We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palazzo Saltovar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The whole apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Sorrento, Province of Naples, Campania

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dragonfly...
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at Palazzo Saltovar for one week in October. There were three of us: my husband, my adult son,and myself. The two bedroom, two bath apartment was perfect for 3 adults. We foolishly gave our son the quietest room with the great view overlooking the bay. It has an ensuite bathroom and can be closed off from the rest of the apartment. Our room could also be closed off, and the bathroom was on the bedroom side of the door, so complete privacy could be had for either bedroom. Both bedrooms are very good sized, with large closets and plenty of storage. They also both have balconies.

Palazzo Saltovar is on the main street going through Sorrento, which gets quite a lot of activity. Our bedroom was over the street, and we did get the noise from the bar and activity below, but the windows did a great job of blocking out the noise. The living room is also a good size, with room enough for the 3 of us to hang out and watch a good sized TV, if we wanted to (which we never did). The kitchen is small but was big enough for us to make espresso and have breakfast in the morning, and some pre dinner wine, cheese or whatever in the afternoon. There is also a small washer that holds much more than we thought it would, and a drying rack (but no dryer).

We loved staying here, and Antonella, the manager, was wonderful to deal with, both before we got there and afterward. She was responsive when we needed things, and very helpful in providing tips of places to go and where to eat.

If you are new to vacation rentals, or if you haven't rented in Italy before, there are things yo should know in general, which also apply here. Palazzo Saltovar is an old building located in the historic center of Sorrento. The great part is that it's easy to get around, lots of great restaurants, stores, bus, train all within easy walking distance, and the building and area is full of charm. The downside is that historic centers can be crowded and noisy, and that old buildings have things like leaks (which there are!). It's also on the fourth floor, and there is no elevator (but going up and down the stairs multiple times a day does a great job of burning off all that gelato you'll be eating). There are a lot of churches in Sorrento, and they ring the bells...especially on the quarter hour. That's all part of the charm, but you will hear them! It's a vacation rental, so while the kitchen was well stocked with dishes etc, you are not going to be able to prepare huge gourmet meals...but then there are so many great places to eat nearby you don't need to.

Overall, Palazzo Saltovar was a really good choice for us during our stay, and we would stay there again.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The comfort of the apartment
Liked least: The noise that comes with a downtown location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiggyDell...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Great location in heart of Sorrento. We enjoyed our stay here. The accommodation was good for two couples and the 82 stairs were good for our thigh muscles!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
francessh...
Godshill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Locality of apartment excellent to enjoy Sorrento”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Central location of this apartment enabled easy access to main shopping street, bars, restaurants and transport links....ensuite bathrooms to both bedrooms was a plus...A balcony leading from each bedroom situated on either side of the apartment means that we could eat breakfast in the sunshine and sunbathe in the afternoon sunshine. Lovely views of the sea over the Sorrento rooftops. Just don't take too much luggage, 6 flights of stairs provide a daily workout!. Security of apartment excellent, perfect accommodation for 2 couples or family with teenagers. Antonella helpful and kindly provided essential provisions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, security separate bathrooms
Liked least: 6 flights of stairs, noise from street
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal central apartment”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our apartment was very central and ideal for our trip. 10mins walk to the railway station for Pompeii etc.
Well equipped , clean and spacious. Nice balcony to have breakfast on and to relax.Great wifi!
Antonella, the owner, was very friendly and helpful, made our stay perfect.

Although it is up a few flights of stairs, not a problem at all, and meant we had a nice view and the street below not noisy. Definately recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and central location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catmad-La...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Palazzo Saltovar for a week in September this year, It is a lovely apartment, very clean and with everything you could need for a self catering holiday. It also had plentiful hot water in the shower, which hasn't always been the case in our experience. The balcony was lovely and ideal for breakfast or just a drink in the evening.

It is on one of the main streets in Sorrento, which is good for getting around and 10 mins from train/bus station. They close the streets during the evening and it can be quite noisy then, but the apartment has double glazing and air conditioning so this was easily overcome.

We had a lovely stay in this apartment and it was ideally situated for this our first trip to Sorrento.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall cleanliness of the apartment and it's facilities
Liked least: The beds were harder than we are used to
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M
Zaragoza, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excelent apartment”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The apartment is in excelent condition and located just in the center. Besides the owner was ver kind to us and help us in everything. We recomendable everybody to go to sorrento and to book this apartment.
The only thing it is that it would be necessary a microwave.

Travelling group: Con amigos
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dina07196...
Afula, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable and wonderful vacation.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful apartments in very center of Sorrento.
Very comfortable and clean flat with everything you need.
Nice hostess, always ready to help if needed.
Good for stay of two or three pairs or family with children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing