We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you can swim through it”
Review of Green Grotta

Green Grotta
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.71*
and up
Full Day Capri Tour from Sorrento
More Info
US$126.86*
and up
Private Tour: Capri Day Cruise from Sorrento
More Info
US$88.56*
and up
Capri Day Cruise by Boat from Praiano or Positano
Ranked #3 of 55 things to do in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can swim or climb the cliffs in the Green Grotto, which looks like an enormous liquid emerald.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“you can swim through it”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

unlike the other grotta on this one you can swim under it . It was a lot of fun but a little bit scary at first. You get dropped off on one side and then the boat picks you up on the other side of the rock. You should totally do this.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    180
    39
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love Capri!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I have been to Capri twice now...and plan on increasing my visits. The island is such a lovely experience outside of the main attractions in Italia. The 2nd time I came to Capri, my mom and I were on our own (1st time was with a tour) and got to experience Capri more intimately. We decided to explore the island by water on renting a private boat. The man took us to the Green Grotta and is was breathtaking! You can see right through the water! We felt adventurous and swam through the Grotto. This trip was worth doing and getting to see Capri differently.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you can, go for a swim in it!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We rented a boat for the day, and when we got on the Green Grotta, our captain said we could go for a swim and he would catch us on the exit of the Grotta, across a huge rock. My wife was a bit scared and decided to stay on the boat, but I went for it and it was great! The Grotta is beautiful, and very easy to swim.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldo_Machado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“See it, and enjoy”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The key to seeing the green grotto is to do so in a small boat. To do so properly, rent a small boat as opposed to taking one of the large group boats. Frankly, a family of 4 on a nice-sized boat is about the same price as being show horned on a large one with 50 other people... and also likely a LOT safer. This allows tripd to the Blue, Green, and Red Grottos to be MUCH easier too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RickinShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place to swim through”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Unlike Grotta Azzurra (beautiful, but a real tourist trap) Grotta Verde is free and open to Swimmers....it can be reached only by boat, the cheapest option being renting a canoe from GIOA in Marina Piccola. Also look for the smaller "Champagne Grotta" on the left of the exit toward Faro. Only watch-out, Jelly Fishes....ask other swimmers before plunging in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Egnazia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Grotta also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Green Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing