We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service much better than Il Riccio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Fontelina

La Fontelina
Ranked #29 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service much better than Il Riccio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing view from the restaurant with fantastic service and a Vongole pasta much better than Il Riccio. Also the beach took great care of us with a front view setup - stunning.

This is la grande dame and the place to be over Il Riccio any day!

Helpful?
1 Thank jmittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    113
    37
    21
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Why this isn't in the world's top 10 Restaurant-Beach clubs, I don't know”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Combines superb gastronomy with a superb capri-beach in flawless beauty without excesive luxury. A true find, don't tell anyone, just go there. Mind you a nice entry-barrier is the stroll downhill and uphil from the centre of the old town. Excellent wine list

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hendrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible, horrible servicem”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We wnt there as a couple on our first day in Capri. Probably that's what everyone else did because if you go there once you must be an idiot to go back again. You pay 10 Euro per person to go there by boat, 25 Euro per person for a mattress to be put on a rock. We spent there two hours and already I had pains in my back and my belly. All this for what? To swim in a nice beach? Absolutely not. It is very windy with huge waves. I didn't see anyone swimming more than 1mn because with those waves on the rocks it's not fun nor safe. We said let's at least have lunch so that we can sit on a proper chair. You can barely get a positive response to your questions from the staff at this place, when you ask a question they tend to wisper or look away. Anyhow, that attitude, the lame sea (did I forget to say the sea was dirty), the awful seating arrangements and the huge fees for this torture! I recommend people to go there on their first day, go through this experience to understand the value they get from the other places afterwards.:)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
522 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“great food and nice spot for a swim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The place is not your average swimming spot. No beach and very casual. You can tan on the rock and jump into the water. The service is very good. with drinks and snack. The restaurant is amazing. for sure have the salted fish, the fried baby squid and the borata salad. lots to choose from in the desert section as well. Nice view and very crowded so make sure you book here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmiqdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cool beach club and nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

I'd heard a lot about La Fontelina and was eager to go. I booked "beach" chairs and made a reservation for lunch later for 4 people. We ended up meeting some friends and changed the reservation for 10. The setting's amazing and we really enjoyed our time there. Only complaint was that we asked to be seated closer to the sea and a member of the staff was very rude about it, saying all of the empty chairs were reserved for regulars who only got there about 3 hours later. Lunch was great, delicious food, but as you'd expect, expensive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kikinielander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fontelina also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to La Fontelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing