We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the 5*, this is close to paradise as you can get”
Review of Hotel Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Luna
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the 5*, this is close to paradise as you can get”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I've been staying at this place (in practically the same room) almost every year for 15 years and love it. (I particularly love the fact that the hotel hasn't noticed ;-)

The pros:
1) The property: Gorgeous. Come in the spring and you will smell the lemon trees...come in the summer or fall and you'll walk through beautiful covered gardens..It's sensory overload.
2) The views. Unparalleled. No place in Capri-- not even the most expensive ones, can do better. The ocean view rooms and suites will keep you mesmerized for your entire stay.
3) The service: The staff is simply outstanding without exception. Living in Italy my expectations of service are low- but this hotel is exceptional. Pool-side, breakfast, bar, dinner or housekeeping. It's universally outstanding.
4) The food: Wow. Incredible quality. This is the real deal. Even the espresso at the pool manages to wow me.

The "needs improvement": (ok, I should be on vacation BUT.....)
WIFI!!!! The hotel says the island has limited bandwidth which I do believe to a certain extent. But it can be resolved... Granted, most of the guests are older and don't use wifi/internet. But the hotel needs to provide a better service in this regard.

Otherwise THANK YOU for a wonderful stay for yet another year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paestum70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    93
    18
    13
    3
See reviews for
96
232
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is our second trip to Capri and the Luna. From the moment I started reservations they were fabulous! I requested the same room we had previously, and on arriving, while it was not available for 2 days we were upgraded to a beautiful suite until it was available.
Everyone at reception and in the dining room were helpful and friendly
I would go back in a n instant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jppjrcemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for the nice photo of our employees Peppino and Salvatore, who warmly greet you. We hope to welcoming you again next year, for a great holiday and some Capri's new excursions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Had the pleasure to stay at Hotel Luna on the Isle of Capri this past August 2013. TThe Staff took care of all our needs, leaving no detail to chance. The Service is 5 Star. The Food is 5 Star. The stunning view from our room is 5 Star. The location is away from the noise and hustle of the square, in a peaceful area adjacent to an active monastery. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve a room with a view of the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Your review is very kind and nice. We read so many "5 stars" as a good omen! Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in in July. It isn't a large hotel so the balcony rooms fill up fast. When I made my reservation I wasn't sure we woud get a balcony. But we lucked out and had a balcony room with the view of the Capri rocks and yachts. We loved the pool! It was a very romantic setting! I would definitely stay here again! It was a great location and just a exquisite experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Madam, we are grateful for your review, for the kind words that you have used and we are happy that you had a room with a view, as you wanted. Usually, if the sea-view rooms are booked, we propose to the Guest the waiting-list. Many greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Luna at the beginning of October to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When you arrive at this hotel, you soon realize that it is one of the grand old hotels of Capri. You get the feeling that you would have the same experience having stayed here in the 1960's. This is a GOOD thing. I cannot imagine another hotel property in Capri with a more beautiful setting (the property is huge) and in my opinion, has the best view in all of Capri. We stayed in an oceanview room (210) overlooking the Faraglioni and it was perfection. We enjoyed a beautiful bottle of Prosecco and cookies sent by the hotel upon our arrival overlooking the sea. The rooms are quite large and very comfortable. Nightly turndown service is just perfect. The hotel is very quiet and well situated about a 5 minute walk (uphill or downhill depending on where you start) from the Piazza and funicular. The pool is beautiful and very relaxing, the perfect way to spend an afternoon. We ate lunch by the pool having read some wonderful reviews however we were not very impressed by the sub-par Caprese salad (by far the worse we had during our entire stay in Italy). The staff were lovely and helpful and the common rooms and patio of the hotel are simply beautiful, along with the gardens (wow). We asked for a recommendation for pizza and they were right on the mark--Bucco di Bepe near the piazza. It was delicious!!! Capri can take your breath away and the Hotel Luna is VERY well priced for what it has to offer. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend a visit to Capri in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: Definitely take a seaview room as the views CANNOT be beat!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Madam, thank you very much, your description about Hotel Luna identifies exactly the managerial approach and our desire to preserve the best aspects of tradition. We wait for you again with a "different salad" that the Chef will dedicate to you, we have already agreed! See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel 3 different times. I am still amazed that this hotel charges less than other high-end properties on Capri. For the quality of the service, food, views and rooms, they really could charge much more!!

Each time I have stayed in a suite. This includes 2 separate rooms, 2 doors to the large balcony and as bonus, 2 full bathrooms. The suites we have always stayed in are at the end of the hotel furthest from the lobby.

Entering the suite, there is a full bathroom immediately to the left. To the right are 3 closets with the most hangers I have seen in a hotel room--enough to actually hang all of my clothes for a change.

The first room is a large living area with a couch, desk with chair and flat screen TV. There is a door that opens up onto a balcony. The next room has a comfortable bed, another flat screen TV and another full bath as well as a window overlooking the sea and doors that again open up onto the same large balcony that one can access from the living area. Of note, one of the bathrooms is a walk-in shower and the other has a bathtub instead.

The views from the balcony, even while lying on the bed, are of the sea and surrounding parts of the island. It truly is worth going to Capri just to see that view.

The room is very comfortable, from the large spaces, to lots of drawers and hangers, the two full bathrooms and two TVs.

There aren't many channels on the TV but I find this to be the case in all Italian hotels I have stayed in, including the top end five-star luxury hotels in Milan.

The service is excellent--very thorough housekeeping service and turndown service, for example.

The breakfast was included in our rate and was truly excellent--it was the usual buffet found at excellent European hotels but with the addition of wonderful cakes and pies.

The public spaces are also beautiful as is the walk from the entrance to the property down to the main building.

Honestly, I have always thought they undercharge compared with other fine properties on Capri. It really is an excellent value.

One word of warning, it is a seemingly endless uphill walk to the center of Capri where the plaza is and the entrance to the funicular. It is not far but since it is all uphill from the hotel to the plaza and location of many restaurants, it may not be an ideal base for some people.

Though I will say that I was extremely pleased with the arrival and departure service. We called the hotel from Naples once we knew what time our ferry left Naples. We were met right off the ferry boat by a staff member from the Hotel Luna who took our luggage and sold us the funicular tickets to get to the center of Capri.

On departure, we were told to hand over our luggage in the lobby two hours before our ferry departed, and it was waiting for us at the ferry dock right next to the ferry entrance on time. So we never had to worry about getting our luggage from the ferry up to the hotel and down again to the ferry.

This is a hotel I recommend strongly without any hesitation--the views, the service, the comfortable suite, the wonderful food, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mexico92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Guest,
your review is the most accurate and complete description of the Hotel Luna that's ever been done!
Your review allows travelers to get an idea really detailed and correct of our welcome, from arrival to departure. We are very grateful for the time you have dedicated to us and we look forward to seeing you again in Capri. In the meantime, take care of yourself and your family.
Warm greetings from the Staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here with my wife for one night over the course of our honeymoon. The staff are lovely, made us feel very welcome right from the start. I had booked a room with a balcony looking onto the sea and the 'blue grotto'. As we were newly weds they upgraded our room to one with two balconies. The room was huge, immaculate and very airy. We had an amazing view of the famous stacks. Facing out to the sea on our left was a 14th century monastery and on our right were some Roman gardens. Everywhere we looked took our breath away.
There is a fantastic restaurant beside the hotel called Il Geranio, go here for dinner! Good value and excellent food!
Breakfast in the restaurant was the typical continental, wasn't offered anything hot like an omeltte but I think it was available. Plenty of everything and did the job.
There is a nice small gym that looks onto the sea and the pool area is lovely, also has a great view.
If I ever go back to this Capris I woud definitely stay here. It's worth spending a little extra for this place.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLunaCapri, LA DIREZIONE at Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Best wishes for a long and happy life! Perhaps …. many of our guests have chosen Capri, after the honeymoon, as the destination of their most romantic anniversaries, we met their children and sometimes their grandchildren… come back here soon. Thank you for your message, we were grateful also for the photos that you posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.3 mi away
Villa Brunella
Villa Brunella
#5 of 41 in Capri
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Parco
0.3 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#6 of 41 in Capri
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna

Property: Hotel Luna
Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti 3, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Capri
#6 Romantic Hotel in Capri
#7 Family Hotel in Capri
#9 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We can be in no other place than Capri’s Hotel Luna. “Tell me if there is another spectacle on earth which can compare with this” wrote Alexandre Dumas as he gazed at the Faraglioni rocks way back in 1816. “No, there isn’t” you instinctively want to answer, as you sit on the sweeping terrace of Hotel Luna, watching the setting sun paint the legendary sea stacks a shade of fiery red, or stroll through the gardens on a summer evening, in the silvery light of the Capri moon. Watching the sun rising over the sea, whiling away a morning lazing by the pool, relishing a delicious lunch of insalata caprese and fresh fruit, taking a spot of exercise in the panoramic fitness corner, enjoying a candlelit dinner overlooking the Faraglioni, savoring a bottle of wine with that special someone on the terrace of your room. Can you imagine a better way to spend the day? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing