardens. Beware though, the pool wasn't heated in September,which meant that even though the air temperature was 26 degrees the water felt freezing!

The breakfast was good, usual European buffet of cold cuts, cereals, fresh fruit and limited hot options. But there were lots of juices and a juicer for bespoke combinations and the coffee is fresh and hot. The bar is very modern and bright, but quite comfortable and provided complimentary crisps, nuts and canapes in the evening which was a nice touch.

Service was very good throughout the hotel, from reception, to waiting staff (with one exception) to housekeepers all providing friendly, efficient service.

The free wifi only covers 30mins a day, which you can either view as a nice bonus or slightly measly. I oscillated between both points of view, but if you want longer you can pay.

Overall a highly recommended hotel if you prize location and modern style and functionality over a traditional package pool and buffet kind of place. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

If you would like to stay in a very good value for money contemporary hotel. This is the place to be in Sorrento.

The location is ideal, 50m away of the busiest town-square and still very quiet inside the hotel.

They have a nice pool and awesome rooms. They have a very good breakfast buffet.

The only thing negative is that the reception desk has little information about the excursions to Pompei and Napoli. If you ask they are willing to help you.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyondmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Previous reviews of this hotel combined with its location, led us to book and we were not disappointed. Located just a stone's throw from Tasso Square, its location is superb. The hotel is well appointed, without being pretentious. A little expensive, but no more than is to be expected in Sorrento. Buffet Breakfast is of a good standard. Cocktail bar is excellent with attentive staff and a mean cocktail list! Would stay here again in an instant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasiderBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing