We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'slow food' class restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donna Rachele

Donna Rachele
Ranked #77 of 122 Restaurants in Capri
Price range: US$5 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nothing is more important than the quality of the food served. The primary ingredients used are always fresh and selected according to the season. The treatment begins with oil, one of the most prized and rewarded, as the‘pietra bianca del Cilento’ and ‘extravergine di Montechiaro’. The restaurant Donna Rachele is characterized by use of “Typicalproducts of Campania” with eight slow food principals including the Beans of Controne, the Anchovies of Menaica, the “Colatura di Alici”of Cetara and the White Figs of Cilento, the Cacioricotta of Cilentoand the Provolone del Monaco.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“'slow food' class restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had lunch and we loved it! Both the sea food and the home made pasta were very good and the prosecco was very cold. In order to try to persuade us to remain in Capri over night, the waiter brought in the restaurant's singer, who played for us an old Napoletan love song, which was very nice and surprising for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BogdanGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    83
    49
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing Tourist Trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had high expectations for this place as the location is charming & the young girl out the front seemed genuinely welcoming -- BUT it was a big let-down; Prices on the menu and the bill were different - (we were charged more for every item), the waiter forgot our order; we received no bread; our meal was very small and not at all specially prepared; we were ignored on several occasions... only getting attention by jumping up to leave. The main focus of this restaurant is to make as much money as possible from as many unsuspecting tourists as they can. The owner hovers around but has no interest in the quality of the food or the service. This place unfortunately tarnished our experience of Capri.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Ravioli Ever.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Although you only get 5 ravioli, there was homemade and the most delicious I've ever tasted. Make sure you savor each bite, unless of course you travel to Capri often.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YanksDude25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hidden charges!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

we came for late lunch (after 3pm)
service was very good although there was a misunderstanding in the dish we ordered
the food was good

what I did not like is the fact that we got a service charge of about 15-20% and 2 euros additional per pizza and ended up paying about 6 or 7euros for the service
this is clearly abusive

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gastrula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very much average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We ordered Pizza Caprese and we got Margherita. Pizza was tasty though. Service charge 6 euro! Don't recommend even though it has a Tripadvisor certificate sticked to the main door.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruehnudel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donna Rachele also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Donna Rachele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing