We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff, Service, & Suite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Stayed 3 nights of our 18 day trip to Italy. This hotel staff was the most accommodating & friendly of all our hotels, as well as a good value. It s not in town, however has a van to take you into town & back to the hotel (15 minutes). The view is FABULOUS from the pool area as well as the rooms. Grounds are well kept & they offer a wonderful breakfast each morning.We hope to be back & stay even longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view-worth the extra charge!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junkette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Proprietario at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Guest,
we thank you for your precious contribution. We are happy to have realized the best experience you deserve, as you have been noted “your satisfaction is our best reward” ! We are waiting for you again as our Guest for your next holiday in Sorrento. Best Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Prestige Sorrento
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed at Hotel Prestige for 4 nights in June. I loved it and would love to go back there! Hotel is clean and looks great. Staff are really friendly. Pool and terrace area are great. Our room was a great size with nice ensuite with bath and shower and had its own patio area which was very nice. Mini bar in the room with regular prices and well stocked.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. The free shuttle into Sorrento is handy, runs about 3 times in the morning and 3 in the evening. But there is a local bus which we used. Don't get a taxi, it will cost upto 60euro as hotel is about 20mins from sorrento centre.
There isnt an onsite restaurant however the shuttle takes you to and from the one they use just down the road, which we loved, yummy fresh food and good wine and very friendly service. The hotel does however do bar snacks upto 9pm which you can have anywhere, your room or one of the terraces, poolside, and no room service charge. there is, lasagne, pasta, burgers, fries, sandwiches, fruit salads etc and a good drinks menu.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice and yummy, even champagne was put out every morning for guests (prob a brut or sparkling wine but still fab)
There is free WIFI at the hotel and a laptop to use in reception free of charge.
Would 110% go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tweetiebird35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Proprietario at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable contribution! Delighted to have created your ideal holiday in Sorrento. We thank you for the advise that you wrote in you comment review. This will be really helpful for next clients and for our management to improve our service, and also for your kindly words about our panoramic position...This is one of hallmarks of our Hotel.
We really hope to see you again, in the next few years like our guest. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We just returned from a two week trip in Italy. While we flew into Rome, we drove down to Sorrento for the first two nights. What a great way to start off the vacation. The hotel is difficult to to find as everyone else has written. We did receive instructions from the hotel to assist us with arriving. And that would have worked great, except that we wanted to eat dinner at the L'Antica Trattoria on the way. I did have a GPS and that helped with locating the restaurant (note: Sorrento closes the plaza at night, so you'll have to find parking outside the main city area) and then getting back on the road to find the hotel took a bit of work. But, it was late at night. Anyway, the hotel was great. We had 3 of us -- my wife and 16 year old son -- and the room was great. We didn't opt for the ocean view room as we had a full itinerary with Capri the next day and then Pompeii. While we did have a car, we made use of the hotel shuttle quite a bit. The hotel to Sorrento is about 20 minutes, so rather than paying for parking it made sense to use the shuttle. We loved Sorrento, the hotel and the sights. Wrt the hotel:

1) Breakfast was the best we had while in Italy -- we stayed at four hotels, and this was the best.
2) Very helpful hotel staff -- from the front desk to the great waitperson at breakfast, all were very nice, friendly and helpful. All spoke English, and didn't make you feel awkward that you didn't know the local language well. In fact, we found that to be the case with every place we visited in Italy.
3) Room was spacious, very clean and quiet. A sanctuary to come back to after the hectic go-go of seeing the sites.
4) Parking at the hotel was easy-squeezy. No issues, and they have an overflow lot just in case.
5) Hotel grounds were fabulous -- wonderful views.

Overall -- a bit remote, but a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CKB95020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Proprietario at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your precious contribution. We are happy that you have enjoyed your sojourn with us. We are waiting for you again at the Hotel Prestige. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The Hotel Prestige is a true 4-star hotel. We felt like we were staying in a luxury hotel, with great service and amenities. Yet strangely, we paid only $107/night. I still think Expedia must have messed that up somehow.

There are some inconveniences to staying at this hotel, particularly the location. If you have a car, it would be a bit of a crazy drive. We didn't, so we were completely reliant on the shuttle bus. It really wasn't that big of a deal. I didn't like how they required you to book your shuttle bus times in advance, especially since our reservations never seemed to get communicated to the driver. This was particularly a problem with arriving, since we got there earlier than we expected, so the driver wouldn't have stopped for us if we hadn't waved him down (the next bus wouldn't have come by for 2 hours, either). Basically, I think it would work better with the buses just running regularly, and more frequently. But there weren't a lot of people using the buses, so I realize that that sort of dedicated service is unlikely. Having said that, we just planned around the scheduled bus times, and it really wasn't a problem.

The view was spectacular. Unfortunately, we only saw it one morning. The reason is that the hotel is so high up on the hill, that if there are clouds in the sky, the hotel is in them, and all you see is a very, very thick fog. So unless it's a perfectly clear day (which is probably more likely in the summer than in early May when we were there), you can't see anything. It also makes it tricky to dress for the weather, because you don't know what it's like below the clouds. We were glad we didn't pay extra for a room with a view, since we wouldn't have been able to enjoy it anyway, and we still got a private terrace.

Our one real complaint was the quality of the breakfast: everything was pre-packaged. The pastries were really not that great, and the pastries were definitely the main focus of the breakfast. Also, we got cappuccinos the first morning, and they tasted like just hot milk. I don't know if they forgot the espresso, but it was pretty bad. We didn't bother getting them again. That's also because when we ordered them, the waiter asked for our room number, so we thought we were getting billed. Turns out when we checked out that coffees were included. I wish that had been communicated, because I like a morning espresso.

Anyway, the room was great, bright and colourful, and very spacious. It also had a bathtub, which is an unusual perk in Europe. The pool area looks great, but we never got a chance to use it, because we were always out during the day. One minor issue: the bathtub wasn't completely clean when we checked in, as there were black specks of something that we had to rinse out before using it.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Free Wi-fi.

We did not try the associated restaurant, mainly because the bus times were inconvenient for us. There are two nearby restaurants, though, and we would recommend either of them. The first one we went to was right across the street. It's a little pricey, and we were the only people there, which was really weird, but the food was excellent (especially the Insalata Caprese). That's the Ristorante Santa Croce al Picco. But the best place to go (it was closed our first night - Monday) was without question the Trattoria da Salvatore, just around the bend (in the downhill direction), about a 2-3 minute walk away. The prices are rock-bottom (4 euro pizzas, 5 euro pastas, 1 euro for a 1/4 litre of wine), and the quality is top-notch. We liked it so much we went back the next night. The bruschetta al pomodoro was amazing (and only 1.50 euros). I would definitely stay at this hotel again just for the convenience of walking to this restaurant.

I think that's about everything. We had a great and comfortable stay there, no question. It's a little out of the way, and the breakfast isn't spectacular, but if you can somehow get as good of a deal as we did, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cfrydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Direttore generale at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear Guest ,
we really thank you for your detailed review and sharing your memory with us so to improve our weak points and try to get better and better the stay of our guest. We have already improved our breakfast, as you can read from the last reviews but we always try to improve. Hoping to have you again as our Guest for your next holiday in Sorrento.

Best Greetings

Altea Giovanni
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Charming hotel & staff w/free wifi, refrig & shuttle bus to town. The hotel is a bit difficult to find even with GPS as it sits up on a hill and looks down into town. It is quiet and has a nice patio. With the shuttle, it is about 1/2 hour away from town. You can schedule the time you want to go into town and a time to return based on their schedule. Best and biggest buffet breakfast of our trip included.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foodandwine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We had a difficult time finding the hotel as the street numbers were not consecutive, something that appears to be common in Italy. Angela, (front desk) an amazingly warm, helpful and patient woman helped guide us to the hotel. Angela and all the hotel staff were warm, friendly and gave us helpful tips for restaurants, driving and sightseeing the area. They really went out of their way to make our stay fun and enjoyable.
Our room had a semi private terrace and wonderful views over Sorrento/Naples Bay, Vesuvius, and the Amalfi coast. The rooms were very clean and roomy and extra pillows were provided on request (I need three or more for back and hip issues) The hotel does not have a restaurant for dinner, but has an arrangement with a nearby restaurant that is excellent. Even though we had a car, the hotel recommended we take the hotel shuttle to the restaurant which made the evening very relaxing(drinking wine with dinner and driving your own car is not a great idea on the curvy roads). I don't recall the name of the restaurant but their gnocchi with Gorgonzola cream was to die for. The hotel did provide a terrific daily breakfast with fresh pastries, ham, cheeses and eggs, and delicious cappuccino. I would recommend having a car as this hotel is up on the hill a good distance from downtown Sorrento. The hotel shuttles are available but don't always match your schedule which then required us taking public buses, which dropped us in front of the hotel.
We met other hotel guests from Canada that were delightful and had dinner with them twice. I loved our four nights at the Hotel Prestige and would recommend it to anyone looking for a charming sanctuary after a busy day of sightseeing!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StdPoodleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Proprietario at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Guest,
we thank you for your precious contribution. We are happy to have realized the best experience you deserve, as you have been noted “your satisfaction is our best reward” ! We are waiting for you and your family again as our Guest for your next holiday in Sorrento. Best Greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We were greeted by Angela who was fun, warm, friendly and gave us helpful tips for sightseeing the area. We had a superior room which I would recommend for the semi private terrace and wonderful views over Sorrento/Naples Bay and Vesuvius in one direction and the Amalfi coast in the other. The rooms were spotless and quite roomy and the breakfast was on a par with most continental offerings. They do not have a full service restaurant but can steer you to some good local ones.
The location for us was perfect as we had a rental car (with free parking) and much prefer a beautiful location like this to a city centre hotel, but this may not be for everyone. The hotel offers a shuttle service which we used once to go into Sorrento (about a 20 minute trip), but is not on demand. It is more a trip in the morning and one back at night. However,we were driven to a local restaurant and then picked up the first night.
We wished we had planned to stay longer than the 3 days that we had to enjoy this great location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sylando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Proprietario at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Guest,
we really thank you to reviewed us on the best portal of travelers and sharing your memory.. you made the best gratification for us! Thank you for appreciate our service and our staff! It’s an appreciate Reward!
Hoping to have you as our Guest for your next holiday in Sorrento. Best Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,187 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,013 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Prestige Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prestige Sorrento

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 23, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £71 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prestige Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Prestige has a breathtaking view of both the Gulf of Naples and Salerno. Its 25 rooms are spacious, elegantly furnished and supremely comfortable. Situated just a few kilometres from the centre of Sorrento, the hotel is within easy reach of captivating beaches and important tourist attractions such as Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Prestige Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing