We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food”
Review of L'Antica Trattoria

L'Antica Trattoria
Ranked #11 of 280 Restaurants in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The food , setting and service was first class , one not to missed . Had the angel hair pasta in lemon wow. If you only go to one restaurant in Sorrento please go to this one and you will not be disappointed .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,385
    628
    218
    121
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Saw us coming”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We ate here on our first night in Sorrento. The food was very good to good, but when my husband asked for a wine recommendation, he was encouraged to select an unnecessarily expensive bottle. We don't mind spending for an amazing wine, but this was not.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abcMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in the world”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We've eaten at L'Antica Trattoria twice--once for dinner in June 2007, most recently for lunch in June 2014. We didn't even realize it was open for lunch on this latest trip and had decided to walk by it for sentimental reasons while wondering around Sorrento--our previous dinner there was one of the best we had ever had anywhere, and we just wanted to see it again. We were pleasantly surprised to see it was open for lunch and immediately abandoned our plans for the rest of the afternoon so we could spend it there.

Service was impeccable--a very attentive staff that works as a team so that you never want for anything. They speak good enough English that you don't need to know Italian (though having a bit of Italian does help). The atmosphere is so peaceful and romantic that it almost defies description. You can sit on the street (pedestrian only) under umbrellas, you can sit inside an old building (this is one of the oldest restaurants in Sorrento), or you can opt for our choice--sitting outside under the beautiful arbor that is covered with rich vines and flowers.

Wine list is very good and the staff is willing to offer suggestions if you need them. The menu has an interesting selection with a good bit of variety. The food we've had on both occasions was some of the best we've ever tasted anywhere in the 30+ countries we've visited. All in all, this restaurant offers the best dining experience we've ever had for our tastes.

One word of caution for the budget-minded: This restaurant is not cheap. If you have a nice dinner and a nice bottle of wine you could spend several hundred euros easily. In my opinion it is well worth the price if you are looking for a wonderful romantic dining experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Somerset
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

There was nothing to dislike. The food is amazing.We had the Symphony tasting menu. Delicious. The decor is upmarket so it was a joy to dress up. The service is good and Salvatore treats you like royalty. Please try this restaurant. You will not be disapppointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PandoraNorthSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food full stop!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were looking forward to our meal here. It had good reviews and was in the middle of the town. The service did not live up to our expectations at all. I read a couple of reviews which were bad but thought that they just caught it on a bad night. He food was very good but the service spoiled the evening - it was rushed, they missed a course and we asked five times for the bill! Sorry but not a good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Antica Trattoria also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to L'Antica Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing