We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday....poor accommodation”
Review of Villaggio Verde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villaggio Verde
Ranked #70 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
matlock
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great holiday....poor accommodation”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

Sorrento was great! Fantastic town, great for site seeing, weather was warm but the villaggio verde was poor. Advertised as 3 star B&B with air conditioning. Certainly not 3 star. No air con. Restaurant closed. Generally run down. Staff and their pets just sat about. Weird pool rules. Sun beds chargeable. Breakfast; stale bread and wafer thin ham. To top it off we were told on the day of departure if we don't check out by 10am we will be charged 15 euros late checkout. Fortunately we couldn't wait to leave! My partner actually left a few items in the room after we had checked out, so we asked at reception if the cleaners had handed them in. We were told nothing was found in the room. Fortunately the items weren't valuable. Not a nice experience

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ganda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    82
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
74
102
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed here 14 Sept to 21st we had two of the hotel rooms they were perfect, There is a safe in the room, hairdryer and the rooms do have air - conditioning but ours didn't work! It wasn't a major issue so didn't bring it up with reception but if you were there in August it may have been a slight issue.
The rooms were cleaned every day by Ninja's I say Ninja's as they were so quick you potted over to the restaurant for breakfast and by the time you came back your bed was made (whether you did it yourself or not) and clean towels everyday.
The hotel food was lovely if a little expensive for some things - 5 Euros for a beer - but that's Italy for you.
The pool area was lovely we only spent one day sitting around but it was a lovely relaxing day and the staff are so accommodating nothing is too much trouble.
Its a little walk down to the main town - Therefore a bit of a trek back up but as the week goes on you do get fitter walking back up ! It is only five minutes!! You could get a taxi if you wanted and it wouldn't cost much its really not a bad walk at all.
All in all its a little oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento !!

Room Tip: The cabins looked lovely we didn't go in any of them but they are dotted around the area the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed in september and had a great week, really friendly family run hotel. Very laid back, great pool and food. Nothing was too much trouble and would def go back. Try the spaghetti carbonara it was the best in town.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms better as lots of mosquitoes by chalets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 172amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We spent 2 weeks here in the Hotel rooms and they were just right, and I loved the fact that the Double rooms have a bath. We had a double and single room and they were just right. One small thing there was no draws in the single room but it is only 2 weeks so it wasn't a problem. The mini fridge was great and we had a hair dyer and safe in the room. The rooms were cleaned daily and they tried to clean them when you were at breakfast. The rooms don't really get the sun but there was air con to keep it cool. Yes there is a steep hill but the steep bit is short and not a problem unless you have walking diffculties. It only took us 10 mins to walk to Sorrento and it was a lovely town and some great places to eat, look around 1st as some are pricey and crap. We ate at the Hotel a couple of nights, the food was great and the price was right. The pool area was small but perfect there was enough space for everyone. I will admit it was a shame we had to pay for a sunbed but it never stopped us from having one each everyday. The staff spoke enough english to get by and we didn't have any trouble with communicating. They are all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I took ill (heat stroke and bites) and they were great either offering advise or creams. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Room Tip: Chalets are built for families (2 adults and 2 children)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We spent three nights at this lovely green oasis. We booked two rooms (one for the adults, one for the teenagers) which suited us perfectly. The rooms are comfortable enough to stay for a week, very clean with all comforts and amenities provided. The location was quiet - good for the end of a long day! It was just a short walk to piazza Sorrento, yes the hill is a little steep but perfect to work off the calories after a great meal from one of the many pizza restaurants - or gelato bars! Also not too far to walk to from the train station or the port. Would definately choose to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We chose this accommodation based on the excellent reviews on trip advisor but beware this may not be your cup of tea, it certainly wasn't ours! The bungalows are very basic, small, chalet type rooms, no where near big enough for 4 adults, you might be ok with 2 adults and 2 children. However the hotel is up a pretty steep hill even for the fairly active person and a taxi from the centre of Sorrento to the hotel, no more than a quarter of a mile would cost a ridiculous 15 euros! The cleaners tried to fob us off with just clean towels and not actually cleaning the room rather than wait 2 minutes for us to leave. The sheets may have been changed once in a week, if that and our shower kept blocking up. Although the pool was very clean and the sun beds nice, you had to pay 5 euros for a sun bed which I think should be part of the cost of the accommodation! The staff were very nice, friendly and more than helpful although I'd advise practising some Italian before you go to make communication slightly easier. Another plus is the food at the pool bar lovely large portions and very good food and drink. All in all, I would not go to Villaggio again. It seems that it was more for Italians who like to cook for themselves in the room and not venture out too much.

Room Tip: Stay in the Hotel rather then the bungalows, it looked a bit nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Just spent a week at this lovely complex. We had two rooms - one for us and one for our 2 kids aged 16 & 13. The hotel is run by a wondeful Italian family who were so friendly & helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We mentioned in passing that we were celebrating our Silver Wedding during our stay and they surprised us with a free bottle of bubbly on the day.

The hotel is very clean, and we loved all lovely citrus tree. Beware though, as it's haven for the mossies. Make sure you have plenty of mossie repellant etc. We took plenty and only suffered a few bites between us. If you haven't booked breakfast with your accomodation it's only €5.00 per person per day. Breakfast is self service with plenty of choice. You can also eat in the hotel if you want to. We did a couple of time and found the food good and reasonably priced.

The hotel provides lots of information about trips and places to visit in the area. They have all the necessary train bus & ferry timetables so you can organise all your own trips & excursions with no problems. We easily got ferries to Capri & Amalfi and took the train to Pompeii.

Sorrento is a lovely place and the hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk away from the centre. It is a bit hilly so be prepared for an uphill walk back but it's ok unless you have difficulty walking. A good way to work off all the extra food we had!!

Lots of good places to eat in Sorrento too and if you like authentic pizza, we got a takeway (more than once) from the Pizzeria Aurora in the main square. You pay in the restaurant then walk round to the outside counter where you can watch your pizza being made and cooked for you.

If you go down to the beach and the harbour you can use the beach lift for €1.00 each way or €1.80 return. There are only 2 lifts that hold 6-8 people each and there can be queues at busy times. It is hard work walking back in the heat as it's all uphill so using the lift at least going up can be worth it.

We will definitely visit Italy again and we would have no hesitation in staying at the Villaggio Verde again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Niall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#77 of 100 in Sorrento
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villaggio Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Verde

Property: Villaggio Verde
Address: Via Cesarano 12, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#42 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villaggio Verde 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villaggio Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Verde Sorrento
Villaggio Verde Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing