We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #52 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in the Palazzo Guardati in June for a week. The hotel is just off the Piazza Tasso, down a little side street, with a couple of outdoor restaurants beside it. It's ideally placed for exploring Sorrento. The hotel itself is an elegant oasis of cool tranquility in a busy tourist area. The rooftop terrace with it's pool and spectacular view is even nicer than the photos suggest. We had a noise issue with our first room (iadjacent to the lift) this was dealt with immediately without question. Our new room overlooked the street/restaurants but once the French doors were closed, you couldn't hear any noise from outside. Great breakfast, lots to choose from. The staff were wonderful, the hotel is immaculate and we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ensure that your room is not adjacent to the lift.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MaryRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mrs mary
we are thrilled of your review and we thank you very much ! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to meet you in future once again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (478)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Palazzo Guardati
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from an eight-night stay at the Palazzo Guardati - our third visit - and once again we were impressed.
The location is fantastic and convenient for trains, buses, ferries and nightlife.
The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the staff helpful and friendly. The breakfast is adequate with something for everyone and the plunge pool and new lounge bar are a welcome addition. Those wanting a large pool and to swim need to look elsewhere.
The two downsides are the lack of free Wi-fi, an issue that needs to be addressed and rooms at the front can be noisy due to adjacent restaurants, although we found with the windows closed and the curtains drawn it wasn't too much of a problem; some though might find it invasive.
All in all an enjoyable stay and if we go back to Sorrento we will again stay at the Palazzo Guardate.

Room Tip: If you insist on peace and quiet book a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mjkflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much to take time to write such a wonderful review, we are satisfied that you've enjoyed your stay to Hotel Palazzo Guardati.
We really look forward to welcome once again here in Sorrento.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The staff are kind and helpful, we were given an upgrade to include free wifi for our entire stay as we booked directly through the hotel rather then through a third party which I would recommend as they matched the great rates we found. The location is amazing, within short walking distance of the train station and sita bus as well as the port. Most importantly though it is right on the historical square the most beautiful and lively part of sorrento with shops and restaurants at your door step. The rooms were a great size, very clean and tidy as were the bathrooms. The rooftop pool and terrace were an added bonus we loved as the beach in sorrento isn't very large and it gets very hot in the summer months. So impressed with our stay and would rebook again in a heartbeat. Thank you!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Bree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest
thank you so much to take time to write such a nice review, we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay to Hotel Palazzo Guardati.
Thanks again from all our staff that they will be glad to welcome you again in Sorrento, we will wait soon your email to book directly with us.
Your Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

On arriving in sorrento found hotel down quaint sidestreet nice reception from staff lovely room view from top of hotel is exceptional really enjoyed our stay always looked forward to breakfast had the pleasure to meet vittorio and rosa hired a car and had great advice about the area from marko at reception italy great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Conway1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear Guest
we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay to Hotel Palazzo Guardati, thank you again for your sweet words to all our staff, this means that all our efforts to satisfy all our dear guests is our main goal that we have reached.
We look really forward to welcome once again in Sorrento and we hope is very soon.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Booked this hotel as reviews were good. Checked with hotel that room was one of the best they had as it was our anniversary. They assured me just a day before we came that everything would be wonderful with beautiful room. We arrived and went to our room only to find the smallest room ever only just enough room for a bed. There was a bottle of brut with compliments but no explanation. I felt badly let down and upset as it was meant to be a lovely start to our holiday and anniversary. My husband went to see the night manager. He was very embarrassed and said their had been a mistake our room had been given away and they were full. It was late so we went to our very expensive tiny room and decided to discuss it with the manager in the morning. The bed was hard,pillows hard!! The next morning spoke to Alfonso very apologetic said many things happened and compared it to a flight disaster!!! He said he would only charge us for the room we stayed in!! He didn't, give us anything off for the upset and even charged us the room tax. We paid we did not drink the brut as we felt that this hotel had no standards and did not want any part of their attempt to think that all that was needed to right this situation was a bottle of plonk. We asked why they didn't contact us so we could arrange a stay somewhere else as they had sent many text assuring us that our room would be of the highest standard. Alfonso did not really answer this though he did hope we would come again!!! This was a situation handled badly with no thought for the customer. With no effort to give recompense for what truly was a bad situation. From my experience of this hotel you cannot trust them to keep their word!!! So be careful when you book a room it may not be what you are expecting!! Even when they assure you that everything will be perfect for your stay. He stated that his hotel had a good rating on trip adviser therefore they must be a good hotel. I'm afraid on this occasion they were truly bad!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mrs Janet
thanks to take a time to write a review your opinion is very important for us we are very sorry for what is happened at your reservation, unfortunately all happened in one time, as one of our deluxe room had a very serious problem that has been sorted the day after.
So the arrival of that day we moved to the room left and we are very sorry to don’t satisfy what we were promised for your stay.
The important thing is that we didn’t make all these on purpose but all happened in one time and we were unable to advise you in time.
Regarding the rates we gave you a discount, even this is not an excuse or enough and was the same rate of a double superior of euro 200.00.
Please give us another chance to take care of you, contact by mail and we will make an anchievement for your next stay with us.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The entrance to their gorgeous, richly appointed lobby with its old-world charm is found halfway down a picturesque, narrow side street off Sorrento's main square, Piazza Tasso. It doesn't get much more romantic than this! The staff of Hotel Palazzo Guardati is first class all the way. Magda and Marco who greeted us upon our arrival were extremely cordial and accommodating. Our large room had a great layout, wonderful furnishings and a gorgeous tiled bathroom with a huge glass shower. It just kept getting better. Our room also had a wonderful, large balcony with views stretching from the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius to Piazza Tasso. A few steps down our luxurious hallway brought us to a half-flight of stairs up to a phenomenal, serene rooftop deck complete with unbelievable views, small private pool and a bar. A wonderful breakfast in a beautiful room was hosted by a most gracious and likeable gentleman named Vittorio. The worst part of our stay is that we had to eventually leave. But we will be back! Our thanks to everyone at Palazzo Guardati.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mr Steve

Thank you very much for this great review, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and had a pleasant experience at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, thanks also from all our staff for your nice words !
We look forward to welcome you once again for your next visit
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was very clean and of a high standard.
The pool was to small, I felt like a goldfish in a bowl.
The hotel is very old in style, but still manages to have excellent new appliances.
We had a room for 4 people and the roller bed was of a good quality, which they normally aren't.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snoggie1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmanuelaSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Palazzo Guardati, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest
thank you to take time to write a review to Hotel Palazzo Guardati, your opinion is very important for us to improve all our efforts.
Regarding our plunge pool is just the good measures to relax after a day of excursion, it is not small and not big.
We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay anyway and we look forward to welcome you in Sorrento.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Regina Sorrento
Hotel Regina Sorrento
#30 of 100 in Sorrento
694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#17 of 100 in Sorrento
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £103 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing