We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Gems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
Ranked #80 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This basic accommodation was first visited by my parents in the 1980's and the raving has never stopped and many others have gone on their recommendation.
My very fit & lively 80 year old mother was joined by my husband & myself on a pilgrimage to Santa Fortunata, it was easy to see why they loved it; the stunning views, shady trees and peace & tranquility was amazing.
We stayed in a 3 room bungalow - Bathroom/Main Bedroom/Lounge & Kitchen with a Bunk Bed, it was very clean; except for the curtains in the Main Bedroom which had mould on them - making for a very unpleasant smell and setting off an allergic reaction. The beds where adequate (though a bit squeaky) and it was nice to have your own bathroom facilities. Kitchen facilities where basic, not much in the way of crockery/cutlery etc & matches or a lighter would have been great to light the stove.
Coin operated washing machines & driers which where spotlessly clean, where available for use in the ablution block near the campsite, on the other side of the restaurant
The restaurant was open for the basic breakfast (included in our rate) of bread, meat, cheese, cereal, juice, hot drinks and whole fruit - a little more variety in meats and cheeses would have been preferable. However where the restaurant came into its own was the evening meal; we ate there 3 of the 4 nights and the food was very, very good and not far to stroll back in the lovely evening light.
However what made our stay so special where three delightful and charming young women who worked at Santa Fortunata. The beautiful Stephania in Reception who drove us down in her own car with our luggage to the Bungalow and helped us with information on getting to town & tours. Gentle and generous Claudia in the shop, who very kindly got my mother some nail polish remover as a gift, when there was none in the shop and finally the bubbly, funny and gorgeous Alessia in the restaurant who welcomed you each time as though you where a long lost friend, her sense of life, fun and happiness was a joy to behold in such a young woman.
I hope that the management of Santa Fortunata realise that these three young women are a real asset to their business and that they are well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OperaGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week in June. This is the perfect place to stay for those who don't want to pay the extortionate prices for hotels in Sorrento.

We stayed in an ensuite cabin - it was very basic and fairly small, but absolutely fine. It had a large double bed with a single bunk bed above it (note - the single bed is narrower than standard). We opted for the ensuite, so also had a shower, toilet and sink, all of which were clean. We had the use of a small shared kitchen cabin with a fridge (although not many utensils / crockery). I can only think that any bad reviews below were from people who expected luxury for a budget price! We were surprised to find that breakfast was included! This was bread, ham, cheese, basic cereal and cake every morning, with fruit juices, tea, coffee and hot chocolate!

The campsite is huge, with areas for tents, campervans, cabins and chalets. There is also a big swimming pool, inflatable spas, a restaurant, shop and even some farm animals! The staff were polite and helpful. It was nice to come home to some peace and quiet (and shade under trees) after a long day surrounded by tourists. We ate in the restaurant twice - the food is great and cheap (compared to restaurants in Sorrento).

It is a 20 minute walk to the edge of town (part of it with no pavement - however, the drivers are used to moving over for pedestrians) or 30 minutes to the train station. The bus comes every 20minutes and cost 1,30euro and takes 10 minutes to town.

There is also a bar and pizzeria just a 5min walk in the opposite direction to Sorrento. If you take the alleyway to the right just before the bar, walk downhill for about 10 minutes you will come to gorgeous rocks with a view of Sorrento, and a water inlet where you can swim. We also took the bus in the opposite direction and visited Massa Lubrense (10mins). Whilst there is not much to do here, we ate at the most amazing restaurant overlooking the sea (down the stairs by the main square).

Overall, we loved it here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenSA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here with my wife and two friends, 2/6/2013-8/6/2013, second time staying here and just as good as last time.
We had requested the same cabin as last time, but the lovely girl on reception,(Stephanna) recommended a different one that was available (No.15), as we weren't sure, she drove us round to have a look and then gave me a lift back to it with our baggage.
The views here are unbelievable, Vesuvius and Napoli over the bay of Naples, and Sorrento the other way.
The green cabins are fantastic value for money, basic but functional, with a double bed and a single, electric lights and sockets.
The communal showers,toilets, laundry facilities are all immaculately clean and plenty of them.
We ate at the restaurant 4 nights out of six, as the food is so good, and the staff were fantastic, courteous, friendly and helpful.
The campsite is maybe 2 km out of Sorrento which is only a 10 minute walk, with some memorable views.
If you want a reasonably priced alternative to staying in an overpriced tourist trap and don't mind a bit of walking, or using public transport(the bus stops right outside the main entrance)
this is the place for you.
Fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeperno13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with a tour and we were a little disappointed! No wifi unless you want to pay for it! It was so hot and the rooms were sticky and gross. No towels provided which we weren't told. Okay location, but the latest bus from sorreto was 10pm so no point going out at night unless you want to get ripped off by taxi! Restaurant was good considering.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I've stayed here twice a few years ago: once in a bungalow (travlling solo) and once in a cabin (with my mum).
The bungalow was sold to me as a six-bed dorm with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom. The bed was essentially a camp bed. The bathroom leaked and wasn't properly cleaned for the duration of my stay despite requests (in English and Italian). The kitchen was basic but clean and functional. I was here around Easter both times and the room was extremely cold: apparently there were no more blankets. The cabin was similar: bathroom was better, but still extremely cold. I wouldn't recommend staying here between September and April.
The site is about a 30-40 minute walk out of town along the coast road, most of which is uphill. It's nice, but you either need to have a car or be prepared to walk.
There is a small supermarket on-site to self-cater, and there's also a restaurant which serves delicious gnocchi alla sorrentina.
If you're looking for bare-bones basics accommodation, then I could recommend this place. It would be perfect in summer for a family holiday or for a stop on a shoestring backpacking trip, but for anyone else it's probably much too basic.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
Thank Jen_Ni823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in an ensuite cabin, seemed to be a lot of school trips and coach parties staying but this wasn't an issue.

It's very basic - cabin had a bed, blankets, coffee pot, cutlery, fridge and toilet/shower - if like me you're pretty happy at the basic end of the spectrum then you'll find this ideal and a great budget option - spend your money on eating out instead.

There's a small shop - the usual beer, bread, tinned stuff and cleaning supplies.

That said, one of the best meals of my trip was at the campsite restaurant - which happened to have loads of locals having a dance at the time - great fun.

There's a beach down some steps - it's OK but a bit of a trap for rubbish if the tide is against you. You can book a day trip excursion by boat to Capri which was great - although, like the rest of the Amalfi coast, Capri is heaving with visitors.

There's a bus stop directly opposite the campsite - 10 minutes into Sorrento. However you shouldn't just spend all your time there - it can get very crowded and a bit of a tourist trap. Check out the peninsula beyond Massa Lubrense, and definitely try eating out there - I got the best photo of the holiday whilst out on a stroll along the peninsula - an amazing vista of Capri, blue sea, sailing boats etc - well worth the effort. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get an ensuite cabin with a sea view if possible, try not to get saddled with one of the inland ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManOnClaphamOmnibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I booked this place by phone, confirmed by email and had their return confirmation for 2 rooms/2 nights very quickly.
In fact, they were overbooked and didn't told us. So the driver came to take us and drive us directly to another place quite far (but still didn't tell us that we don't go to the good place). What a surprise when we arrived: it wasn't what we saw on the website....
Finally we had to pay a little bit more but we were in a nice and not too expensive hotel on the beach, staff was very friendly and nice.
I ate the best seafood squid ink tagliatelle in that place!!!!

So I do not know this hotel but i can assure you that I like it because of their nice upgrade :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustforfunKohPhangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,382 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio

Address: Via Capo 39/A, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio Hotel Sorrento
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing