We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely on the outside, not much substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2011

The hotel was decorated tastefully and rooms were spacious. First floor rooms are over next door restaurant's kitchen, so it was very noisy between 11-2pm when they cleaned up - we had assumed it was building work! We had to contact reception daily to have them ask to be quiet. We heard other guests mentioning it as well. Though it was only a problem in the mornings, you could hear all noise from guests going to breakfast.

Unless specifically asked for none of the extras were offered. The coffee at breakfast was so bad it was undrinkable - make sure to ask for other type of coffee. Basic breakfast option with lots of nice cakes. The singing breakfast attendant was great!

Hotel was very central, down a small side alley. The pool was roped off. Nice roof terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marnier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Dear Guest
we are very sorry for your complaint but you should tell us when you was here in hotel, so we could provide to make a better coffee for you !
We hope you will give us another chance.
Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Guardati
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed at the Palazzo Guardati for one week in May 2011 and did not want to leave. The hotel was spotlessly clean and our room was comfortable and extremely spacious. We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in our room but as the hotel was surrounded by numerous cafe's this was not too much of a problem. The hotel is located about 50 m's away from the main square and is in a fantastic spot to make the most of Sorrento. The people and food of Sorrento are beautiful and we never had a bad meal or glass of wine! One thing that we would recommend is to organise trips to Pompeii and Capri etc. independently as we saved a great deal by using the train and hydrofoil rather than booking through Thomson.

If you stay at the Palazzo Guardati expect to have a lovely time and to come back wanting more!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L_johnson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Just returned from the Palazzo Guardati and stayed for 2 weeks. As previously mentioned, great location, beautiful rooftop, chambermaids were two lovely ladies, room was kept very clean during our stay. However, upon arrival we were given a room which we had specifically asked not to be in (facing the busy alley and on a lower floor). This was changed after 2 nights and we were given a room on the 2nd floor but this was next to the lift and we were awoken every morning at approx. 6.30a.m. with people using the lift (very noisy). Could not be bothered to ask for a 2nd room change. However, the worst part of our stay was the breakfasts. On the first morning we went down for breakfast at 9a.m. and found an almost empty breakfast bar. No bread, toaster not working, no scrambled eggs. All that we were offered was tinned fruit salad, yoghurt, and hot dog sausages. When we asked for eggs the waiter offered us hard boiled eggs and 3 hot dog sausages. I was also given 3 bread rolls which had obviously just been defrosted. Complained to staff who said they would look into this. Breakfasts improved slightly, with more bread but nothing else. Scrambled eggs were always almost gone by the time we arrived for breakfast and never replenished except for our last day. Fresh fruit was old as was the cakes and quiches. The most annoying thing in the breakfast room was the fact that Vittoria left a dish next to our table with some money in it and was obviously a request for a tip. We left nothing at all as we had breakfasts out of the hotel on 4 occasions as we could not face the same disgusting food day after day. The rooms in the hotel are what they are. You cannot expect beautiful views from a hotel so centrally located, but they were comfortable. This hotel could be the little gem which other travellers have described it as, but the breakfasts are a disgrace and should be dealt with immediately. It is annoying that we payed a lot for our holiday, which included breakfast, and we ended up spending 20 euros on 4 occasions in order to start the day with decent food.

Room Tip: Away from the alley, ask for upper floors
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alallbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Dear Guest
we are very sorry for the inconvenient, we try to make our possible help with a free upgrade of the room, our waiter try to make a good service as he do from many years in our hotel and also as you can see from other good reviews. Sometimes after so many good comment happend that one is unhappy for something that went wrong and for that we apologize for any inconvenient caused.
We are sure that if you will give us another chance we will try to do our best for you and all our dears guests.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Discovered this gem of a hotel walking around Sorrento.The location is central to all the daily action and night-life -just off one of the main piazzas,Piazza Tasso.Looks inviting from the outside;surprised that room rates affordable! Upon entering the wide lobby, you are greeted by friendly staff at the reception desk. If you're lucky, you may be welcomed by Marco.Such a caring man who genuinely wants your stay to be a great experience.The decor is tasteful southern Italian ( yes,there is such a thing), rooms are well-furnished with spacious bathrooms,windows that open for fresh air,heating and cooling, comfortable bed.There's a terrazzo to naturally top up your daily vitamin D. The Breakfast area is downstairs.The selection of hot and cold food is delicious.Vittorio looked after us warmly.Mangia,mangia is the mantra here! When he is in the kitchen preparing your hot dish,his singing voice is impressive.Very homely- great way to start any day!Late check-out at midday was great.Marco cheerfully allowed me to leave my o'night bag at Reception while I continued my retail research,before then going onto Pompei.
I travel often,so when I find people who not only do their job to the best of their ability and are also proud of their town, Sorrento, I must share this experience. From this hotel,you can easily access the fabulous best-value for money shopping:silk ties,leather goods,stylish swimwear,culinary delights, stunning views,the ferries to Capri, Amalfi. Note: more ferries and destinations are available between mid-April to October. I couldn't get a ferry from Amalfi to Sorrento in November 2009;OK for September/October. I think Capri is overrated so I'd say go for a visit and stay in Sorrento. A short walk to the best 'supermarket' that also has amazing good quality inexpensive Espirit clothes eg. a chic navy blu tanktop 12.50 euros.Internet connections are slow on in this part of southern Italy compared to Australia.TV has CNN,BBC etc.By now you've realised I love this place. It's all there for you to discover at your leisure senza stress.And no, I do not work for La Peninsula Sorrentina tourism.

Room Tip: Found 2nd floor quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PompeiOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.
The staff was both friendly and helpful.
The rooms were large and clean .
The roof deck was a great place to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty quiet not much of a view frm the.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Talk about someplace special, we found another one in Sorrento. Down a narrow street passing alot of great smelling food is the Palazzo Guardati, and from the moment you walk in you know your stay will be great. The white marble floors and staircase with plush furnishings make the lobby area awesome.
All the staff were just excellent. Even with limited italian I got along well with all. From the front desk personnel to the maid, they were very helpful letting us know where we could get tickets for the bus ride to the marina, to resturant suggestions.
The room could not have been better. It was spacious and one of the best I have stayed in. Very clean and neat, high ceilings, nice central type fan, eco-friendly, and the room kind of seals itself when all windows/doors are closed. The bed was just right, I slept great each night, (along with the food, wine, and fun) without any problem. I liked the little personal touch of the bed being turned down and the next days weather info on the bedstand,plus the in room mini-bar was good. The bathroom again was very clean and had ample counter space.
The location was perfect for getting around the entire area. Close to the train for our trip to Pompe', and just a short local bus ride to the marina for our day trip to Capri. And naturally its walking distance to everywhere, a multitude of stores, shops, and food. The main street is bairly a mile in length and at nihjt they close it off for 3-4 hours so everyone comes out to eat, meet, and be merry, Oh! and alot of gelato gets eaten.
The breakfast was just another great way to start the day. All I needed and wanted was there, and at night before I, my wife and her cousin went out for dinner we started out on the roof with a beautiful view every night watching the sunset enjoying a drink.
The best thing we did was show up there. As with all trips its not just the place where you are staying but the people there. At the PG we met Vittorio. He was the one you saw at breakfast and served you drinks at night. Just cannot say enough about Vittorio, kind, courtious, and most helpful with his knowledge of the area, it would not have been the same without him.
I cannot recall anything that made our stay unpleasent or uncomfortable. We felt safe and secure, in a modern facility, with excellent people providing service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aclemson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

The Palazzo Guardati is a three year old boutique hotel within an historic building located within 100 meters of Sorrento's main square. The rooms are large and well appointed and the marble bathrooms are beautiful.
The rooftop bar and outdoor lounge provide stunning views of Sorrento and accross the cruise ships anchored in the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius.
The desk staff were always courteous and Vittorio, who runs both the bar and the breakfast room, was especially welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
945 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £102 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing