We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Palazzo Guardati has a perfect, quiet location in Sorrento. It is very close to the main square and the stairs down to the port.

Rooms were spacious and clean. Nice work desk with plug-in internet (extra cost, very fast). Breakfast was above average. Reception staff were professional and helpful.

We would definitely stay here again if we return to Sorrento.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    131
    32
    13
    13
See reviews for
96
250
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Stayed for 3 nights in July in Deluxe room. Room size and cleanliness was fine, small balcony with limited view, area was quiet. Hotel is hard to find in a little alley off of the main square, about 500mm from train station. Front desk service was good as was breakfast server but the breakfast was not good - canned fruit cocktail, cold quiche, weiners and burnt or grey looking scrambled eggs. Stuck to yogurt and a croissant, coffe was good. From the beach you can see all the other hotels that are right on the water and have amazing views, when I check prices after we got back they were not that much more than Guardati. Sorrento is beautiful and we will return but will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoastKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

Just returned from our wedding anniversary trip and this was the best hotel we stayed in while on the Amalfi coast. Beautiful and elegant rooms full of charm, incredible views from the roof terrace - great for photos - and superb location. We came by sea to Sorrento and were told we needed to get a bus to Plazza Tasso (the central piazza where the hotel is) - not true, it was a 10 minute walk uphill, definitely worth it for the views. Make sure you follow the road for the first part and then take the first set of stairs going up.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

This hotel is very clean and the room we had (which was upgraded for reason below) was spacious.

Must warn you that if you book this hotel in advance of your travel dates, recheck the rates they are charging about a week of your departure. We booked directly with them and thought we were getting a good deal until we checked the rates about a week before departure only to find out that the room we reserved was now 85 euros a night instead of 130 euros per night. This was for the Classica 4 room. So instead of changing the price, they upgraded our room to the Deluxe with Seaview (from afar). So four nights ended up costing us $520 euros in the Deluxe room with balcony. At the rate of $1.60 Cdn. to each euro, we certainly paid our fair share for this room. You will see pics of the deluxe room and you will also see pics of what your view from your window would be if you book a classica room.

We have no other complaints concerning this hotel. It has a beautiful rooftop terrace with a bar that opens from 6-9pm each night. Nice lounge chairs if you want to take a break from touring and relax in the sun.

Breakfast was wonderful. Vittorio, the rooftop server and breakfast server is a very nice man who works hard for his money. Do make an effort to take care of this wonderful man at the end of your stay.

Location of the hotel is very good.

Piazza Tasso is a hip and happening spot!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rc_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

I was travelling with my 65 yr old mom and I did so much research before booking all my hotels. The Antiche Mura Hotel which is rated #2 or 3 recommended it to me. I am so happy they did being they were fully booked. I needed to be close to the center where everything would be convenient. The hotel is on a side street from the Tasso square so you are a few steps to everything, but you still have peace and quiet. The hotel has an amazing rooftop terrace which we unfortunately didn't get to make use of. The hotel does not have a pool, but for us this was not an issue as we were out all day anyway. They gave us a fabulous price (much lower than Antiche Mura) and it really is an excellent 4 star hotel. I'm sure it is only a matter of time before they make it to the top 10 in Sorrento.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2009

We stayed at Palazzo Guardati in Sorrento from April 7 to April 13, 2009 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. It iwas conveniently located at the center of sorrento within walking distance to all major attractions as well as to the harbor where you can catch a ferry to Capri and Naples. We found the hotel services excellent. The staff were friendly, helpful, and courteous. The breakfast service was very good and the atmosphere relaxing. We would definitely recommend it and we will certainly stay there during our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

The hotel itself was charming, with larger than average rooms and bathrooms. The staff were warm and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. I had left my camera in the taxi when we left for the airport in Naples. Pasquale, the Desk Manager, took the time to find the taxi driver and retrieve my camera which he then mailed to me. Vittorio, the Breakfast Room Manager, catered to our special requests for fried eggs and cappuccino each morning. Jenevar, another Desk Clerk, spent much of her time giving suggestions for sightseeing. I hope that we will be able to return to Sorrento, someday.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chauver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
Imperial Hotel Tramontano
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Tofani
Maison Tofani
#15 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
Palazzo Jannuzzi Relais
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Guardati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Guardati

Property: Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Address: Via Sant'Antonino 24 - 26, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#27 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Guardati 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Guardati, well-known 4 stars hotel, is located in the historical center of the vivacious Sorrento town, among the more suggestive places of Naples Gulf.Located not far from the sea and absorbed in the characteristic historical center,full of small shops and workshops of the typical Sorrento craftsmanship, it gives to its guests the possibility to live fully the magic Sorrento atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Guardati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Guardati Sorrento
Palazzo Guardati Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing