We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We stayed at Hotel Plaza for 5 nights; the location was excellent - just around the corner from the Piazza Tasso. The rooms were clean, the staff very friendly and very helpful and the breakfast buffet was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladyrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,256 - 1,262 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2010

The hotel is perfectly located off of the main square with plenty of restaurants and bars and shops surrounding. There is a 10-15 min walk to the main harbour for boat trips to Amalfi, Positano, Capri etc, not so bad on the walk there as downhill! The hotel itself is immaculate, the pictures of the pool area do not do it justice, the pool itself is not huge but there is a good sized terrace with a bar and option of poolside shiatsu massage! A modern style hotel with all the ammenities you would require, a good hotel bar serving an amazing glass of house red and spot on mojito. The staff are incredibly friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Breakfast was also one of the better hotel offerings I have had with an in house pastry chef a mountain of sweet treats plus healthy options, make your own smoothies, eggs and bacon. As a not very easily pleased traveller, I have been raving about this hotel since I got back home and would recommend in a flash!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ2010London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you ever so much for the beautiful comments made about your experience at the Plaza. Indeed, the guests' satisfaction is our greatest gratification. We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We have just returned from a two week stay in Hotel Plaza. It's rare to come across a hotel that gets uniformly positive reviews but the Plaza is the real deal. It's modern, spotlessly clean, in a brilliant central location but still quiet. A special mention for the staff, particularly Cinzia and Rafaelo who were very helpful, professional and cheerful. They all gave the impression that they enjoyed their work which is not something that you come across too often. The cleaning staff were very discreet and thorough with the same helpful attitude. We will definitely go back to this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TadhgandMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2010

Thank you for leaving such a positive note about your stay at the Plaza. We will work hard so that our "gem" may shine ever more brightly. Thank you even on the part of our staff for the words of appreciation that you dedicated to them too. Until your next visit then!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I stayed with my husband for three nights at the beginning of June. The location is fantastic and the hotel is beautiful. Everyone is also so friendly and helpful. The bartender recommended going to Basilica for dinner, which was great. If I ever go back to Sorrento this is where I will be staying.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandra32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

My wife and I stayed here very recently and we thoroughly enjoyed everything the hotel had to offer. It’s in a perfect location in a central location, just seconds walk from Tasso Square. Rooms are large enough, well-thought out and comfortable. Also, very little noise from the road/square outside, especially bearing in mind the location. Excellent selection of breakfast food – fruit, eggs & bacon, Croissants, cakes, rolls, etc.

Staff are superb – as we found throughout Sorrento – being both very helpful and friendly. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, especially at such a good price. Only slight downsides are the lack any heating in the roof-top pool when we visited (early June), as it was very very cold! And although it’s just large enough for a leisurely paddle, the pool is not quite big enough for a full-on swim.

Superb views over the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvius though. Also a bit surprising was the lack of a restaurant in the hotel for an evening meal, or facility to have lunchtime snacks. To be honest though, there are enough quality restaurants in and around Tasso square to not be too bothered by this! Overall, excellent hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2010

Dear Sir, we would like to thank you very much for having taken your time to rate us. We really appreciate your remarks and we will use them to try and enhance ever more the quality of our hospitality. Regarding the lunchtime snacks, we were just about to open our snack bar on the rooftop terrace when you visited. The snack has been functioning for about 10 days now and will continue throughtout the summer. It serves a variety of fresh salads, grilled vegetables, chips as well as first courses, pizza, pasta, veal, fish, dessert...all fresh and preparared at the moment by our chef. We are sorry that you had to miss this, however we hope that you may enjoy it on a future visit. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We were very please with the Plaza. Clean as could be. Very modern design, staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is just perfect to visit all the sites. Don't hestitate to book this one.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeq42477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed in Hotel Plaza as a base for attending a family wedding in Positano. It was perfect in every way. Location excellent, staff friendly and helpful. From reception area, to breakfast area to rooms,all kept to a very high standard. Roof top pool with relaxing areas just made the stay perfect. We will without doubt be back to stay in Plaza and would highly recommend this hotel as a perfect location for a stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,475 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £92 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing