We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Stella Maris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stella Maris
Ranked #7 of 46 Capri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for couple of days in summer peak season and considering how costly hotels are on Capri, we were quite happy to have got this hotel at a good price. Hotel is right in front of Capri bus stop so it gets quite noisy as the street is quite busy even until late night. But the owners were very good people, quite helpful. The room itself was of decent size. Our room had the balcony, but it opened right in front of the bus station and the sea view was partially blocked by the bus station which anyways was not a priority for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhush_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    80
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
39
76
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I wanted to stay in this hotel over the weekend, so I called them one month, before my trip to Italy to reserve. An older lady answer the phone, she said she was the owner and that my reservation was booked, I asked her if she needed a credit card and she said no, its ok its booked.
I was in Sorrento when I called one day before to confirm everything.
What was my surprise when the same lady told me his son hadn't look at the reservation and had no room for us.
I was traveling with my girlfriend and this totally ruined our plans for the weekend in Capri.
Just like that they cancel my reservation! So watch out!! This hotel is not serious, it happened to me it can certainly happen to you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Ok, so I picked this hotel for an overnight stay in Capri because it is affordable, which is hard to find in Capri. Also the location is good. So on those two points it was as expected. No surprises there. What was surprising was the, ahem, shall we say, "supervision" of the property. Basically this place is run by a family who lives there. So it's kinda like staying with your elderly out of town relatives. Allow me to elaborate. The property is run by an elderly couple and their adult son, who stays up all night on desk duty. On the particular evening I spent in Capri I was lucky enough to meet a very hot guy. His group was attached to a rented yacht, which had left for the evening. So we headed back to the Stella Maris. The adult son was waiting at the entrance and promptly informed me that it was "not possible" for my new friend to go to my room with me. You can imagine how awkward that was! At first, I was furious. I insisted that I was an adult and this was ridiculous. To no avail, alas. Finally, my new friend and I resorted to begging and he relented once the guy handed over his passport. So while I understand that security is important at a hotel, I also think that it could have been handled differently - without two grown adults resorting to begging to get a little time alone in a hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ha397278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Simple B&B in the center of Capri. Rooms view to the sea and to the busy bus and taxi station. The staff was very kind, the breakfast was sweet criossant, coffee and juice. Our room had a private bathroom outside on the opposite side of the corridor. It wasn't a problem. Capri is really expensive. Be careful, if you sit down in a patisserie, the price is at least double than take away!! Rent a scooter, and you can see more at lower cost than by taxi! We offer you this place, it's worth the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

First of all, Capri is expensive. We found this pensione by walking around because the tourist office was closed for lunch(!) It is a "cheap" option for Capri and it was a very convenient find. Rooms are simple but ok. My children had a room with a bathroom. My room had a bathroom outside but it was exclusively mine (it was locked and I had the key). It is very well located, near the piazzeta and a bus stop that takes you to Anacapri. And what the hell? If you are in Capri you want to be outside the whole time, not locked up in a hotel! I definitely recommend it to traveller´s on a (tight) budget.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank monicaaguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Hotel is conveniently located to “Piazzetta” which is the focal point of the island. From here you can get to Anacapri and to Marinas (Piccola & Grande).
The owner and his wife are very nice and helpful despite their not very good English. They gave us very good tips on how to get around the place and catch our ferry back to Naples. Breakfast was reasonable, with good coffee. The nice thing was to have a small fridge in our room, where we could keep some very good pastry we bought at local bakeries, and hot cap of tea was served from hotel’s kitchen in the evenings. Considering everything is so expansive in this “Amassing place”, it was big advantage for our budget. The disadvantage might be nosy taxi drivers at night (hotel's windows are close to bus and taxi stopping station), but with closed shatters it is not so bad and quite bearable.
We definitely want to come back some time in future and if possible will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: From here you can get to Anacapri and to the beaches at Marinas (Piccola & Grande).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorisKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gatto Bianco
Hotel Gatto Bianco
#16 of 41 in Capri
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#22 of 41 in Capri
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 41 in Capri
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#7 of 41 in Capri
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Residenza
Hotel La Residenza
#27 of 41 in Capri
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris

Property: Stella Maris
Address: Via Roma 27, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Capri
Hotel Class:1 star — Stella Maris 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Stella Maris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing