We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 September 2010

After A LOT of research, we finally chose the Plaza for our 8 day holiday in Sorrento. I must say we weren't disappointed.
As others have said, the rooms are not big, we had a Comfort room which had a balcony, but the room itself is by no means large, but we didn't spend that much time on the room anyway, so not a problem.
The rooftop pool is a real bonus - fabulous views over the Bay of Naples (cold water though, so you need to be brave)
Breakfast is good, especially the cold selection - the scrambled egg was great, but the sausages and "bacon" (sloppy, wet ham!) are average. Great selection of bread, fruit, cereals etc. You will be impressed. Fantastic staff in breakfast area - attentive without being overbearing.
As usual in european hotels, loads of Americans looking bemused at the breakfast selection and talking very loudly!! (sorry - bit of a sweeping generalisation there.....)
All the staff we met were uniformily informative and knowledgable.
Recommend Ravello and Positano. Amalfi and Capri were absolutely packed. Naples is an incredible mess of a city - you cannot believe the poverty and almost third-world nature of the streets. The much-vaunted archeological museum had great collections but terribly displayed and many rooms closed off (including the Pompeii mosaics on our day).
Go to Herculaneum before Pompeii - much easier to get you head around it all.
Boats are better than buses, but watch out for timetable changes - both bus and ferry times seemed to have have mind of their own from day-to-day.
Overall, this is a brilliant part of the world - the views from Villa Ruffalo alone were worth the price of the holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noggin1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week in September. It is about a minutes walk to Piazza Tasso, the main square so the location is brilliant. The hotel itself is modern, the rooms a decent size and are cleaned on a daily basis. The 6th floor roof top terrace and infinity pool are great to catch a few rays. The pool has views to the bay, with Vesuvius in the distance. Althoigh located near the main square there is little noise from the street/roads to the side of the hotel at the roof terrace. There is also a bar on the roof terrace. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis (which was served 7:30am - 10:30am) and is buffet style, it had everything from fresh fruit, cooked meats, eggs through to cakes! Overall we had a great time in Sorrento and the location and quality of this hotel added to a great holiday and wouldnt think twice about re booking if we come back to Sorrento in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gildersome_leeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights in September and it was a great base for staying in Sorrento. It is a 1 minute walk from the Centre Square and close to the train station. The breakfast which was included was lovely with lots of variety. The staff were really helpful and great. The 6th floor pool and sun terrace are fab and the bar is lovely, but not cheap. The only negative thing is the level of noise in the rooms. We stated in room 112 and could hear everything of what was going on around us in the other rooms and were woken up during the night by a couple rowing next door, not great for light sleepers.
Overall, would definitely stay here again and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyKav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We have just returned from 6 days at the Plaza Hotel. It is a really modern hotel in the heart of Sorrento. It is about 1 min walk to Piazza tasso and so central for everything. Each floor has a different colour theme - we were in room 502 - fuschia pink floor - we had a room with a balcony on the front of the hotel. If you look to your left on the balcony there is a sea view. The hotel is located on a very busy road which I loved as I love the buzz and I also love people watching! When you are in the room with the patio doors closed it is really quiet. The bathroom is all white (walls and floor) with a massive wash basin, bidet, toilet and a bath with shower. The rooms are immaculately clean and very well looked after. There were plenty fresh towels every day and a fluffy bathrobe and slippers. The toiletries are lovely, especially the body lotion. There is a really nice rooftop terrace that gets the sun all day and has a lovely view. Towels for the loungers are supplied. The pool was quite cold but lovely once you were in! There are buttons to put on the different water features. There is a rooftop bar - we never really used it though as we preferred to go out wandering when it was time to eat. There is also a bar at front of the hotel with inside and outside seating. breakfast is served in a really lovely restaurant on the ground floor - again it is mainly white - very cool and modern. The breakfast selection was really good excellent coffee - fresh juices and also a smoothie machine with loads of chopped up fruit/veg - cereal - yoghurt - cold meat - cheese - hot selection inc bacon/sausage/scrambled egg - lovely selection of rolls and toast - best of all fresh hot donuts and pastries. I have never tasted such light donuts in my life!! The first couple of days I never had any thinking who on earth would eat donuts at breakfast........me! We were unlucky with the weather but the hotel supplied us with umberellas. The staff throughout this hotel make it really special - nothing is too much trouble. I will definately be returning to the Plaza on my next trip to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunhshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

This was my husband and my first trip to Italy. I researched hotels in Sorrento like a crazy person to find the right fit for us.
Well this was it. We arrived on August 12th, 2010 late at night, very tired from our long trip. The hotel staff we so kind and welcoming.
The lobby is clean and very inviting to sit and have a drink OR listen to music etc..
Our hotel room was on the 3rd floor overlooking the road (but that was okay - you're not really in your room much when in Sorrento). The room was fantastic - really comfy beds, very quiet - the bathroom had a rain shower - awesome! The room was spacious with enough room to handle all our clothes. They had wi-fi (with a user name and password from the hotel desk) which worked! The breakfast room was fabulous! They had all sorts of breads, cereals, pastries, tea, coffees, eggs etc..
The staff were very helpful with what to do and see - just ask them.
The best part of the hotel is the roof top. As you might know, the shops shut in the afternoon in Italy, so the roof top pool is a great place to hang out. The misters are fantastic!
Make sure that you check out Capri - boat ride (ferry) is located at the port - is approx 30 euros, but well worth it. Capri is beautiful. Make sure you rent a scooter and go around the island.
The other thing you MUST do - rent a car - approx 80 euros - and drive to Almafi. Stop in Positanno - it is amazing!!!
All in all - the Almafi coast is a great place and the Hotel Plaza is so close to everything - best place to stay in my opinion. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had the most amazing stay at the Hotel Plaza, not only is the hotel very cool and chic but it is ideally located in the centre of town with an very special roof terrace where you can relax and eat yummy snacks!

The bar staff are fantastic and the breakfast is out of this world! The rooms are basic but very modern with powerful shower.

This is the one hotel from our whole trip (of a total 4 hotels) that we would go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CooperTroopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

After reading reviews on TA and its fantastic location we decided on Hotel Plaza, once we arrived we couldn’t have been happier. The hotel is smack bang in the middle of town, just 2mins away from the main square, which made practically everything in Sorrento walking distance for us. The hotel itself was very modern and clean, the room that we had was on the 4th floor and really quite spacious with a little balcony too. We tried breakfast once and we walked out after 10mins, for a start we had to wait to be seated, once seated, the selection of food wasn’t very appetising and don’t even let me tell you about the awful coffee. Sorrento is such a beautiful town, quite possibly my favourite holiday destination and it was made all the more better by having a lovely hotel to stay at, so go for a walk around town, find a bar and have a real coffee and pastry for breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandalGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunoplaza, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2010

Thank you very much for your review! We must say though that we were taken aback by your comments about the quality of our breakfast. Our buffet breakfast is in fact one of our points of excellence as testified by most of our guests' reviews. The Plaza is perhaps the only hotel in Sorrento that can boast having a real pastry chef in the house daily making fresh cakes, croissants and other delicacies. Moreover we offer fresh fruit and juices, bacon, eggs, cheese, ham and much more. Italian guests are notoriously most demanding when it comes to the "espresso" or coffee in general and yet we have never had a complaint so far. Maybe if you had given yourselves another opportunity you would have realized that first impressions are not always right. Nonetheless, we sincerely hope that you are going to verify this yourselves on your next visit. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.0 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via Fuori Mura 3, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £96 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel is located in the heart of Sorrento. A Hotel designed in accordance with the eco-philosophy principle: a commitment to responsible management and respect of the environment. Our professional hospitality staff will welcome you to this modern structure, the result of modern design and technology, completely refurbished with Eco-compatible materials.Awake with the aroma of local delicacies offered at the Plaza Restaurant or drop into the Plaza Cafe and taste the snacks prepared for you by our chef .The interiors' warmth and charming atmosphere will embrace you, letting you discover the rooms' vibrant colors, personalized for each level, drawing you to the Sky bar terrace, where you can sip an aperitif at sunset, enjoying the views of Naples’ Bay and the picturesque Valley of the Mills. Infinity pool on the roof top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing