We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to Faraglioni rocks, you can almost touch them”
Review of Hotel Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luna
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So close to Faraglioni rocks, you can almost touch them”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The final stop of our 11 day Italian tour was the best! This boutique hotel is the perfect combination of location, style and class. Outstanding grounds to walk around keeps the hotel away from the well traveled paths filled with tourists such as ourselves. Yet the hotel is close enough to the central plaza to make it easy to connect via bus to other parts of the island. We splurged for a sea view room and got the most amazing views from our balcony out over the Mediterranean and the famous Faraglioni rocks. You cannot go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea View rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blam2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks for the photos that you have titled "Oh say, can you see?"; we think that it is taken from the outdoor gym; you just caught the characteristic colors of Capri! You were very kind to send us your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    94
    18
    13
    3
See reviews for
99
235
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Souderton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

After a wonderful stay at our 'five star' hotel we proceeded to meet our luggage dockside. A problem occurred when our voucher could not be found in the system. An angel in the form of Mr. Pino appeared and took charge. After finding the agent for our tour company Mr. Pino was able through friendly insistence, to correct the problem and we were able to continue traveling to Naples. Mr. Pino treated us most kindly and was respectful to everyone.

The Moyer's, Derstine's and Halteman's.

Room Tip: Rooms 104 to 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrill34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest, we appreciate very much that you have used, one and only time, Tripadvisor to highlight the solution for your problem. Mr. Pino is precisely the person you describe, kind and resolute. He liked very much your kind words and he sends you best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had 5 nights at the Hotel Luna in July this year, a family of 4 with children 9 and 12. We had upgraded the room and gotten a mini suite which had a good size balcony and a fantastic view. This is a great hotel and can safely be recommended, a very friend staff and managers. The location is brilliant, with stunning view, close to the center of town with its restaurants and bars but still far enough away not to be disturbed by the nightlife. They were very helpful giving advise on things to do and the service of meeting at the harbour to take care of the lugage and escort us to the hotel was great. The only negative experience was when we were told the pool was not permitted for children between 2 and 4pm, however they quickly changed their minds and our kids were allowed to have fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jse2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. As you point out, we do our best to make the Hotel Luna quiet and peaceful; we ask to our young guests to take a break by the pool in the early hours of the afternoon, but when it is possible, an exception is a must! Congratulations and friendliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The best view, try room 210-215, the best location close to the center but not close to the crowd and noise. Extra friendly staff, clean nice room and nice selection for breakfast (hot and cold). A bargain compare to the other hotels which don't have the location or the view. They arrange convenient arrival and departure from / to nearby port. Of course a bottle of proseco was awaiting us on arrival in our room. First class hotel

Room Tip: Only second floor with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thanks a lot for your incisive and generous review, we send you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We just got home from a wonderful stay at Hotel Luna- I could not wait to write this review!! The hotel is perfect!! The grounds are absolutely gorgeous!!! The views are truly spectacular, while the pool area and other facilities are just beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! They booked us on a private boat tour of the island- which i highly recommend doing! The breakfast buffet was great, as was the lunch restaurant at the pool! Definitely splurge for a room with an ocean view terrace- it is worth it!! The views are truly breathtaking, and the terrace has ample space to relax and take it all in!!! The location couldn't be better because it is a close walk to town, but a bit off the beaten path so you can relax and have quiet! During the day Capri town is packed with tourists, so being close enough to town while not in the center is key!! The one thing I will say is that the rooms are a nice size but outdated, especially in comparison to the gorgeous grounds. If you get a room with an ocean view terrace though, it doesn't matter!!! You won't want to leave the terrace!! If you go to Capri- stay here!!! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ocean view terrace is a must!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzybl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
... and we can not wait to see you again in Capri, here in Hotel Luna, with your enthusiasm and your desire to enjoy the holiday in the best way. A warm thank you by the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

What a wonderful hotel. They met us (Sr. Pino) right at the boat in Marina Grande. He took charge of our luggage and had already purchased our tickets for the Funiculare, so we had no line to wait in. The hotel is simply beautiful and what a location. The views are spectacular and the service is superb. We enjoyed the beautiful and intimate pool and the breakfast was one of the best we had in all of Italy. This is THE hotel to stay at in Capri. They also send your luggage down to the boat back to Napoli and Pino gives you your boat tickets right there on the dock. Wow, incredible service !!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenncaracas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your opinion so generous and courteous. We are particularly pleased that you have highlighted the arrival and the departure from the island; we want that our Guests enjoy the holiday from the first minute, released from any logistical task. Come back and visit us, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Capri is amazing and so is this hotel. There are many HIGH end choices in Capri to chose from, and this wasn't as expensive, and had much nicer grounds than any of the other hotels. It might not be as close to town, but it's Capri and EVERYTHING is close to town! The pool is beautiful and a lovely place to have lunch and drinks. We enjoyed the views from the lobby patio with drinks every evening.

Our room overlooked a little courtyard. Next time I'm splurging and getting a room with patio and view of the Sea. And, yes, there will be a next time when I return to Hotel Luna.

The staff was wonderful... helpful, friendly and all of them spoke English which made life much easier, since my Italian isn't great.

STAY HERE... you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much.
If you still choose the interior room or a ocean view room, our care will always be to welcome you for a peaceful and "gourmet" holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 41 in Capri
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
0.8 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Property: Hotel Luna
Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 3, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Capri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#7 Family Hotel in Capri
#8 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can be in no other place than Capri’s Hotel Luna. “Tell me if there is another spectacle on earth which can compare with this” wrote Alexandre Dumas as he gazed at the Faraglioni rocks way back in 1816. “No, there isn’t” you instinctively want to answer, as you sit on the sweeping terrace of Hotel Luna, watching the setting sun paint the legendary sea stacks a shade of fiery red, or stroll through the gardens on a summer evening, in the silvery light of the Capri moon. Watching the sun rising over the sea, whiling away a morning lazing by the pool, relishing a delicious lunch of insalata caprese and fresh fruit, taking a spot of exercise in the panoramic fitness corner, enjoying a candlelit dinner overlooking the Faraglioni, savoring a bottle of wine with that special someone on the terrace of your room. Can you imagine a better way to spend the day? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing