We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous noise levels in this hotel-BEWARE!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel on Friday 7th June until Sunday 9th June 2014. We stayed in Room 106. Location and decor of room was excellent and we were initially pleased. However, the loud banging akin to noisy construction work and kitchen machinery was awful. We complained to the hotel receptionist -Marco who did his best to move us to a room that had no noise. Unfortunately as the hotel was almost fully booked this was not an option unless we were prepared to move each night we stayed from one room to another which is not an acceptable option whilst on holiday. I asked to speak to the Hotel Manager and she would not speak to me directly. Instead she relayed through Marco that we could just leave if we didn't like it!!! As Sorrento was really busy, this was not a realistic option. I said we should receive significant discount as we were paying €200 for each night on a B&B basis and the noise was the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel. After an hour of speaking via Marco she agreed to a 10% discount which was insulting. The Management of the hotel did not take our complaint seriously (Even though the receptionist did as he could also hear the noise too). The Management of the hotel did not empower their employees to deal with the problem at all. A very frustrating and disappointing experience from start to finish. The loud noises continued sporadically over the next 2 days and we did not get any rest at all. This is a MAJOR problem in this hotel and unless the senior management get it sorted out and learn the art of customer service and respect, they will never get repeat business and their noisy establishment will become legandary for all the wrong reasons. Beware of this hotel as it may appear beautiful, clean and well located BUT you will NOT have a restful stay and you will pay highly for this experience as it is an expensive hotel and you will suffer from sleep and rest deprivation!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stayon the first floor - NOISE LEVELS are HORRENDOUS in the morning and the evening! Not sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Truthteller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest
is your opinion and we respect it but we remind your stay. You have booked one room for one person even though you were in two. We have asked a supplement for this and after that started all the problems.
We propose so many option and you never accepted any of them :
1) to move you in a Double Deluxe with sea view and balcony at the same cost and you didn't accepted,
2) the other option was to move the day after in a triple superior on second floor at the same price and you didn't accept the offer.
3) the other offer was to leave you free the day after the hotel without pay any penality for the reservation made and you didn't accepted it.
4) the last offer was to leave the hotel the same night of your arrival without pay any penality.
But your request has been always the same: discount on the rate.
After that we gave you a discount exceptionally and you stop to complaint.
I didn't speak with you because was very late but we wait you the day after for to meet you and you didn't came at the reception.

Many guests have been in this room without complaint regarding the noise and we receive so many nice review. Anyway we remain at your full disposal for your next visit in Sorrento. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great hotel to stay in. Location perfect, very central. You can walk everywhere. Lovely bars and restaurants outside the door. Roof top terrace was lovely, great views . Small little plunge pool, lovely for a dip, but you would be better off spending your time diving into a wine glass!!. WoUld definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieKelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Mrs Rosie
thank you so much for such a nice review, we are satisfied that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward for your next visit to Sorrento.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A brilliant hotel, we stayed here for 5 nights at the end of may. The roof terrace is fab and the guy who runs it up there so so helpful. A lovely hotel, very clean. A fantastic choice of breakfast from eggs to cakes. We couldnt want for any more. Our room overlooked the entrance and was quiet and had a beautiful view of the sea in the distance. Would highly recommend this hotel due to all the above and its location but most of all the right mix of authentic italian and modern.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hypatia20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest
we thank you so much for your lovely review, we are delighted to hear that you ve enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you once again to Hotel Palazzo Guardati.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Loved our week at this hotel. Super location just off the main square close to shops, bars and restaurants. Nice walks down to the fishermen's marina and the port. Other options back up were available! Loved the rooftop terrace and small pool where we were well looked after by Antonio. Hotel kept spotlessly clean, nice bedroom with air-con. Every member of staff was delightful and went out of their way to make us most welcome. Also 5 mins walk to the bus and train stations where we took the train to Ercolano and Pompeii.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mr James

Thank you for this great review.We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant experience at Hotel Palazzo Guardati.
We look forward of your next visit
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We didn't originally book this hotel but got moved from our overbooked hotel, however couldn't have been more pleased.
The rooms are large and well decorated. There is a rooftop terrace with a small pool which was great to cool off in at the end of a days site seeing with views of the bay.
Great service from the terrace bar and the breakfast room, and just friendly overall
Very central location, just down a narrow alleyway off the plaza Tasso with a couple of good restaurants either side of it.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ver0nica1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mrs Veronica
We are very pleased that you ve enjoyed your stay to Hotel Palazzo Guardati,
We hope to welcome you back for another great stay, contact us directly to see our best deal.
All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just back from this beautiful elegant hotel.It has the most wonderful helpful staff always there to help you.it is in an excellent location off the square so very close to all your shopping,buses,taxis,and the port to Capri .taxis are expensive if you are staying futher out.So i say a big thank you to Marco,Magda,Alfonso & staff for a memorable time,we will all be back next year.Ciao.Jackie Elliott.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank WeddingMay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Mrs Jackie,
Thank you for your wonderful five star review and for staying with us at Hotel Palazzo Guardati.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we will look forward to welcome you once again to our hotel, please contact us directly by email so we will give you our best deal and wifi free.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay here as our room was comfortable, we had a splendid view over rooftops to the sea, and everyone was very helpful. The furniture was beautiful painted wood. You can't actually drive down the street as it is a narrow alleyway. We went in May and the weather wasn't warm enough to swim, but the rooftop pool is actually very small, OK for a cooling dip but hardly for doing lengths. Lovely roof terrace though for sunbathing or relaxing. Warning to others though, the hotel claims to have parking but like many in Italian towns it actually means there is public parking available at a cost of 25 Euros/day. Also the WiFi is rather expensive: I really feel that at these prices hotels should provide WiFi included in the price.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a (partial) sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much for your review, your opinion is very important for us to improuve our effort to give a better service to all our dear guest.
Regarding the parking we have a sister Hotel Zi Teresa where is just far 10 minutes walk and the cost of parking is only 15.00 euros, as they have a limited space you need to book by email to us, also we would like to put on your attention that if you will book directly from our website the wifi is free.
Looking forward to welcome you one again to Hotel Palazzo Guardati.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#16 of 100 in Sorrento
1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £101 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing