We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring and professional service in a fabulous location-felt more like staying with friends than in a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Discovered this gem of a hotel walking around Sorrento.The location is central to all the daily action and night-life -just off one of the main piazzas,Piazza Tasso.Looks inviting from the outside;surprised that room rates affordable! Upon entering the wide lobby, you are greeted by friendly staff at the reception desk. If you're lucky, you may be welcomed by Marco.Such a caring man who genuinely wants your stay to be a great experience.The decor is tasteful southern Italian ( yes,there is such a thing), rooms are well-furnished with spacious bathrooms,windows that open for fresh air,heating and cooling, comfortable bed.There's a terrazzo to naturally top up your daily vitamin D. The Breakfast area is downstairs.The selection of hot and cold food is delicious.Vittorio looked after us warmly.Mangia,mangia is the mantra here! When he is in the kitchen preparing your hot dish,his singing voice is impressive.Very homely- great way to start any day!Late check-out at midday was great.Marco cheerfully allowed me to leave my o'night bag at Reception while I continued my retail research,before then going onto Pompei.
I travel often,so when I find people who not only do their job to the best of their ability and are also proud of their town, Sorrento, I must share this experience. From this hotel,you can easily access the fabulous best-value for money shopping:silk ties,leather goods,stylish swimwear,culinary delights, stunning views,the ferries to Capri, Amalfi. Note: more ferries and destinations are available between mid-April to October. I couldn't get a ferry from Amalfi to Sorrento in November 2009;OK for September/October. I think Capri is overrated so I'd say go for a visit and stay in Sorrento. A short walk to the best 'supermarket' that also has amazing good quality inexpensive Espirit clothes eg. a chic navy blu tanktop 12.50 euros.Internet connections are slow on in this part of southern Italy compared to Australia.TV has CNN,BBC etc.By now you've realised I love this place. It's all there for you to discover at your leisure senza stress.And no, I do not work for La Peninsula Sorrentina tourism.

Room Tip: Found 2nd floor quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PompeiOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.
The staff was both friendly and helpful.
The rooms were large and clean .
The roof deck was a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty quiet not much of a view frm the.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Talk about someplace special, we found another one in Sorrento. Down a narrow street passing alot of great smelling food is the Palazzo Guardati, and from the moment you walk in you know your stay will be great. The white marble floors and staircase with plush furnishings make the lobby area awesome.
All the staff were just excellent. Even with limited italian I got along well with all. From the front desk personnel to the maid, they were very helpful letting us know where we could get tickets for the bus ride to the marina, to resturant suggestions.
The room could not have been better. It was spacious and one of the best I have stayed in. Very clean and neat, high ceilings, nice central type fan, eco-friendly, and the room kind of seals itself when all windows/doors are closed. The bed was just right, I slept great each night, (along with the food, wine, and fun) without any problem. I liked the little personal touch of the bed being turned down and the next days weather info on the bedstand,plus the in room mini-bar was good. The bathroom again was very clean and had ample counter space.
The location was perfect for getting around the entire area. Close to the train for our trip to Pompe', and just a short local bus ride to the marina for our day trip to Capri. And naturally its walking distance to everywhere, a multitude of stores, shops, and food. The main street is bairly a mile in length and at nihjt they close it off for 3-4 hours so everyone comes out to eat, meet, and be merry, Oh! and alot of gelato gets eaten.
The breakfast was just another great way to start the day. All I needed and wanted was there, and at night before I, my wife and her cousin went out for dinner we started out on the roof with a beautiful view every night watching the sunset enjoying a drink.
The best thing we did was show up there. As with all trips its not just the place where you are staying but the people there. At the PG we met Vittorio. He was the one you saw at breakfast and served you drinks at night. Just cannot say enough about Vittorio, kind, courtious, and most helpful with his knowledge of the area, it would not have been the same without him.
I cannot recall anything that made our stay unpleasent or uncomfortable. We felt safe and secure, in a modern facility, with excellent people providing service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aclemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The Palazzo Guardati is a three year old boutique hotel within an historic building located within 100 meters of Sorrento's main square. The rooms are large and well appointed and the marble bathrooms are beautiful.
The rooftop bar and outdoor lounge provide stunning views of Sorrento and accross the cruise ships anchored in the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius.
The desk staff were always courteous and Vittorio, who runs both the bar and the breakfast room, was especially welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We agree with many of the reviews, but be aware of the following information. We had just stayed in 2 other 4 star Hotels in Italy and were very surprised to be charged 5 euro a piece for both a small bag of ice and the use of a safe key. The other two hotels were generous with these amenities. There was no coffee service in the room nor could we use the existing refrigerator though it was stated as an amenity.
The very loud pounding of the veal, when ordered in the restaurant, did disturb sleep.
Recommended with advance knowledge.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shortmama044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My husband and I definitely enjoyed our 7 night stay here. The hotel was close to everything and we walked everywhere! We were warmly greeted at reception and found all the employees on the desk to be very helpful and willing to please. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. The roof top terrace was a bonus, as we had no view from our room (however, we did not spend much time in our room). Breakfast was included and we had enough to choose from each day....both hot and cold choices. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and would book here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HMBNiagaraFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed at the Palazzo Guardati for 7 nights from 1st October and had a great holiday in Sorrento. As described by other reviewers the hotel is in an excellent central location in the town close to shops and restaurants. The hotel is clean and stylish with modern facilities and all staff are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast operation is well organised by Vittorio with a good selection of items on display each morning. The roof terrace is a fantastic asset with views across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius in the distance, we used it several times to relax after trips or walks and were the only guests to do so - if you stay here please use it for the views and to unwind

If you are a light sleeper or value a good nights uninterrupted rest when on holiday you need to be aware of the only negative aspect of our stay - the noise from the alley leading to the hotel. It is narrow and connects the main square Piazza Tasso with another Piazza San Antonino and is a short cut for pedestrians and scooters at all hours and it is also home to 3 restaurants and two bars

Our room 107 was on the first floor over the front entrance and the balcony can be seen in pictures of the hotel. The noise arises from al fresco diners and drinkers until late followed by staff clearing up and leaving with good humoured shouting and departing scooters until 2am. Early deliveries and locals heading to work start from 6am and every word and sound is carried down the alley, catering staff also take their breaks here

We decided to stay put and got used to these nocturnal activities but it is important that you know in advance that a number of the hotel rooms will be affected by night time noise and you may wish to specify a quieter room higher up the building which may cost more. Would we stay again - definitely but would request a quieter room for our visit

We went on a couple of local trips - a half day to Pompeii which was an amazing experience to be amongst the ruins, with an excellent guide. The site is uneven so you need to be fairly mobile to get around and watch the weather carefully - it was a cool sunny morning at 9am but a very hot sun overhead by midday with no shade or shelter of any kind - similarly if it is raining there is no cover so be prepared. The souvenir sellers descend on departing tour groups at the site exit

We used the local bus service to visit Positano and Amalfi down the coast - buy the 24 hour ticket at 7.20 euros at the information centre next to the station off Corsa Italia. Join the queue - in the first week of October at 10.30am there were 100 people waiting for the Amalfi bus, we eventually got on the 12.00, beware of locals queue jumping and again there is no shelter from the elements

Make sure you stamp the ticket when first getting on the bus so it is validated but only do it once. The drivers will allow 20 or more people to stand and it is 45 minutes to Positano along steep roads with sharp bends, first come first served - don't expect to be offered a seat if elderly or unsteady on your feet

At Positano get off at the second stop and walk back past the bus down the hill into the town - the driver may call out the stop - we planned to have lunch and our rep had suggested we get the ferry across to Amalfi to save walking back up the hill but it had been cancelled due to strong winds so we had to catch a later bus. Fantastic views along the cliffs and admire the skills of the local bus drivers

Amalfi bus station has no queues just a mob of tired frustrated and increasingly angry visitors and locals trying to fight their way on to the return Sorrento bus - you can get on thru the rear exit door if you have already stamped your ticket. There are no manners, order or courtesy it is a free for all - be warned. It must be a nightmare in high season and the frequency of buses must really be increased by SITA on this very popular tourist route

We visited Naples by ferry from Sorrento, a fabulous 45 minute journey on a sunny day. We navigated our way from the ferry port up via Toledo thru the centre of the city up to Museo Archeoloico Nazionale which houses the artefacts and pictures from Pompeii. We should have taken the red tour bus from the port rather than walking due to traffic and potential dangers

The museum does not do itself justice - there were no English guide maps available - for info the Pompeii exhibits are on the first floor in rooms 66 - 77 and 85 - 89. There is no cafe for refreshments and the shop although showing a good range was out of stock of many items and had limited tourist souvenirs. The best collection of Pompeii pens, scarves, mugs, books etc were found in Naples Airport departures

Overall we would definitely recommend Sorrento as a tour centre and Palazzo Guardati as a base to stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank edgbaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £71 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing