We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly, fun service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Michel'angelo

Michel'angelo
Ranked #30 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great, friendly, fun service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had an unexpected but very cool meal here last night. I was pondering different restaurants in the area, but the waiter here was so friendly I felt like I had to stay! The chef actually wandered out into the garden to pick basil for a salad I ordered - can't get more fresh than that - and seemed to really care that I enjoyed the meal. I recommend this restaurant for uber-friendly service and a wonderful, relaxed meal in Capri.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    121
    58
    33
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Capri, Italy
1 review
“The bad & the ugly truth”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Michelangelo restaurant was recommended to us by the manager of San Felice Hotel who stated it was classic Italian cuisine representative of the region. We were escorted there by one of the breakfast waiters from our hotel. He guided us through some less than scenic precarious dark back alleys. It is clear why a guide was needed to locate the restaurant because the location of this restaurant is off the beaten path (not in the main square) and would have been difficult to find on our own. The restaurant looked encouraging since it was nicely decorated and spacious. It had some lovely Italian touches with vines overhead and other plants as well as wine racks filled with many bottles of red wine. It also had some more contemporary design elements with white walls and seating and a large screen projector television. Our waiter Felizio was warm and funny however everything turned once we sampled their food. The food took an extremely long time to be served and unfortunately was not worth the wait. All four of the meals we ordered were either atrocious or below average at best. The pasta was hard, the sauces on the pasta and meats were foul and inedible, the fish was overcooked and bland, the meat chewy and dry and the portions were small and extremely overpriced. Although we did not complain, the waiter saw that we didn't enjoy the meals (since we had left quite a lot of the portions served behind on our plates) and tried to make up for it by bringing 2 complementary desserts to our table, a chocolate torte and a lemon cake. Sadly, the last thing we wanted was to sample more of this restaurants bad food. We politely sampled the desserts however to remain consistent with the entrees, they were equally bad and indelible. Both desserts were dry and tasteless. They somehow succeeded in making chocolate taste bad which is a coo unto itself, since we all adore chocolate. In addition, the chocolate torte had a granular texture to it which also made it unpleasant. Kindly, Fabrizio brought over some complementary homemade lemocello which was alright. The bill was exorbitant! Almost $100 Euros for 2 fish of the day which was literally 6 mouthfuls. It would have been a nice gesture if Fabrizio had offered to adjust our bill since all the food was inedible. Interestingly, during our meal we also noticed that many other guests from our hotel, (Hotel San Felice) were also being ushered over by the same waiter that had brought us there. We independently saw at least 12 different guests arrive with the same waiter from Hotel San Felice via the dark alley to Michelangelo's greeted by Fabrizio.I speculate that Hotel San Felice has some vested interest in referring clients over to this restaurant. There is probably some bussiness partnership between Hotel San Felice & Michelangelo's. Save yourself the exorbitant cost and extreme aggravation. DON'T EAT THERE. The food is awful. We love Italian cuisine and enjoy it regularly. This restaurant unfortunately fell short in every respect. The ugly truth is that this is the worst meal ever at an Italian restaurant. I suspect the owners of the restaurant doctor or post fictitious reviews to dilute out bad ratings and to try boost their overall ratings.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caprimichelangelo, Proprietario at Michel'angelo, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Ann,


Thank you for your feedback.


Michel'angelo acknowledges that sometimes, and hopefully rarely, our customer expectations are not met. We ask that in these instances, customers let us know at the time and we will try to address their concerns immediately. It is in the interests of both our customers and Michel'angelo that your experience here is enjoyable and memorable for all the right reasons. Unfortunately, we weren't aware of your concerns and therefore we couldn't address them whilst you were here at Michel'angelo.


It appears another member of your party also posted a review of Michel'angelo (Adam L, June 27 2014). When we received this review, we immediately contacted your hotel to offer our apologies and to invite your return. However, we were unable to get in touch with you.


We hope that you return someday so we can provide you with the positive experience we strive to provide all our customers and we invite you to call us should you wish to discuss your concerns further.


Kind regards,
Gianluca D'esposito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Spent a week in Capri last month and dined at a number of restaurants on the island and Restaurant Michelangelo was by far our favourite. Seafood was extremely fresh and the flavours were brilliant. Started off with seafood antipasto followed by gnocchi served with local fish which was both generous and devine. The dessert was lemon sorbet served in a frozen lemon half which complimented the wonderful dining experience to the very last bite. The front of house Fabrizio and Gianluca provide you with a extremely warm, friendly and entertaining experience. This place is a must if you like brilliant food amongst a wonderful setting....highly recommended!!

Helpful?
1 Thank JimmybossfromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
“Delizioso!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Thank you for many lovely meals whilst I stayed in Capri. Your delicious Italian food and exceptional service kept me coming back for more!

I recommend Restaurante Michel'angelo to any friends or family travelling to Capri seeking great value in what can be a very a expensive place to vacation. Grazie mille to the fantastic team.

Helpful?
Thank Lilyfield1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely restauraunt! The waiters were very lovely and provided plenty of laughs. Food was outstanding. Our favourite restaurant in Capri!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieKat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michel'angelo also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Michel'angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing