We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Capri relax”
Review of Hotel La Reginella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Reginella
Ranked #3 of 48 Capri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

the hotel is very well located, not very noisy place which gives you opportunity to enjoy Capri relax. the staff is very friendly and always eager to help. the room was clean and very cozy, we enjoyed every day of our honey moon there, especially during breakfast with picturesque sea view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PacoL926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Reginella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel features lovely viewed over the Capri southern bay, with nice clean rooms, wholesome breakfast and friendly staff. Definitely worth a visit if you seek a more local experience as well as quietness away from the main town areas.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mungbean2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This lovely Caprese family villa is evocative of a civilised past - an artistic (musical) Italian gentleman's home in the first half of the 20th century. Our room and its terrace were both beautiful, with a stunning view looking out over the Marina Grande towards Naples and Vesuvius (both lost in a haze of pollution).

But, if your walking is in any way limited, don't stay here. Even in October it was a long hard slog uphill in the heat from the piazza at the top of the funiculare (going down was an entirely different matter).

What was not apparent from looking at google maps was that this whole area, and a lot of the rest of Capri, is entirely pedestrian. The locals clearly regard this as normal, and no doubt they have cardiac muscles to prove it. However, the proprietor assures us that there are porters in the square who will transport your bags at 5 euros a piece (leaving you to walk), whatever the size - thereby neatly cancelling out your careful Ryanair 10 kg packing.

On the other hand we have seen old crumblies like us being transported around the area in electric buggies ... next time! and this is a very civilised place and the owner is charming, though I doubt both claims on the website that "this is an easy walk from the piazza" and that it it is superb value. The management, still from the family, has recently changed.

The walk, if you are up to it, is lovely, and the location and views absolutely gorgeous. The hotel is attractive, and a short (!) walk from one of the spectacular natural wonders of Capri (the Arco Naturale).

NOT close to many restaurants, but Lo Sfizio up the lane on the right (uphill) from the Matrimarina junction, is a very good ristorante/pizzeria.

Mosquitoes? Oh yes, this is a hot Mediterranean island lush with vegetation ... This is what makes it so attractive. Anyone who travels without insect repellent will get what they deserve!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

On a walk to the "Arco Naturale" we (Capri day trippers) passed this pension and stopped here to enjoy a Cappuccino on the terrace. The view over the ocean and the surrounding mountains is just wonderful. It's quiet and relaxing because it is far away from the touristic trouble spots and surrounded by a lot of green - yet it is easy to reach from Capri center by just a few minutes walk (even with luggage). We would definetely choose this spot for a relaxing and affordable vacation on the island!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DWockel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We spent a week there and enjoyed our stay. The view from the patio is picture post card perfect. Michael and Angela are wonderful and make your stay special. It is about a 15 minute walk from the main square which allows you to walk off your dinner. We enjoyed being in the quieter area. It also allows easier exploring some of Capri's sights that are further from the square. Our room had a large patio area with an amazing view. I think it probably the best one on the property. You could just sit there all day and enjoy the view. It is near a grocery store and some less touristy restaurants. It is a hidden gem!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dallasboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Reginella is in a residential area, just a 15-minute walk from the center of Capri. It is not a bustling palace of chrome and glass, certainly nothing for the jet set, but a charming small hotel with fantastic views of the water and setting sun. On our floor each room had its own private garden with table and chairs. (and view). The hotel was once a villa belonging to a violinist, and his friends' paintings and sculptures hang in the 'lobby' and the rooms. The whole place has a 1930s feel to it. We felt very much at home here, and had lunch every day in the restaurant on the top floor, again with wonderful views and great conversation from Marco the waiter. The manager, Andrea, was also very helpful in planning further travel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hjmZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great views unfortunately the hotel is outdated. Upon my arrival I was attacked by mosquitoes. I would stay at a hotel closer to the center of town.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
3  Thank holland301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.2 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 40 in Capri
257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 40 in Capri
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 40 in Capri
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Reginella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Reginella

Address: Via Matermania 36, 80100 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Capri
Price Range: £65 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Reginella 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Reginella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing