We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the way little Italian hotels should be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Certosella
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Phuket
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the way little Italian hotels should be”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed herein June with my wife and friends. The rooms are clean and well appointed, fast free wifi, nice balconies with views and a good bathroom. The best thing is the fresh juice at breakfast, and the hotel is a short walk to the most wonderful shopping the the magical piazza.
Great value.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TrisaraManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your great opinion! We are glad to have Guests like you!

The orange juice is fresh every day, from fresh oranges and from fresh waiter!

Thank you, see you soon!

Best regards

Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    59
    14
    7
    0
See reviews for
29
68
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have enjoyed staying at this very friendly family style hotel over 20 years. The hotel is simple but very clean and the rooms are a good size. Breakfast is served on the beautiful terrace with Oranges and peaches picked from the garden......by the lovely Roberto.
I can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new block with stunning sea views and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Ms Kathy,

thank you for your opinion, we are glad to have you as our Guest every year!

Have an happy winter!

Kindest regards

Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in Capri in early May. The room was a good size and attractively decorated with a good view of the sea. The location was perfect being a short distance from the busy town but in a quiet location. Breakfast was simple but more than adequate. The weather was warm and the pool was a welcome means to cool down at the end of active days full of great walks and sightseeing. Our experience was so enhanced by the friendliness of the staff who couldn't have been more helpful in planning our days. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the higher floor for the best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Mr Graham,

thank you for your opinion. Capri is a beautiful island with a lot of long walks, and each Guest that comes back to his hotel, wants to be relaxed. And we try to give him all he needs to have a good relax: pool, garden, quiet rooms.
We are glad for your positive opinion about "La Certosella", and we hope to see you again, soon!

Best regards

Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Distance from centre- Need to walk 10-15 mnts
Breakfast- Below average
No swimming pool as advertised. Was not open when we visited in March beginning 2012
Room- Just average and too many steps to reach room
Plus points- Great view from balcony and good friendly staff

Room Tip: check whether there are nay rooms in first floor atleast you can avoid climbing the steps during the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuNav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Certosella, Responsabile reception at Hotel La Certosella, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your opinion.
We hope that when you come back to Capri, you will choose again our hotel, because now our breakfast is really better (also following your opinion). Next time you can book a room on the lowest floor, so you will have not to do steps!

Thank you for being our guest and for your opinion that helps us to improve.

Best regards

Reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Very disappointed after we stayed there in the low season of 2012 (for the first night we were the only ones there).

- Did not provide bowls to eat breakfast cereal with! we had to improvise with our tea cups.
- Breakfast is just prepacked food (including prepackaged croissants etc), only 1/4 of a cup of orange juice each
- Hot and cold shower
- Only one roll of toilet tissues


If you ask for them to do your laundry, they will do it but they do not have a clothes dryer,
they simply hang it out. Why can't I do that myself?


WARNING. They may try to charge you twice (check your credit bill). We FULLY PAID before arriving and was told that it did not go through and had to pay again on checkout.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyu187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights (too short!) in Capri. We had booked a special 3 night deal via the caprinet site which, including breakfast, was good value. The room was large,spotless and we had a beautiful view of the sea and the garden. Breakfast on the terrace (this was the first weekend of the season so the breakfast room didn't seem to be open - not sure if the terrace would be an option as the place gets busier) was lovely - just watch out for the seagulls who are fearless and swoop in to steal croissants and rolls if they think they have been abandonned. The location was perfect; 5 minutes from the centre. Would definitely like to go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Nice place, gorgeous garden, Although perfect bay view rooms were available for the same price, we were given one with a telegraph pole in front. Advice: Ask for highest floor rooms.
the owners daughter has opera ambitions: She likes to spend every morning with her cordless phone an hour in the garden, in front of the rooms balconies, making orders for supplies and chatting with friends, all she could do from her office, especially since she is not dressed up to match her voice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jointadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Vega
Hotel La Vega
#30 of 41 in Capri
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Esperia
Albergo Esperia
#36 of 41 in Capri
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mamela
Hotel Mamela
#27 of 41 in Capri
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Sarah
Hotel Villa Sarah
#31 of 41 in Capri
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Scalinatella
La Scalinatella
#25 of 41 in Capri
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#16 of 41 in Capri
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Certosella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Certosella

Property: Hotel La Certosella
Address: Via Tragara N 13, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Certosella 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Certosella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing