We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

La Certosa di San Giacomo
Ranked #25 of 55 things to do in Capri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This charterhouse or Carthusian Monastery was established in 1371 and built by Giacomo Arcuccio, great chamberlain of the Angevine court.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you're visiting Capri for the day this is worth a visit, particularly for the view over the sea from the garden. Moreover it is close to the small Garden of Augustus. However, signing post from Capri town is poor. We first headed out to the Belvedere Cannone, and only by accident found our way to the monastery.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank OandA-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    70
    29
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
379 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Brilliant photography”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I'm a little behind in my TA reviews so the photogrphy exhibition that was in in this old monastry may be over by now but it was a brilliant collection of work by 3 different artists of Capri, Italy and histroric rooms. There was also a fascinating exhibition that I think is permanent of paintings of Capri by an artist called Offenbach that were dark and erie. And even though the main shopping area of Capri was full of people, this space was quite, peaceful and almost empty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“far from the maddening crowd”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Close enough to walk, far enough to get away from the package tours which make Capri a pain in the behind, this is a lovely piece of tranquillity. It's 4 euros to get in and closed at 2pm when we went today. As well as a stunning monastery it had an excellent exhibition of an early 20th century German painter(Diefenbach), whom I admit to never having heard of but by golly I want to know more now. Great history to how they are renovating it and do not miss the gardens at the back for yet more breathtaking views. Great way to spend half an hour or so.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Perivalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely old place”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lovely old place, it must be a little maintenance, but still a place of paradise ... the two kiosks seem to bring you back in time ...
congratulations to the guardian,very friendly !!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Far from all”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Arabian and italian feeling mixed in a "notime zone" far from the crowd of everyday tourists . inside a beautiful exibition of paintings too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Certosa di San Giacomo also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to La Certosa di San Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing