We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star hotel 2 star service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5 star hotel 2 star service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Marina and was very excited for the stay based upon my communications with the hotel and how helpful they had been. That is about where things ended...there was supposed to be a shuttle from the ferry to the hotel, but when I arrived, I waited for about 20 minutes for the shuttle, only to have him drive away before I reached the van. I sat down at a café and one of the waiters was friends with the driver, so called him to come back which took almost an hour. I finally arrived at the hotel to discover a beautiful oasis overlooking the sea with amazing gardens and a beautiful pool. I received a lovely tour and was seated in the rose pavilion for my "welcome" drink and snack because my room was not yet ready. I arrived on the property at 2:50pm, check in was at 3:00 and I was shown to my room a little after 4:00, which was fine because I was enjoying the beautiful grounds and relaxing.

In the evening, when I left for dinner, I was waiting for the shuttle to Capri only to be told, unceremoniously, that I would have to wait for another shuttle because they were taking other guests ahead of me. I also asked the gentleman at the front desk about the wifi which wasn't working and he did not believe me or do anything until another guest brought the same issue to his attention. Even though there is a daily shuttle schedule to and from the town, you are supposed to call the hotel in order to have them come get you...which gets pricey when you are making an international call.

Lastly, when I was checking out of the hotel, they tried to charge me for mini-bar purchases that I did not make and the woman was very rude about it. I also asked to check out one hour later and they told me under no circumstances could I check out late because they had another guest checking....even though I had to wait over an hour when I checked in.

Overall, this was a BEAUTIFUL hotel, very serene and lovely. The service was so poor and disappointing. Considering the reputation of the hotel and the price of the hotel, I would have expected 5 star service.

If and when I visit Capri again, I do not think I will be staying at the Hotel Villa Marina.

Room Tip: the rooms are small but lovely. make sure you reserve a sea view room or it really is not worth sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villamarinacapricom, Direttore at Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Prestigeous guest,

Very sad to understand that your wont coming back to Villa Marina Capri again ....I must say sorry for all the incidentals you had during your stay here with our staff ... it is strange that we had such a good reputation since now and then suddenly everybody is missing.

Being responsible for provinding the proper service for a five star hotel even if family runned and boutique Hotel we need seriously your help in this matter so will you please get in touch with me personally ...I will highly appreciate your support to understand better what is happening.

At your complete disposal with my truly best regards

Papa Claudia
gm@villamarinacapri.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    40
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
29
196
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Though they provide a good shuttle service to the center of the town, but still i fond the hotels on the other side of the island better posotioned with nicer view and many activities close to them ( the nice beaches, diving etc...)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabihrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villamarinacapricom, Direttore at Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your comment and for sharing your information with tripadvisor users...
Villa Marina Hotel & Spa is an indipendent family hotel ...and as you stated "out of the crowd"of groups coming up and down the Island invading the privacy and the intimate atmosphere that you can find only in this part of Capri.

Thanking you again for staying with us and waiting forward to see you again for relaxation Spa and enogastronomy events.

From all the Staff & Management

our very best regards !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our stay at this place was a bit of a rollercoaster of a ride. The place is beautiful and truly is a little oasis of peace. The pool and gardens are fantastic and the room was very comfortable.
However the service and staff attitude was inconsistent. Some staff were very helpful however other members of staff were condescending and borderline rude. I must recommend the Spa however as the people there were lovely and the treatments amazing. Food is very good but very overpriced vs. other restaurants on the island.
Overall for the price I would expect better service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0dernMagellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Surely a hotel to be recommended again again and again.
Fantastic service up to small details, excellent food and unrivalled staff.
Even during August Hype in Capri, HVM remains an oasis of peace and discreet luxury.
Will come back again.

Room Tip: Definitelly choose a sea view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio26170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villamarinacapricom, Direttore at Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa and very glad to welcoming you soon here in Capri.

September and october are even better for luxury relaxation and Spa treatments at Stai Spa Villa Marina Caprì ....so think about it and waiting forward to see you again soon ....

warm greetings also from all the staff :-)

Hotel Manager
Claudia Papa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at Villa Marina for a week in June.An excellent small hotel,only a few years old.The staff is very nice and friendly,everybody from the driver to the manager,Everything is clean and a lot of attention has been put on details.The rooms are very nice and some have their own big terrace.
The kichen and the spa are excellent.This is more like a home than a hotel.We will be back.
Aira and Ulf

Room Tip: Every room has it´s own name.Axel Munthe has a big private terrace.Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ulf r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I stayed here July 2013, and it was the best place I stayed in all of Italy.

The service was impeccable, the rooms were tidy and cleaned with an amazing view of the gulf of naples.

The service from the hotel maids, drivers, reception and management was fantastic, very friendly and approachable. Anything that we needed was taken care of by the hotel with no problem at all.

Cannot wait to stay here again next year!
Cheers, Sally

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msgolec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is new, the standard room is too small and the internal designer could have make it more functional, view is amazing and the public areas are green and welcoming. The hotel is located near the port, most of the restaurants and all the nice beaches are not walking distance but there is a free shuttle bus to the port and the city center. Breakfast was nice but could be more rich, minibar not so well provided. Swimming pool is cute but very small, same for the spa, the massage was great and also being alone in the spa was fun as they reserved it only for us. Cocktails were overpriced and not of good quality, the reception staff is trying to be very friendly but in a way that is not natural and staff is not present when needed for example near the pool..the driver and the spa girls were the nicest persons from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.5 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Maresca
Hotel Relais Maresca
#10 of 42 in Capri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa

Property: Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Address: Via Provinciale Marina Grande 191, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy (Formerly Villa Marina Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Capri
#10 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#15 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#17 Family Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa is glad to welcoming our special guests starting from April to October ... During your stay here at Villa Marina Capri, a 5 star hotel & Spa in Capri, you will definitely appreciate our impeccable service, our design rooms decorated with a touch of contemporary creativity, and the charming atmosphere of an early twentieth century home. Our hotel is tucked away in a private garden along the part of the coast that faces the Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples, only steps away from the Piazzetta which is the centre of Capri's day and night life. Don't miss to make reservation as soon as possible in order to get the most convenient accomodation for a comfortable and relaxing vacation on Capri island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing