We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find fault”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
BOLTON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hard to find fault”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This was a first trip to Sorrento for myself and my husband, and the Palazzo Guardati suited us very well as it is ideally situated for the main square, the shops and restaurants, and the sea front. There are lovely views of the Bay and of the Piazza from the roof terrace, and although the pool is small it is lovely to cool off in whilst looking at the scenery. The staff were all charming, helpful and efficient, whether on Reception, Breakfast, Terrace Bar or Cleaning. The interior is spotless and modern, but with traditional decor. Our room was spacious, with good facilities - we particularly loved the large comfortable bed and the deep bath, and the small fridge was useful. Clean linen seemed to be provided daily. Breakfast was continental but with quite a wide choice including eggs, cheese, cold meats, fruits, flans and pastries. We really relaxed here and had a lovely time.

Room Tip: we had room 102 on the inside of the hotel - a view of an inside courtyard/lounge area - temperature...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoltonMaltesers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    135
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
104
254
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Great location! Great service! Alfonso at the front desk was exceptional! He stayed late and personally assisted us even after a long, hot day. The room was pleasant and clean. The only issue was the a/c. Of course, the middle of July is just HOT. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Third floor corner toward the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I had the privilege of staying at Palazzo Guardati in late May of this year. Our room was lovely, exceptionally clean, and quite large. We had no issues with noise whatsoever. All of their staff members go out of their way to be helpful with any needs that might arise. Vittorio, in the breakfast room and at the rooftop terrace, couldn’t have been nicer … what a great way to start a day by visiting with him and hearing him sing in the kitchen! The location of this hotel couldn’t be better … right off of the main square in town and amongst all of the wonderful little pedestrian walkways that are filled with great restaurants and delightful shops. We hope to be back for another visit one day!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights with two friends in July 2012. The service was very good, room spotlessly clean. Roof top terrace was a bonus and while the pool was a little small it was great for cooling off after a day in the hot sun. The hotel is well placed for bars, restaurants, port, railway and bus station.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsharpe208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Very well located at the heart of the city, in a typical Sorrento building. A 2-minute walking to Piazza Tasso and the typical streets with lots of restaurantes and souvenir stores. A 5-minute walikg to Public Gardens, where you see a very nice view of the Gulf of Naples and the Vesuvio. Apartment 107 is somewhat noisy at night, due to a bar near the hotel, so you could have difficulties to sleep. Very kind service personell. Good room with private bathroom, cable TV, safe and air conditioning. Good breakfast. Restaurant La Basilica next to hotel is excellent. Palazzo Guardati indeed a nice place to stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in mid-June 2012. First the good - the rooftop pool is great (but see below). Efficient staff. Good location. Nice building with marble staircases, and it's kept spotlessly clean.

However, it may be 4-Star in terms of facilties, but it is not in terms of quality. This hotel is average, over-priced and over-sells itself. The swimming pool on the roof is a major selling point, but you cannot swim in it - as nice as it is lolling about in there after a hot day, it is only 5m x 6m. We paid extra for a superior room and were given a small double on the first floor (billed as a superior room, although superior to what, I don't know). It was above reception and we could hear noise from outside at night and from the hotel staff shouting early in the morning. It was so dark it was like being in a cave. The hotel advertised a balcony in the room - it turned out to be a set of balcony doors opening onto a railing overlooking the narrow dark alley at the front of the hotel - no view and you could not even stand on it, never mind sit there, only lean out - it may as well have been a window. Breakfast is not very good - reasonable choice of items but the juice is sugary and synthetic, the coffee is either instant or if it is 'real' it is too weak, the bread is not the freshest and the cereals are cheap rubbish (warm pastries were good though). We stayed in three Italian hotels on our holiday and were here for 4 nights; this was to be our 'nice' hotel of the three and we were really disappointed having paid more for it per night than the others, for a "superior" room which really was very ordinary. You could certainly get more for your money in Sorrento.

Room Tip: I can only assume the luxury rooms are the ones which generate the good reviews, unless our room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed in this property for 5 days in may 2012 on B`B. This hotel was an excellent choice, clean
central and well located with great facilities right off the main square . Short walk to train and bus station approx 6 mins. Staff were friendly,helpfull and all seemed to enjoy their work.
Breakfast was good with choice quality and very good selection of juice,cereals, cold plate, fruit etc. Cleanliness of the property was very evident and rooms were of a high standard with all mod.cons. Reception and breakfast staff very helpfull at all times. Definately would recommend
for any type of stay.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limerickjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#14 of 100 in Sorrento
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing