We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - for some!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #54 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My wife and I have just returned from our honeymoon having spent a wonderful week at the Hotel Palazzo Guardati. We specifically chose this Hotel as we wanted a Hotel in the town as we did not want to rely on shuttle buses to take us to and from our Hotel.
For us the choice was an excellent one as the room that was allocated to us did not have the best view by any means but it was extremely quiet.
From a conversation I had with an American couple they clearly had the best views from their room but were kept awake at night by the noise.
For us however, the only reason we did not give it the full five "star" rating was due to the quality of food served at breakfast. I accept breakfast is very different in other countries but this was quite poor and was commented on by other guests. That said, the prospect of three slices of various pastries\cakes was welcomed by some!
The staff were very friendly\professional and even the waiter who served the "interesting" breakfasts took time out to serenade his guests with his rendition of some of the Italian classical songs.

Room Tip: If you require a scenic view from your room\balcony be prepared to accept some late night noise fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in early September. We were both very impressed by the hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it. The location is perfect, just off the main square Piazza Tasso and within easy reach of shops, bars, restaurants and the main station. Despite it's proximity to the bustling centre it was quiet and peaceful. The room we stayed in was spacious and tastefully decorated with a balcony that had a decent view towards the Bay of Naples. The hotel also has a roof terrace with sun loungers, tables and chairs and a bar manned from midday. There is a large jaccuzzi which is fine to cool off in but not to swim. Breakfast was typically Italian but plentiful and with good coffee. The breakfast service was friendly and warm with the gentleman frequently slipping into song! Finally, the staff in reception were helpful, friendly and extremely courteous and polite. All in all a great choice of hotel for Sorrento due to it's location, rooms and service offered. Would have no qualms in recommending it.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our trip to Italy in early August. The room we had looked right over the entrance and the restaurant below. It was simply too noisy to sleep on most nights. When we did complain we were told it would be handled but the noise did not stop. They really should just not have those rooms over the restaurant and use it some sort of common area. The pool area was lovely but both times we went there was no one working and even though we were there before 5pm no towels were available and everything was closed. We never did see the bar open at all in the 3 days we were there. All in all I felt that for a 4 star hotel the experience should have been better. The location was very convenient though and the finishes the room were beautiful.

Room Tip: DO NOT take a room near the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank VickyJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Dear Sir
thank you very much for your review and we are so sorry that you had an issue during your stay in Hotel Palazzo Guardati, we are also sorry that you never ask at reception for the service available and we could be more helpful and give more information about the times of opening the bars on our roof terrace, just to let you know our bar has been open everyday. We hope that you will give us another chance and we can meet you in the future as our guest.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August. The location itself can't be beat, right off Piazza Tasso, surrounded by restaurants, clubs and night life. Right in the heart of the city, everything was a short walk away. At night the area around the hotel comes to life with tons of restaurants and bars buzzing with people and conversation. We didnt have any problem finding the hotel - it was a short walk (10 min) from the train station, and though its in a small lane off piazza tasso, if you know to look for it, you can see it right from the main street itself.

Breakfast is average, have seen better spreads in Italy. Rooms are large and well done up, although the interiors could be a little more modern. The hotel is very modern, and bathroom are also very elegant and modern, but the rooms have intentionally been decorated to give a slightly medieval look. The rooftop terrace pool is fantastic... great views of the sea and city from there. Perfect place to relax in the evenings!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank minesweeper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I have just returned from Sorrento and booked Palazzo Guardati based on location and reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed! As many reviews say, it is a tad hard to find but is accessible off Piazza S Antonio or Piazza Tasso. I had originally booked a 2nd floor room via booking.com but ended up with a 1st floor room but had no noise through the night from the side street below even though the evenings are very bustling and busy. The room was a good size and the bathroom was lovely and clean. Our room also had a flat screen tv but we didn't make use of it as we were out most of the time! The roof terrace is beautiful and perfect for a pre dinner drink! I would definitely recommend this hotel as it's the perfect location for staying in Sorrento. Everything was in walking distance such as the train station and the port. If we ever go back to Sorrento, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My Husband & I stayed here for 4 nights and it was a wonderful hotel, nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they helped us with any queries we had. Marco on Reception was especially helpful as was Antonio who attended to our every need.
The hotel was spotless and the rooms were very spacious and well decorated... I could even rent a laptop computer for the days I was there for a nominal fee... Thank you all for a great holiday!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joanWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in a twin room in September. I booked a double on the bottom floor but requested twin bedding at the time of booking. When we arrived we were given a twin bedded room on the 3rd floor. The room was quiet and received alot of sun. They rooms were nicely decorated with wood floors and a lovely marble bathroom. The terrace on the top floor was perfect for sunbaking and cooling off in the small pool. Bottles of wine, beers and cocktails and very resonably priced. We got a nice bottle of Falanghina for 12 euro. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location could not be better. Would highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank firenzesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,006 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £71 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing