We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Prestige Sorrento
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel la Pace(Sant'Agnello)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agriturismo Galatea(Piano di Sorrento)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Due Golfi(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Pergoletta(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Oriana Relais(Sorrento)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirocco Suites(Sant'Agnello)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cristina(Sant'Agnello)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,399)
Filter reviews
1,399 results
Traveller rating
1,014
313
56
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,014
313
56
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busshuttle serviceromantic roomamalfi coastprivate terraceminute drivelovely hotelstunning viewsthe hotel offerslocal winehotel is situatedour honeymoonalways on timesmall hotelnice poolloved this hotelrooftop bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 1,399 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Location:

This hotel is situated at the top of a mountain about 25 minutes drive outside the town center when the bus takes the scenic route (however is about 15 minutes via the short-cut). There is a regular hotel shuttle bus in and out of Sorrento, however it would be wise to remember Sorrento closes up for 'siesta' so it is good to go in on an early bus and come back again late morning if it is a shopping trip. We were there for our son's wedding, and the staff were so helpful; they arranged separate additional transport to and from the venue.

Rooms:

Rooms themselves were pretty standard, a reasonable size and clean (maintained daily) and had a comfortable double bed. We opted for one of their 'romantica rooms' of which they have six. These rooms have an enclosed lockable area with table and chairs and also have private access to the terrace area which have the most stunning panoramic views I have ever seen. There were sunbeds and parasol allocated each room so you can come and go as you please.

NEGATIVE

Sunbeds had no mattresses - however, with the beds being outside our room we were able to improvise easily (unlike those by the pool!)

Staff

Without exception, the staff here were courteous, respectful and helpful at all times - they were always pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, nothing was ever too much trouble.

Sorrento

We were not that impressed with Sorrento, it was expensive and the restaurants ripped you off with excessive 'service charges' and the food was mediocre. Unfortunately, as we were there for the wedding much of our time was spent with family in Sorrento.

Hotel Restaurants

Breakfast was quite good with choice of bacon, scrambled egg and beans (not like ours - much nicer) and croissants, yogurts, fruit etc - and huge selection of cakes if you want cake for breakfast!! Hotel has a snack menu all day (wherever you are in the hotel they just bring you the order (food and/or drink) and the menu is very reasonable (as are their mini bar prices from your room). We used this facility a number of times, and the food was quite good.

There are two official restaurants the hotel has a relationship with and there is transport to and from them each evening (they are approx one or two minutes drive from hotel):

Il Rifugio

This was a beautiful restaurant where the staff were very attentive. The prices were very reasonable and the food and wine good (bottle of house wine was 8 euro and very nice. A two course meal with a bottle of wine was about 35 euro

The Panorama

This was aesthetically less impressive (kind of 'flint stoney' i thought with their stone walls I think they were trying to make a feature but seemed to run out of ideas half way through the plan. Staff were pleasant but not as attentive as in the Il Rifugio. The food was very good here (especially the seafood linguine which I would highly recommend - if you like seafood). They also have their own 'local' wine - not their house wine it is different. Their local wine is 3 euro a 70cl bottle and is very nice - so we didn't try any other wine!!


Eating in Sorrento

Comparatively, we stopped for lunch in Sorrento and ordered one pizza between us with a bottle of water and a beer and were charged 24 euro


'the shack'

Another option is the pizza place about one minute walk from the hotel - a lot of people used it and loved it. It is dingy looking outside and has tables and benches inside - but a nice view. We ate there once because lots of other people thought it was great (some even ate there regularly). The food was fine (the wine was not!). It was not my cup of tea - but a cheap option and the kitchen was very clean!

Capri island

We went there for the day (a group of the wedding party) and felt it was a rip off from start to finish. We bought tickets for the cable car which are 1.80 and they deliberately wrong changed us and when they seen us comparing tickets and we went back - without a word he threw the 10 euro note at us and walked off! The cable car was like one of those challenges of 'how many can you fit in ...now lets try an extra 10! We went for lunch and we chose carbonara (12 euro on the menu) which was essentially a pile of spaghetti with half a slice of bacon chopped through it in congealed sauce and a bottle of water. There was a service charge of 2 euro per person and an additional charge of 15% added on top of that - the meal ended up costing 40 euro! Be aware it is 2 euro per person to sit down almost everywhere in both Sorrento and Capri adds more besides!

Room Tip: There are 6 'Romantica rooms' which are well worth the extra, own enclosed area and exclusive access to the terrace with the most amazing panoramic views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyCoupleIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We often say we will return when we discover some special place, but in reality we seldom do. We made an exception this time and have to say it was lovely to return to Prestige. It is the staff who really make this small family run hotel so special. They are friendly, helpful and efficient and provide the visitor with all the help they need in organising visits to local sights, excursions and restaurant recommendations. The hotel is situated away from the hustle and bustle of the streets positioned high in the hills with spectacular views of Sorrento Town, the Bay of Naples and the Gulf of Salerno. A shuttle bus is provided to transport guests to and from the town offering 3 or 4 trips each way daily between 0730 and 2300. Some planing is necessary to suit the bus times to chosen activities. The facilities at the hotel are good. Superior rooms offer sea views, but the Standard rooms have small terraces at the rear and are possibly quieter as they are not adjacent to the busy road running past the front of the hotel. Care needs to be taken crossing this busy road to access the car park. Pedestrians have no rights of way in this region! All rooms are clean comfortable and air-conditioned with adequate en-suite bathroom/shower facilities. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant service for evening dinners, there is a good snack bar providing a choice of light meals to be eaten at the poolside or in rooms. Breakfast is included and offers a good choice of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cold meats/cheese, scrambled eggs/bacon/beans, bread/toast/croissant/cakes and preserves plus of course tea and coffee. There is a bar serving alcoholic drinks, but every room also has a minibar, and the prices are most reasonable. However tea/coffee making facilities are not provided in rooms and this is one failing that should be considered by the hotel. The hotel terrace has a small refreshing pool and sun beds (unpadded, as noted by other reviewers!). The pool area is bordered by attractive terrace gardens with quiet seating areas. Bring your own beach towels or face a surcharge of 1Euro per day for using hotel towels at the pool. 2 local restaurants Il Panorama and Il Rufugio offer excellent food at very reasonable prices and the hotel shuttle bus will transport guests. There is also a good Trattoria just 100m across the road from the hotel offering very good Pizza and Pasta cuisine at absurdly cheap prices (very popular with locals which is a recommendation in itself). Because of its out-of-town location, this may not be the right choice for everyone, but for an elderly retired couple it was just perfect. A review of other TA write-ups should provide a balanced opinion.

Room Tip: Preferred rooms are those on first and second floor with sea views, but the standard rooms facing the rear are possibly quieter with less traffic noise although this is not a major problem.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guests,

For us it was a great pleasure that you have chosen us for the second time.

Thank you for giving value to the daily work profuse by all of us every day.
This fills us with joy and motivates us more and more to do better.
About your note regarding the walkway, is a long time since we have made ​​a request to the authorities, but the bureaucratic procedures are always very slow, we hope that soon will be resolved to ensure greater security to our guests.
Thank you for your suggestions and we will take care to improve, where possible, your suggestions are definitely an incentive to do better.

We hope you have brought with you, to your beautiful land, a beautiful memory of the Sorrentine Peninsula, and the people who have welcomed at the Hotel Prestige.

Sincerely
Giovanni Altea
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent two separate nights at the Hotel Prestige, and each stay was remarkable for the excellent service we received. As we were going to Capri for two nights and returning to Sorrento, the hotel allowed us to leave our large bags and simply travel with our small carry-ons. Sooo much easier to do! The restaurants they recommended were excellent, and the pick up/delivery shuttle made it all seamless. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Direttore at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review and for sharing your experience with us and with future guests of the Hotel Prestige.
Thank you for you have enjoyed our hospitality and openness that is not only part of our job, but our way of being. We do everything possible so that each guest feel at ease and welcomed by all the staff at the Hotel.

We like to recommend what is less "touristy" and help our guests to make to live our land in a more concrete and real way.
Definitely we will be happy to have you still a guest in a future occasion.

Thank you so much

Giovanni Altea
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel was shaping up to get a super review before disaster struck, the one and only lift failed not long before we were due to leave, and unfortunately the otherwise excellent staff went into headless chicken mode, basically running round achieving nothing. What we wanted to hear was "an engineer has been called and is on his way", what we got was a professional looking notice in Italian and English saying the lift had failed, please contact staff for any help. The staff said it hadn't happened before but the style of the notice rather gave the lie to that. What is worse there is no internal staircase between the second and first floors so you have to leave the building and go down the external steps (the hotel is built into the hillside). Add to this the fact that the car park is across a rather busy road and the hotel entrance is down a flight of steps without a full length handrail and you realise that if you are mobility impaired, as my wife is, this is not the place for you.
With that out of the way, if you are fit and mobile this is a great place to stay, staff are incredibly helpful, the rooms are stylish, air-conditioned, with balconies and views. The pool area and gardens are delightful. We were offered an upgrade to a "Romance" room with 60% off the normal upgrade cost and this was a bargain as you get a private (-ish) balcony and better views. There is a "feel" about hotels that is nothing to do with facilities, just the ambience, the way it strikes you and this place has a great feel, you feel comfortable as soon as you enter the lobby, even with the lift events the place still felt good.
There is no "restaurant" as such but it's hard to tell from the length and variety of the snack bar menu. There is a breakfast room which serves an acceptable but slightly strange breakfast, far more pastries and sweets than I have seen anywhere outside of a patisserie. Instead of a choice of juices there was a large jug of unlabelled red stuff which, upon asking, turned out to be blood orange juice which tasted OK. Hot food was limited to 3 items, not particularly good, cold meats and cheeses a very limited selection. But if you want a sugar rush for breakfast this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Go for a Romance/Romantic room on the second floor, better views
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrestigeSorrento, Proprietario at Hotel Prestige Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guests ,
We thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are very disappointed that the problem caused by the temporary failed of the elevator make you feel so bad to punish us through this bad review, and forget all the good things that all staff have made for you : The “disaster” how you have called , it happened because a guest with her luggage has broken the photocell of the elevator . The chicken mode was a normal reaction to something that was an unusual for us . It happens that the elevator failed after a bad storm in the past, but with an easily refresh of the starter it worked again. The person on duty was trying to solve the problem before to call the technician, and the reason why he was going from the elevator to the engine room of the elevator continually it was only for try to repair, because he thought that was something that he can manage like before. We believe that nobody on this Hotel is so unprofessional or unable to manage situation that you compare to chicken mode . Especially we are not a liars , you can check on the others review that never the elevator have been nominated . The only problems that we got in the past , have been resolved in few minutes . SO WE ARE NOT Liars , this is quiet offensive form you . The board have been written in very professional way , because my staff is really professional and all of them have degree with higher score in languages. About the stairs , we wish also to clarify that external stairs are normal stairs not a fire stairs in metal how you want make look .In any place in the world is not mandatory to have stairs that connect floors. The only mandatory is to have the fire stairs. Now with your revenge you want make the stairs look a problem , but we things there is no problem with that. Are placed in our garden and are made with stone of the Vesuvius , elegant and nice . And what means ( the Hotel is built into the Hill side) , we don’t thing that this has influence with the stairs. Concerning the free parking , at the moment we don’t have permission for the under path , but we are working on it . The Hotel is located in a F8 zone (preserved area ) and this make all the license hard to have it. But on the same time, is way to preserve our environment and panorama. Concerning the breakfast , we believe that is variegate enough to satisfy all different countries , please don’t forget that we don’t welcoming only English that look only for the English breakfast . For all the nice words we like to thank you, but for all the rest "oh dear" we don’t agree

Best Regards
Giovanni Altea
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed in August 2013. Staff were excellent, great friendly professional customer service. The hotel was welcoming and easy to relax in. Great pool and many hours escaped just hanging out there and calling for food and drinks.
Rooms were ok - not wonderful. Air con in one was fine but the other was not great. We were out a lot do that was fine.
Breakfast was ok but not great. Coffee was sometimes good, other times really funny tasting.
I would stay again though if I wanted to be out of the main drag -great views and good shuttle service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews