We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic campsite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
Ranked #78 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic campsite”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is quite a large campsite! We had a lovely spot overlooking the sea and the facilities were clean. Didn't bother with the 'beach' area as the sea wasn't that warm, neither was the pool water. The restaurant was great value for money but we couldn't eat there often because the site caters for private tour parties who have activities there. The shop was well stocked and I particularly like the fact that there were lots of power sockets to use!

It is true that the walk down to town isn't the best, although there is a pavement after a while. I never saw any accidents and I got the feeling that the locals were used to people walking up and down that stretch of the road. You can take the bus, (which stops outside the campsite) and we did that one day, but by the time we'd waited, it would have been faster to walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizatripit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    126
    83
    32
    28
See reviews for
100
139
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

A lovely campsite with plenty of amenities. The wifi is very limited but this is not explained when it's sold. The breakfast is very basic but other than these it's a lovely place and it is quite good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

We rented the 3 person bungalow Argento next to the cliff. From the terrace you have a hardly beatable view over the bay. But you can also have one more behind. So we have been lucky. There are also smaller mobile houses in the center of the site. They are not so good located as far as I have seen. The bungalow is quite narow spaced but has everything you need including a small kitchen and kitchenware. Sockets for electricity are rare. Just found one in the main room. And one in the bathroom. You have a separate place with table outside were you can sit and eat. Nights in September are getting chilly, so bring along a second blanket. This is missing but you may ask.

If you want a nice modest place for a small budget take this one.

Bus stop is directly in front of the site. You also has a rocky beach, but this takes some time to walk down the rocks. You also have a restaurant and a supermarket. The restaurant offers a simple breakfast, this was included. Because it was off season it was closed the rest of the day.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widerstand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was the final place we stayed in our travels through Italy and it was a great stay to the end of our trip. The cabins where a nice surprise to us and had full lighting and electrical outlets inside, they where spacious and had a double and a single bed. It was a little bit difficult to get to walking along the main road sometimes without a path but there was beautiful scenery as you walked, although you can get the bus if you prefer. The shared facilities where clean and although we did not try it the restaurant looked popular each evening we where there.

Room Tip: Would recommend booking the cabins especially as these are raised off the ground so you wont have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This campsite was the third of three that I had been to in Italy whilst travelling, and it was the nicest one I had been to. Rooms were a little more spacious than the others I had been in, shared facilities were clean, restaurant was really good actually (breakfast not so much, but evening meals were lovely!). It was a little bit out of town but the bus was easy and didn't take long.

Travellers should be aware that you have to pay for wifi here (only accommodation where this was the case in my month-long travels) and that the basic tents have no power facilities, so if you need to charge electrical's you have to sit up by the restaurant where they have power facilities. On arrival, I wasn't overly impressed by this, but to be honest, it didn't bother me at all. It was quite nice to switch my phone off for 3 days and not be bothered at all especially as it is such a beautiful place to be! And charging I would normally do chatting with a group of friends, so really not an issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The site itself was beautiful over looking Vesuvius and the coast! we stayed in a "tent cabin" which is a cabin made from tent fabric, there were proper beds and a lockable door so if felt more safe than a standard tent!
Getting to pompeii and hereculaneum was easy to do because you could buy tickets from reception into town and then on the train to the sites. The only issue we found was getting back to the site after a long day, the bus stop was hard to find from the station and the buses didnt seem to run to any kind of timetable!! however once you were on the bus it was only 10 minute journey to the site and the bus stopped right outside!!
The pool was amazing, but you needed to wear a swimming hat to go in the water so remember to pack them!! The restaurant was very good which it needed to be because sorrento was quite along walk away and the road into town seemed quite dangerous especially for pedestrians!!
Lovely site, would reccomend!!
there was one problem which was that at around 7.30 each morning there would be someone cutting or chipping wood very loudly this happened for 4 consecutive mornings which was really annoying!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beccca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed as a couple and would recommend this to anyone who is on a budget but looking for comfort.
Multiple positives:
1. Location is fantastic. Its entrance is a bus stop so you get dropped right at the gate and can pick up a bus right in front
2. We took a mobile home with bathroom and found it neat, clean and comfortable
3. Breakfast is delicious and sumptuous. Rarely did I find breakfast included when staying in camps/hostels, with the kind of varient they had (not wide but sufficient)
4. They provide a sheet that has bus timings from camp to railway station, between Sorrento and Amalfi, Positano and Pompei. This is something that I would want in each stay at every location. Someone took the pains and gave comfort to guests
5. Farm animals in the camp, beach right within the premise and a beautiful view of the sea and city from the breakfast place

Negatives:
Actually none. This was a pleasant surprise for our Italy trip and we loved each day of our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jashnzindagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,345 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#75 of 100 in Sorrento
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dania
Hotel Dania
#87 of 100 in Sorrento
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#48 of 100 in Sorrento
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio

Property: Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
Address: Via Capo 39/A, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio Hotel Sorrento
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing