We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Modern Hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed here at the beginning of June, we arrived in Sorrento from Rome via naples on our Honeymoon.

We were given an upgraded room and canapes and champagne on arrival, which was a lovely gesture.

Our room was spotlessly clean, very spacious and the bathroom was huge and had a fab shower.

The hotel is perfectly situated and very quiet.

I can't say anything negative about the Hotel Plaza, it was everything we hoped for and more. I have already recommended the hotel to several of my friends and we will return in a few years time on our anniversary.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unhappytaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2010

I wholeheartedly agree with the good reviews this hotel has received. We have just returned from a great holiday in Sorrento and this hotel was a big part of that. It is very central, very modern and well designed, clean and well run. The staff are friendly, breakfast is served until 10.30am every morning and there is an excellent rooftop terrace and pool with views over Sorrento and towards the bay. We had a lovely time here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemorris23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Travelled to Sorrento for a wedding and stayed at the Plaza for 4 nights - the hotel is clean and the staff are extremely helpful, the service was very professional and the location is perfect for a stay in Sorrento since it is so central.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The hotel is only a minute from the centre of Sorrento but far enough away not to get the nightlife noise.
The room was nice with each floor having it's own colour scheme.
My boyfriend thought that the hotel was quite noisy at night but it could easily have been simple one group of Americans that spoilt it for him on the way to their rooms at night. I slept fine but the aircon was very loud.
There was plenty to choose for breakfast and the bar in the evening (although quiet) was nice to chill out in.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexsH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Stayed for a 10 year wedding anniversary, 4 night break. Arrived late 11pm, no problems. We were given a room on the second floor overlooking the main street. Room was very quiet and road/traffic noise was not a problem. Myself and my wife were extremely impressed with the breakfast. The welcome and the service from the breakfast staff was first class, they are a credit to the hotel and made the breakfast that bit more special. The breakfast itself was quite varied and extensive. It was something to look forward to in the morning thats for sure.
The pool area is small but the view from the pool is fantastic. We spent most of our time down at the sea but always looked forward to seeing the day out in the pool, it was a lot quieter at this time too as most of the people who didn't move from the hotel had left to get showered.
The location is everything with this hotel. You are in sorrento. The Marina Grande is about a 10 minute stroll and definately worth a visit (not too many tourists!!)
The only things that I would advise the hotel to improve would be the hotel skybar, I did not see this staffed after 7:00pm which is a shame because it is a fantastic asset to the hotel.......and the price of drinks at the hotel. Two small beers will set you back 10 euros and 2 lemonades will set you back 8 euros.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaso23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Best placed for Sorrento's main square, Rooms clean and very quiet but could be larger,Breakfast is a bit limited on the cooked food side . We booked half board only to find the hotel as not got a restaurant? so we had to go to a local restaurant that hotel as a agreement with them but the restaurants menu we found it also a limited .the pool is very good and the view is secound to none over the bay of Naples

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Very centrally placed. Hotel is extremely comfortable. Rooms are modern, bathrooms excellent, double glazing makes for quiet and good sleeping, blackout curtains allow you to sleep late. Pool is very small, but it's not often you can swim up and down and see the entire Bay of Naples spread out before you!. Staff are fantastic. Nothing too much trouble for them. Very enjoyable. Would return and definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillhumphries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £96 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing