We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Dinner Spot with Fantastic Wine Cellar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Tonino

Da Tonino
Ranked #2 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner Spot with Fantastic Wine Cellar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Da Tonino is tucked away in the hills of beautiful Capri. It is quite the trek up to the restaurant (15 minute walk from Capri center). Upon arrival you enter into a lovely dining room with a small outdoor seating area. The appetizers were absolutely spectacular. I would recommend the octopus and the fried zucchini. The tomatoes for our traditional mozzarella and tomato appetizer were a little bit too tough. I probably would not order again. The best part of the night was the wine. They have a wine list that is to die for! It gets even better when you see the wine cellar (note - make it a to do to ask for a tour!) Our main course pastas were delicious as well. One of the guests at our table had the beer risotto. I would stay clear from this fish as it tasted strictly like beer and lacked flavor. Overall we enjoyed a lovely dinner with fantastic wine and great flavors!

Helpful?
Thank Setduvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    157
    48
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Quality with fresh and local ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you decide to visit Arco Naturale, you should time your visit during lunch/dinner and plan it to stop in for a meal. About a 15-20 minute walk from Piazzetta/Piazza Umberto (the first 5 minutes of the walk are a steep uphill climb and then a scenic gradual walk making your way uphill). It is slightly higher priced but still reasonable and the food is very good quality and well made with fresh local products including house made fresh pasta dishes, and thus worth it. Because of its location, near Arco Naturale (only 5-8 minutes away), the atmosphere is wonderful and in a natural setting. The wine and choice is remarkable and service very warm and hospitable. Very nice choices on the menu and all Campania cuisine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia_Elamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond Incredible True Authentic Italian!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Where to even begin!
My boyfriend and I have talked about Da Tonino probably 50 times since we've left Italy!
It was the BEST lunch we have ever had! A true authentic italian meal. Watching the chef pick fresh vegetable out of the garden, getting taken down into the wine cellar, getting the most delicious meal, bread wine, it was beyond anything I could have expected!
My boyfriend and I were there for nearly 3 hours. We each got an entree, we split two bottle of wine. we got two desserts, and we still didn't want to leave!
The chef sent us over a freshly picked Amalfi lemon, and it was the best thing I have ever eaten. It was the size of a football, and you just slice it up and eat it raw, peel and everything, salt on top if you wish, and it truly tastes like candy! My boyfriend and I finished the entire thing off!
Boy were we stuffed when we left!
It's a bit of a walk from the city, but we've said we would come back to Capri JUST to have lunch here again!
We even got to shake the chefs hand upon finishing our meal!

Thank you to the staff and chef that made this such a memorable incredible italian experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JadanHuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“surprise tucked away in the hills of Capri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Extremely talented young chef and owner is doing a fantastic job.
The best stuffed fried fiori di zucchini we ever had.
Very good wine list and incredibly rich wine cellar which they are happy to let you visit.
One tends to eat much, therefore you will welcome the walk back to town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigekesmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Da Tonino is tucked away, outside the center of Capri town (it's a bit of an up-hill walk!) The locations in beautiful and quiet, with an indoor/outdoor feel. The food is very good, but not the best I had on the island. The wine selection is incredible! (Maybe a bit overwhelming for some.) Make sure you ask to see the wine cellar... there are over 15,000 bottles of wine in there from every region of Italy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Tonino also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Da Tonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing