We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

One minute walk from the Piazza Tiasso, in a quiet street. Rooms cleaned every day. Leave your door card in the slot inside to keep the air conditioning on. Breakfast better than most Italian hotels we have stayed in. Very helpful staff especially Antonio (find him in the roof bar). Loads of restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    135
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
104
254
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

7 nights in this hotel literally yards from the main Tasso Square and minutes walking distance from the train/bus station. We booked 2 double and 1 single rooms with breakfast and were given 3 great air conditioned double rooms en suite with double glazed doors which when closed kept out all sound at night. Really comfortable beds with excellent linen. One of our party had paid extra for 3rd floor room with balcony, which was large enough for the four of us to sit out on - well worth paying for. Excellent range of buffet breakfast food - juices, cereals, yoghourt, loads of fresh fruit, cold meats, cheese, scrambled egg, boiled eggs, savoury quiche, croissants, breads, jams, tarts, cakes. Waiter in attendance for tea, coffee etc. Nothing too much trouble. There is small pool with waiter service on the roof patio area. Excellent staff - could not fault this hotel. No restaurant but that's of no consequence in Sorrento - there are 100's of excellent eateries on the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seelie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I returned from a stay at this hotel 2 days ago. It is situated in a small side street just a
minute away from the Piazza Tasso and could not be in a better placed. The hotel is privately owned and well managed. As always it is the staff who make or break a hotel at this one seems to have excellent ones. The bedrooms are well appointed and immaculate and kept spotlessly clean. There have been previous comments about road noise and other gripes re food but frankly I could find nothing of real fault, the breakfasts are typically Italian and I have had similar in many other hotels in the country. We occupied room 106 above the kitchens of the restaurant Caruso next door but again with doors closed and air-conditioning working there was little problem and you are in Sorrento not Bognor Regis. All the staff without exception are excellent but a small mention to Antonio on the roof terrace and Vittorio at breakfast for their attention. The roof terrace is a very nice place to sit when the weather cools for views over the Bay of Naples and the town. All in all a first class well run hotel in the heart of where you should be when visiting to town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Bunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We came to Sorrento for our daughter's wedding and we are really pleased we chose this hotel not only for its central location but also for the courtesy and friendliness of all the staff including the chamber maids, bar man and especially Vitorio the breakfast waiter whose singing and cheerfulness certainly brightened us after a heavy night before. We started as a family of five and ended as four after our daughters wedding on the Tuesday. This was a hectic afternoon and reception were very helpful with our many requests...so thank you. The rooms were kept clean and tidy despite the efforts of my kids, and although noisy with the windows open the double glazing certainly worked and we never lost a nights sleep. On the negative side there were no tea/coffee making facilities which we would have liked but we did bring our own kettle and cups so we didn't suffer unduly (we did ask before we plugged it in, didn't want to fuse the place). Breakfasts maybe could have been a bit more inspiring (personally I'm not keen on prunes) but hey, when in Rome etc etc............................Don't let these negatives put you off, though, it's a typical British thing and vastly outweighed by the positives. We will certainly be back, hopefully not for a wedding but to take in all those things we missed and to listen to any new tunes in Vitorios repertoire!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel in Sorrento for 3 days while visting Naples, Pompeii, Capri and Positano. This was a great home base and the location within Sorrento was perfect, a 5 min walk to the ferry to Capri as well. The hotel itself is modern and our room although luxurious did not have much character. Staff was excellent.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EltonandAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here in July, 2010 for 5 nights. Here are the highlights:

Location: The location is absolutely EXCELLENT!! We stayed in Sorrento as our base and went on day trips to Capri, Almalfi, Positano, Ravello, and Pompeii. It is a short walk to the train station ( the Circumvesuviana) and is centrally located in the heart of the Sorrento night life and cafes/restaurants. This hotel is a little hard to find at first because it is off of an alley-way by the main square. But, it's still easy enough to find even if you just ask a friendly Sorrentine they can point you in the right direction.

Rooms: They were beautifully appointed with Murano glass Chandeliers. The bathroom was stunning marble and very clean. The hotel was well-maintained with all common areas very clean and the rooms were clean as well. The only drawback for some may be that it is in a central location with lots of restaurants nearby, so you may hear some noise at night while sleeping. It didn't bother us as we were more concerned with the location and preferred to be in the center of all the action! The hotel has a cute rooftop patio just for guests with a great view of Mt Vesuvius, but unfortunately we didn't have time for a drink up there.

Service: The breakfast was good, but there was some repetition of the quiches/pies and that could have been fresher, but it was still very good by European standards. The hotel accommodated some of our requests, but you have to speak with the owner as it doesn't seem like the front desk staff have a lot of say for special requests. The front desk staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful.

Tips: We took a bus direct to/from Rome - it was harder to get than taking the Circumvesuviana through Naples, but then we got to avoid the Naples train station which we heard terrible things about (i.e., pickpocketers, etc.) Ask the front desk staff to photocopy the timetables of the ferries/buses/trains etc. to Pompeii, Almalfi, Positano, Capri and Ravello. It will help you in planning how to get around with public transit. I would strongly recommend taking a ferry one way to Almafi and a bus the other way. That way you get to experience both views and the crazy bus rides - hold onto your seats! Capri is basically a little life of the rich and famous - it's pretty, but I preferred Sorrento. The view from Sorrento is breathtaking! It's an extremely romantic place! Also, it's called Almafi coast, but Sorrento is the biggest town - NOT Almafi! You can do Almafi, Ravello and Positano all in day. You could really just do Almafi since Positano is just a smaller and less prettier version of Almafi. When you take the bus to Positano from Sorrento, there is a smaller bus that will take you down to the main part of the town by the water, it costs about a 1EU and you have to wait a few minutes for it, but the coffee shop at the top has a timetable and there will be other people waiting there as well. Ravello is hard to get to, but the view from up there is stunning nonetheless - EVERYTHING is stunning here! If you have to miss it don't worry because it's just a view - nothing to see in the town - but you do feel like a bit of an eagle up there. Again a very scary bus ride up there, but the scariest ride was to Anacapri from Capri Town - crazy! Lastly, but not least, you have to go see Pompeii!! The most amazing ruins ever - way better than the forum in Rome!! It's so easy to get to on the Circumvesuviana (the stops are labeled - get off at Pompeii) and takes about 30-40 minutes and is about 3 or 4 EU pp. Anyway, if you go to the Almafi coast you will not regret it and you will never forget it!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to hear less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPhD99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The hotel is nice and the building is kept very well, all the staff are polite very friendly and the make the impossible to help you ! I enjoyed so much my stay here and i will go back ... the rooms are nice and up on the 3rd floor there is a nice roof terrace where we enjoyed our evening with a drink looking the sunset. The breakfast is enjoyable with a lot of cakes and a nice man that should be a singer !
We enjoyed very much and we go back to sorrento and to Palazzo guardati !

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowMark555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing