We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel was fantastic, very clean boutique hotel with all the amenities required. It has the best location, very close to buses, train station, port, beaches etc... Excellent friendly staff who were very professional and always very helpful.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have just left the hotel palazzo guardati having spent 5 nights for a family wedding. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much bother. We used the roof terrace each day and the bar man was so helpful from recommending a fantastic place to eat to keeping us supplied with fresh towels. Breakfast was certainly not full English but what would one expect, the waiter at breakfast greeted us with a warm welcome very morning and within one day remembered that I would have 2 pots of tea. The standards of cleanliness were very high and every where just shone. The reception staff could not do enough for us. We could not have had a better location, so close to the centre of sorrento. All in all a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear guest
We are glad that you have enjoyed and appreciated our hotel.
Our main goal is the satisfaction of our guests.
We will be happy to have you again as our guests in the future.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Fabulous hotel, exactly what we were looking for. Felt like we were in Italy and not a hotel chain that could have been any where in the world. Decorated with Italian charm with an element of days gone by, suited the building which is hundreds of years old. We had a standard room which was adequate - reasonably priced mini bar, air con, decent bath and shower, didnt have balcony in our room, but weren't in the room other than for sleeping and dressing. Lovely roof terrace with small pool, no good if you want a swim , but perfect for a dip to cool off - great view from pool and terrace ( highlight was the roof terrace bar and barman Antonio, he was superb knew his stuff and was very intentive, make friends with him and it will improve your holiday - great restaurant tips and not because he gets a kick back my recommending them. Breakfast was continental / Italian style, but did have scrambled eggs, bacon and hotdog style sausage. If you have a good look around there is plenty to make a tasty breakfast, toast machine, jams, pastries, cakes, juice , cereal etc... The highlight was the old guy who waits on you - he is a legend and at first you think he is grumpy, but he isnt he just needs a bit of getting used to. Tip leave a few small coins on the table for him every now and then and you will be given the royal treatment - Coffee straight away and warm pastries just for you. Location, once you find the hotel it is perfect. To help there is a bar /restaurant in Palazzo Tasso called Syrenuse and the hotel is down the narrow lane next to the bar, about 40 metres, and therefore is perfect. The cost for this hotel when you consider the location is the best price in Sorrento in my view. Enjoy

Room Tip: Told worth having balcony, but not sure the extra cost justifies this - plenty of views from terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerBurryPort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is located in the middle of Sorrento city which is quite convenient. However, the downside is that you will have some noise until about 11pm which wasn't a problem for me but might be if you prefer to go to bed early.
It's rooms are big and decorated with traditional furniture.
The top invites sun lovers to sunbath and it even holds a little pool to cool down.
The staff is very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Acqua_Azzurro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear guest
thank you very much for your review.
We are really happy that you have enjoyed and appreciated our hotel.
Our main goal is the satisfaction of our guests.
We will be happy to have you again as our guests in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from our first trip to Sorrento, staying at Hotel Palazzo Guardati. We booked it blind, on the back of Trip Advisor reviews and we were pleasantly surprised.

It's never great to start on a negative, but the hotel is pretty hard to find. It's off the main Tasso square, down one of the many narrow passages. If you're standing facing the row of flag posts at the square, it's about half way down the nearest street to your left.

Once inside, the reception check-in staff were friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't quite ready yet (check in as advised from 2pm, we arrived just before 1pm) but the chap suggested we leave our luggage and have a drink on the roof terrace, which we did.

Antonio, who looks after the bar and the terrace, was exceptionally helpful. Throughout the whole week, he was on hand with loads of local knowledge, restaurant recommendations and friendly (yet unobtrusive) chat. He absolutely helped to make our holiday, and kept us filled up with endless bowls of savoury snacks! He even went out his way to find the best way to get to the venue we were attending a wedding at.

The roof terrace / solarium itself is small, but perfectly formed. There's about a dozen loungers and maybe 10 sets of tables and chairs. We managed to get a lounger every day, but I reckon it gets busy come July/August. Antonio provides towels for your lounger, should you need them. The plunge pool is just that. It's small, so no room for swimming in it, but it's perfect for cooling off in the midday sun. We didn't eat on the roof, but the snack menu looked good and with reasonable prices.

Our room (108) was on the 1st floor and facing onto the street where the hotel entrance is. I was a bit worried about noise from neighbouring eateries, but the windows and heavy curtains were good at keeping the surrounding restaurant noise out. We didn't have trouble sleeping at all. We opted for a non-balcony room since it was cheaper, so we had no view at all, we faced onto another building, but that didn't bother us. The room itself was large, with a king size bed and was completely spotless. In fact, the whole hotel was spotless. The mattress was maybe on the firm size for some, but suited me perfectly. The bathroom was a good size, with a powerful shower.

We had breakfast 5 days out of the 7. It's typically continental - breakfast pastries, cheese, meat, rolls, quiche, sausages and eggs. There was also a choice of fruit, cereal, yoghurts and fruit juice. They sometimes ran out if you didn't get there until nearer 10am, but in general, it was OK to set you up for the day. The elderly singing breakfast waiter is always there with a cappuccino and some banter. There's no other restaurant in the hotel, and the roof bar is only open 12pm - 9pm, so evening socialising has to be out in the numerous venues close by.

In terms of location - you absolutely can't fault it. Only a 30 second walk to the main square, yet the quietness of the roof terrace is a welcome respite. There is wireless available at a charge (I paid 5 euro for 60 minutes, which can be used in segments). There was a safe in our room which was free of charge if you ask for the key at reception and our room also had a refrigerator/minibar.

All in all, if I was returning to Sorrento, I'd stay at the hotel again. Great location, great staff and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sungirl567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear guest
We are really happy for your review. Our staff are very glad that you have enjoyed and appreciated our hotel.
Our main goal is the satisfaction of our guests.
We hope to have you again as our guests in the future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hotel was well located. The room was small, but clean and the bathroom was great - certainly accommodated 2 women with no trouble. Had a small balcony with chairs overlooking the sidestreet on which the entrance is located. The staff was very friendly and helpful and it was easy to get to almost anywhere, situated right off Piazza Tasso. Only issue we had was the the breakfast, included with room, was disappointing.The room was in lower level, windowless room and the food was not very appetizing. We didn't have any other meals at the hotel but there are many restaurants almost adjacent so it was not a problem. Otherwise, we were very statisfied with our stay. We had 5 nights in Sorrento but probably could have done with 4.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as there are restaurants all around that stay open late
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamasanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guest
thank you very much for you lovely review.
We are very lucky for the position of our 4 star hotel, in the centre of Sorrento.
A great thank you from the staff. We wait you as our guest again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in late May 2013. We have nothing but good things to say about it. All the staff were very helpful. Front desk very efficient and helped with booking excursions and shuttle services. Antonio, who runs the roof desk bar/pool area, was friendly and meticulous. The breakfast was great - included more than just pastries (they had scrambled eggs, cheeses, meats, quiche). All very good and well -run. The location couldn't be better. Right near Tasso Square, so a great place to be in Sorrento and the area. The room was very comfortable. The bathrooms were good sized. We had a small balcony facing the alley in front of the hotel. Although the area can get noisy, when you shut the doors and windows, the room was surprisingly quiet. Drapes were excellent at keeping out light - so much you had no idea that it was morning when the sun came up. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You have to keep the doors shut in order for the A/C to work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazytravelerTacoma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear guest
thank you very much for your great review and for us is really appreciated and make us really happy and its a pleasure for us that you have enjoyed our service and staff.
We looking forward to have you again as our guests in the future and greeting from Sorrento.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,033 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £120 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing