We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Villaggio Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villaggio Verde
Ranked #71 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I am writing this on the last day of our family stay at this site. I am not sure what happened a few years ago but we cannot fault this site – its a little gem – its less than 5 minutes walk down the road to the main Piazza Tasso and the walk back is fine (no more than 500m in total) and in any case a free pick-up service is available. The cabins are spotless. Cleaned every day with fresh towels, the pool is also superb – the “rules” are just asking you to shower before you use the pool and use the foot-bath before going into the pool area – well who would not want to do that! Plenty of deckchairs, loungers and sun beds for all to use. The on site restaurant is well priced and the food and wine excellent. The are on-site washing machines and we arranged some trips from the helpful staff – an excellent place, helpful caring staff and I would certainly return here again if I was not staying in a hotel in Sorrento.

Room Tip: Ask for a room set back - there a little more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HyddaMedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Cute cottages inside a calm camping site with a charming swimming pool surrounded by lemon trees.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinigeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My 8 year old & I stayed here for a week in a little self-catering cabin set amongst the orange & lemon groves. Run entirely by a warm-hearted Sorrentine family, this place has a special charm; it's truly Italian. Home cooked food is available at the poolside or in the restaurant. Meals are first-class and well priced. The pool itself is delightful, a sun trap all day but shade if you need it. The cabins are spotlessly clean, and although dark they remain cool through the heat of the day. The decor isn't modern but that doesn't matter. Villagio Verde offers quietness and just the right mix of people in the pool/restaurant to make a few holiday friends. Sorrento main square is less than 10 mins walk down the hill. Not a hard walk at all & actually nice to be a bit out of the centre and explore the restaurants and shops used by locals. Tuesday's market is just around the corner. Great shoes! Would go back without hesitation. Enjoy:)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here in one of the cabins. I loved it! The lady that checked us in didn't know very much English at all, but I liked that, we were forced to use some Italian! The lemon groves were beautiful and it felt a little like were camping, which I like. I noticed a few people mentioned on here that there were hidden fees. I didn't see any in our bill. There was a big hill to get to the hotel, but we didn't mind it at all. It helped to work off the pizza and gelato we ate every night! It was also nice to have a small kitchen. We did make breakfast and lunch a couple of the days and enjoyed those meals on our little porch under the lemon trees!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soapydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Having travelled from Rome to Sorrento myself and my gf were pleased when we arrived her for our next stop for 4 days.The sun was shining and all we could see was gorgeous orange and lemon trees and little log cabins.It made a nice change to a hotel.

Our cabin was good for a couple and although dark we really weren't in there much and had everything we needed.It was cleaned and towels changed everyday.Very cozy and different.

My favourite area was the pool lounge /area further down the complex.First seeing it really felt like a slice of heaven.When we stayed there didn't seem to be many others so maybe we were lucky but I don't understand the moaning about rules.Its simple.You have a shower before going in the pool and you walk through a foot bath into the pool area.It's a place to relax I wouldn't really say it was for children to run about etc.More for couples and older people to take it all in and chill.Had some nice food at the pool too along with drinks.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.We ate one night in the restaurant when tired and had the place to ourselves.Fantastic homely food and a good bottle of wine we felt like we were eating at someone's home which was nice.

The place is about 10 minute walk to centre of Sorrento.As said before if you have mobility issues this walk will probably be too much so be aware.For myself and my gf it was not a problem and we thought it was very close to everything.Walk single file and just be aware of the traffic.

Yes there was a rooster and I heard dogs and other things going on while in the cabin occasionally but if you let this spoil your time here your better off staying at home.Many people will never be pleased no matter what and are professional moaners.

Overall a very pleasant place with warm people and would happily stay again...onto Positano!:)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RIGGSY666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a lovely place to stay. Fruit trees, swimming pool and quiet. The rooms are clean and have both a bath and a shower. They are dark but have plenty of lights and are spacious. We found all of the staff to be very helpful, giving us maps and timetables for the local transport. You must eat in the restaurant. The food is delicious and excellent value for money. The only minor downside to this hotel is that you have to walk up a moderately steep hill to get to it, so it is not suitable for those with impaired mobility. There is not a pavement so it is best to walk single file. There is a supermarket half way down the hill, and the main square Piaza Tasso is at the bottom. It is approximately a 10 minute walk. If you do not have any mobility issues then definately stay here because all of the positives far out weigh the negative hill walk which is not that bad for adults.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RuthandNick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After a particularly busy year, my wife and I were in need of a good holiday. We had visited Napoli and Sorrento briefly last September and we wanted to experience more. The majority of accommodation available in Sorrento was close to the centre, but we wanted something a little more remote. The Villaggio Verde website offered an idyllic retreat. During our first morning, after enjoying a good breakfast, and then sipping ice teas beside the pool beneath a warming sun, we both decided that we had made a good choice - this place was perfect for us.

The Villaggio Verde complex comprises 16 log cabins (bungalows) and a stone/terracotta hotel with 7 generous rooms all surrounded by fruit trees, vines and other luxurious Mediterranean vegetation. There is a stone flagged sun terrace with quaint swimming pools beneath a “vine-entwined trellis” and there is an adjoining al fresco terrace in the shade of a wicker roof. The property is owned by the Gargiulo family and run by sisters Daniele and Rosario. You’ll meet Rosario who’ll welcome you at breakfast and dinner (she bakes most of the cakes and cooks your evening meal). Rosario spends most of her day at the pool area tending to your needs (including those of her friends and children).

As the majority of reviews suggest Villaggio Verde is very close to town. A ten minute walk takes you to the main square in Sorrento or to the bus station / Circumvesuviana, so it is very central if you’re planning a number of days out. For those who prefer travelling by ferry, Marina Piccola is a further 10 min walk. Sorrento is a great base to explore the peninsula by bus (there are a number of good walks from Termini and Nerano) or join the procession of day trippers to Positano, Amalfi or Ravello (but get the early bus to avoid the long queues). Catch the train to visit the ruins of Stabia, Pompeii, Oplontis and Herculaneum or spend some time in Napoli itself – it’s a fascinating city.

After a long days’ walking, taking in the sites, exploring the countryside or sun bathing on a remote beach, we would return to the tranquillity of Villaggio Verde and often go for a quick swim before relaxing beside the pool and enjoying a coffee or glass of wine before dinner. Food is served on either the al fresco terrace or in the restaurant. The food and drink are very reasonable priced here and the meals are a good quality - the spaghetti carbonara is divine.

For us Villaggio Verde was more than an excellent base from which to explore the area, it was also our home - a place to find peace, to rest and be ourselves. As a family run business they offer great hospitality. Everyone is very helpful, friendly, kind and considerate. We couldn’t ask for more.

After a two week stay this place far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ps_shaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
483 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
1,376 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#81 of 100 in Sorrento
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
482 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Verde

Address: Via Cesarano 12, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £61 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villaggio Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villaggio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Verde Sorrento
Villaggio Verde Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing