We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Pane
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$529
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$566
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$885
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$723
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$538
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$505
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$586
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$513
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,000
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
221
74
15
16
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
74
15
16
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanna mariacooking schoolravioliauthentic italian experienceown gardenitalian familysea viewamalfi coastsorrento areathird floorshuttlehilltownalleyway
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Found this place on Tripadvisor and booked last minute.

Location: Up in the Sorrento hills with an amazing view, lush green landscape and a real traditional feel. The property is beautiful, decorated in a simple Italian style. The roads to the property are very narrow and steep, driving is a challenge, walking even more so. The Villa has a free shuttle service however, with work being carried out in one of the nearby streets, this has to be done in two stages (one shuttle drops you at the works being carried out, you walk for a little then there is another shuttle at the other side). Shuttle rota is one every two hours which, was problematic at times.

Villa: This place is a well lived in and a previous home to the owners, they now live in another property close to the Villa. It is run by the mother Anna and her sons. Anna was mostly in the kitchen as she ran a cook school, we mainly dealt with Gianluigi, her son. At times we felt he was a little awkward, we were not sure if this was the language barrier or if we were asking too much of him. The room we had was a delight, stunning views over the coast and nicely decorated however, our fridge did not work for the duration of our stay. We did report this but only on the day before leaving. The floors were tiled and very slippy when wet, I did go over one morning. The bed was firm but comfortable all the same. The air conditioning lacked in cool air, it was blowing out warm air at times! Breakfast was very basic, in fact we avoided twice due to the lack of fruit etc. On our first night we opted for in house dining at 25 Euros each, we were very excited about what was ahead. There was about 5/6 courses and the majority of the cooking was as I imagined in Italy however, our Carbonara was over cooked and the egg had simply scrambled, the Tirimisu was also a let down, bland and watery. I got the impression that perhaps the "cookery students" had prepared these?! The one thing that irritated me a little was the concept of time, we were told at the start of our trip that it was "loose" in Italy however, one evening we had lost track of time and was a little late arriving for the shuttle back up to the Villa, this seemed to be an issue for the driver, even though it was 10 mins at the most. The last shuttle back up was at 11:15pm each night.

Sorrento: This was our first visit to Sorrento and infact, Italy. Although the main area is a little touristy, we did expect this. The surrounding areas are traditional and "real". We took the local bus to Amalfi one day, passing through Poistano. Private tours in the area were roughly 65 Euros for this trip each, the local bus was 6.80 Euros each and every bit enjoyable, more so after saving £90!! Amalfi is beautiful, well worth seeing. We did hire a car from Naples airport which we intended to use but, with narrow streets and shocking level of driving from the Italians, we decided to rarely use the car. If you are thinking of doing the same, re think as you can easily get transportation from Naples airport to Sorrento and then the shuttle to the Villa.

Eating out/Drinks: Overall we felt the food was good, not as expensive as we thought and the same for drinks. We purchased some Prosecco and Peroni from the local supermarket at a fraction of the cost and consumed in our room prior to heading out. There is an abundance of places to go but I would say head down the back streets if you are looking for quaint, traditional places instead of food for the masses. There was also quite a selection of places to get ice cream/cakes, every second shop in fact! The one place I didn't think I would hear myself recommend was a Kebab shop, #1 rated eatery on Trip advisor, 100 times better than any kebab you get back home.

We had an amazing first trip to Italy and its given us the drive to go again, I would stay in Villa Pane again however, it wouldn't be my first choice due to the shuttle service times. Please also take mosquito repellent as I was continually bitten and hubby too. Avoid the local taxis if you can, we were charged 25 Euro from the centre of Sorrento to the Villa one day. If hiring a car, get the smallest one you can, the streets are very narrow!

Room Tip: Rooms with terrace/balcony have less of a view compared to room without balcony, there is a sliding door with a railing which was good.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Staying here was a unique experience, situated in the hills overlooking Sorrento it feels like you are getting the best of both the amazing scenery and countryside whilst still being only a short distance from the town and port. Walking into town was easy (if you don't mind steep descents) and the shuttle service was great. Only difficulty we had was finding the meeting point on our arrival day - still can't find it marked on the map so - Via Fuorimura - under a bridge just before Hotel Savoia. Had dinner here on two of our three nights and were blown away by the food - amazing local produce and the value for money is spot on. Would definitely stay here again. Such welcoming staff only happy to go out of their way and help you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

firstly let me give you a good tip , if you are like are selfs and like the freedom of a car don't leave the airport with anything bigger than a panda or smart car , the very small lane you have to go up to reach villa pane is extremely narrow and I saw a ford fiesta stuck between the walls damaged the hire car such a shame , it also becomes clear why you have to leave a deposit of 1500 euros on all hire cars , the roads are mad ! The worst roads we have ever driven on , no lights , no sense , they just don't care they bump into each other like your on a fun fair ride , every time I got into the car a feared for my life ! we didn't get a car at the airport after waiting 2 long hours in the Que long story ! So we got a taxi to villa pane which was very expensive but the lovely son sorted us a car out when we got their but its not the best experience driving , you need to ring when you arrive at the bottom of the hill as taxi will not go up , the villa pane bus was ideal although we only needed it when the car went back it was very reliable , to get back to airport we used a great guy ,was on time at the hotel and knew we're it was bonus unlike all the rest of the taxis , he only charged us 70 euros to naples airport , half the cost we paid cuming , he will also drive you anywhere on the island like a personnel chauffeur, at the cheapest rates so if you don't fancy risking the mad driving contact this guy speaks excellent English info@eduardoshoreexcursions.com tel +39.331.95.06.188 he is very nice guy . any way villa pane it's lovely place set in the mountains , very peace full Anne Marie and her son John works extremely hard , they are very warm and welcoming , breakfast is all home cooked jams etc , she cooks lovely meals if you just fancy chilling on the terrace , you need to ask thou what she is cooking that nite to make sure it's to your taste as you don't get a choice , the wine is lovely ! we had lovely meal we adviced Marie we was vegetarians and she accommodated , thought it was really sweet as she dressed up very nice to serve us are evening meal , the room had view of the sunset and large patio , we booked direct with them got a great rate and a room with the best view as we asked , what I loved about this place is they really make you feel at home , nothing is too much trouble and if you have any issues it's sorted , we thought the bed was to hard at first I believe this is an Italian thing , Maria came and put some thing under Neath that made it comfortable , would recommend I had a tear in my eye when I left thank you Maria and family xx

Room Tip: ask for room peonia you can watch the sunset ever nite on the large patio
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mujandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I stayed at the villa Pane for 8 nights with my wife in June 2104. It is situated high up above Sorrento and is accessible by the Villa's Shuttle. This is very regular and makes the location a real possibility for anyone. You can park your own vehicle in the lower square and be collected.Don't let the location put you off for the distance. Once there you will understand the benefit of being up.. views and quiet seclusion .A quiet garden and pool, home grown and home made food of a very high standard.
The room we had was spacious and light. with a balcony and looking out to the Island of Capri.
There are tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge . The bed was comfortable for one who likes a firmer mattress.
The staff are family and are very warm and helpful. You will be listened to if you have a problem.
It is well worth having dinner at the villa which we did on most nights. Then all you have to do is fall into bed.
There is the possibility of doing a cooking course with Maria .
We will return some day.DV

Room Tip: try to have one on the front or to the side with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevJohnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was truly the highlight of our vacation and the most memorable experience we have ever had. We stayed a week at Villa Pane and felt like family. Anna Maria & Gianluigi were the kindest, most comforting, welcoming people we have ever met. We had a tour booked through an agent that included a week stay at Villa Pane with cooking classes for 3 of the mornings. We learned the art of fresh pastas, cakes, biscotti, sauces including tomato, basil, made Strawberry orange Tiramisu. . . all while spending each afternoon and evening in and around Sorrento - an amazing fishing/village atmosphere with breathtaking views. We also went to Capri and toured Positano/Ravello (about an hour away by car). This was an experience! not only a vacation. The service was impeccable and Anna Maria and Gianluigi made us feel like extended family. They helped us plan our trips and made certain we were always feeling welcome and safe. We had a romantic sunset every evening and stellar views of the gardens every morning. You won't be sorry. It's like a private escape from hectic life. We are hoping to go back! Also, each night we are using the recipes and techniques we learned from the Italian master herself. Never would of thought we could make our own pastas, breads, desserts. . but she made it so easy. Completely from scratch. The views and memories and knowledge will last a lifetime and be passed on to our children.

Room Tip: We were blessed with a corner balcony view and terrace
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cityslicker561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews