We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Quisisana
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Having heard of this famous hotel from friends this was to be the highlight of our Amalfi coast stay…..:-(
The staff received us with indifference. The hotel was not full, yet even as members of "Leading Hotels of the World" we were not given a nice room. The toilet seat was broken (it slipped when you sat on it) and the room was cold. We took a duvet from the cupboard but it had no cover, which i found unhygienic. When I called the housekeeper she told me she didn't have a duvet cover of that size. I said she should bring us two small ones….instead she brought us the same big one 'disguised' in between 2 flat sheets! Of course, during the night these sheets slipped and in the morning I once again had the same uncovered duvet! NOT acceptable.
The dinner in the 'Rendezvous' was inedible.
I will never go there again….which suits the staff, as they told us that they are always full and the same people come back year after year to meet up with their friends….obviously I am not in the 'in crowd'.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RVsculpteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

You will love this property. From its majestic sea views to it's elegant rooms and flawless staff, this hotel is a beauty. It's well located on Capri an easy 5-minute walk from Piazza Garibaldi where you can catch a bus or the funiculare down to the Marina, or a bus to Anacapri.

This luxury property has virtually every amenity and comfort. We suggest you opt for one of the sea view terrace rooms / mini-suites as they are just too luxurious to miss for your stay on the magical Isle of Capri. They include all the usual high-end amenities and an iPod dock and writing desk, in addition to sofa, chairs, and a big coffee table. The large terraces are equipped with quality chaise lounges in case you want some sun, and motorized awnings in case you don't.

The full breakfast buffet is excellent with Prosecco included along with a wide range of hot and cold items and pastries. Breakfast features indoor and outdoor seating. The restaurant and bar are 5-star elegant, luxurious and expensive.

The front desk and concierge will attend to your every request, and offer honest suggestions about activities and area restaurants and shops.

We had no problems with this property, only a delightful 4-night stay.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a sea view mini-suite with terrace even if you don't plan to spend muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ta2zman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I should start with the only faults I could find with this hotel
1. The airconditioning did not work and the rooms were warm..they gave us a fan, but that didnt help
2. No Coffee/tea/kettle in the room
3. the shower area leaked as the door didnt shut properly

Now for the review:
The hotel has a great location..a short walk to the piazza, shops and restaurants and bars..also lovely walking paths..But be prepared to walk slopes.
The rooms are large, bright and the beds are extremely comfortable. The bathrooms are large. We had a lovely terrace surrounded by citrus trees.
The lounge area is comfortable to hang around after a hectic day. We were a group of 6 ladies and we were very well taken care off by Christiano and Lello. They made the best cocktails and were very helpful. There was nothing too much for them to do..
The breakfast area is very nice, with a pretty view. The staff are polite and friendly..they even gave us wooden stools to keep our handbags..they served prosecco with breakfast..they did not have eggs to order, or a live breakfast counter. However there was more than enough choices
The singer at the piano was fun, however we heard him for 3 nights and then felt he could have had a better repertoire!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bagladyMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

No question that this is luxury, but the pool is too small and generally the place is crowded. The piano bar is brilliant, and worth the visit, but overall not quite up to the mark. Two story terraced rooms overlooking pool are a little dated. For the money...on the edge.

Room Tip: Go for the main block on a high floor not on the front ie pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CityboyNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This review is mainly for the restaurant, though you can see quite a walking through the first floor......here is my experience.....Excellent views of Capri very romantic, superb white glove service where they treat you like a king or queen, delicious food!!! And breathtaking views. My husband and took a day trip to capri from Amalfi and stopped to look at the menu for lunch when the Maître d' approached us and warmly invited us in...we were a bit flabbergasted because of how nice he was.....the place is so ostentatious and beautiful we probably would have kept walking, but we were glad we stayed and ate....Now we we are planning a trip to Capri just to stay at this superb hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed here in peak time in August for 10 nights and just wow.

From our room {which had a garden view} to the pool, to the restaurant and cocktail lounge, and everything in between - everything is absolutely perfect. It is the first hotel I have stayed in that I felt like a movie star!

Having said that it is neither snooty nor stuffy as there are a great mix of couples, friends and families so the atmosphere is still quite relaxed.

There are some dress codes as you would expect but it is somewhere that makes you want to dress up and sip cocktails with the beautiful people.

The location is absolutely perfect too - within strolling distance of the best shops and the busting square.

The spa is wonderful too, I had the pedicure {medical} and my feet have never been treated so well - the staff are so knowledgable and through and I literally glided out of the door.

We will definitely be back.

Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: We booked directly with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbigailMaryLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just love this 5 star resort and dream of going back soon. It was on a trip of a life time. Being at the top of Capri and at the end of the square it is the best spot for couples. Hotel is in a and old hospital but if one of the best places we stayed in Italy. Well worth the boat trip from Naples. (rough in the fall season due to waves)
This whole island is great and cant pick a better spot on Capri to stay.

End of season kind of quite here and getting to be in shut down mode. October is great less crowds great for romance. But i would recommend early September since its a bit warmer.

Well worth the price wish we could stay for ever. Staff was great

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade room well worth it enjoy the square aroud the hotel and take the time to relax her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k123-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.6 mi away
Luxury Villa Excelsior Parco
0.1 mi away
Capri Tiberio Palace
Capri Tiberio Palace
#7 of 40 in Capri
697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Marina Capri Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel della Piccola Marina
0.4 mi away
Punta Tragara
Punta Tragara
#22 of 40 in Capri
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Quisisana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Quisisana

Address: Via Camerelle 2, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Capri
#6 Luxury Hotel in Capri
#10 Family Hotel in Capri
#19 Romantic Hotel in Capri
Price Range: £317 - £415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Quisisana 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5-story Resort Hotel surrounded by private gardens with open views of sea, just a few steps from piazza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Quisisana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing