We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlucky recipe”
Review of E' Divino

E' Divino
Ranked #29 of 120 Restaurants in Capri
Price range: US$23 - US$47
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The dream starts a few minutes from the legendary Piazzetta:E' Divino will welcome you with its old-style, easy-going mood, here you'll be able to rediscover the pleasures of a slow pace, of informal and genuine fashion, and most importantly enjoy artsy - culinary improvisation, all in true Capri-style!Magic is guaranteed, and so is irony, as everything here is designed to avoid the classic restaurant feel: you can dine on a bed, on a trunk, in the middle of our vegetable garden all the while feeling at home, in a dimension of absolute relaxation, yet fashionable and trendy.Mediterranean cuisine is revisited with creative twist: simple, yummy dishes are proposed according to the most refined, tasty coordinates; extraordinary desserts and a fine selection of wines will delight every taste.Any weaknesses to our concept? None, or if anything we'd have to say: " E' Divino, where alleged weaknesses become wonderful strenghts"
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The restaurant is original and different from the typical tourist restaurants. The menu is short but is changed very often. The service is good and the quality of food is average. We were non lucky with one of second courses of the short menu. The food was not well prepared and could not be eaten with pleasure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martinRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippe_Divine, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at E' Divino, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear guest,
we are sorry with our "unlucky recipe", and would be gratefoul if you remebered about second courses of the short menu in question.
Our desire is to improve and satisfy our customers accounting for us a source of gratification.
We will be pleased to welcome you as our gracious host and offer a "second" courses if gives us a second chance..
Regards
Enzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

...wait like a tourist.


There are no reservations. We got there early because of this but was offered the less desirable seating outside (it was a bit chilly and the real atmosphere was outside) We opted to wait for a table. We didnt think it would take long (although euros tend to eat/enjoy food longer)

They definitely seated PLENTY of locals before us. WITHOUT A DOUBT. It got frustrating. We were glad to wait for a nice spot in the dining room and delicious food.

If I could....I'd give it 3.5-3.75 stars. Only reason it is not a 5 is for not treating tourists equally, BUT in their defense, the locals or regulars are their bread and butter throughout the year on a continuous while most tourists may only come here 1 or 2 times in their lives.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Outside the "piazzetta" you can find this "different" place. Is something unespected..you get there because somebody tells you, the owner with her blue eyes invites you inside her house....is a real house transformed in a restaurant....Unique place to eat out from the turistic Capri....the food is excellent as the choice of wines and the price is really reasonable !! Thank you...we will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FabioBonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trippe_Divine, Direttore generale at E' Divino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hi Fabio,
thanks for your comment! You got E' Divino mood and spirit (as well as wine, hope so...)
A pleasant surprise awaits you upon your return!
Bye
Enzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This restaurant came recommended in Lonely Planet so we thought we would
give it a try while on a day trip to Capri. It is located down one of the
wee narrow streets in Capri Town and is easy to miss due to the lack of
signage. On entering you feel like you are walking into a house, but that
opens into a walled garden area with vegetables growing next to the
tables. It was quite a little haven in the middle of busstling Capri Town.
The service was shall we say 'interesting' and I can only describe our
whole experience as similar to an episode of Fawlty Towers! The food was
simple but very tasty and we both came out of the restaurant laughing as
we had never experienced such 'unusual' service. The waitress serving us
was clearly embarrassed by our experience as we were not charged the full
amount! So if you want simple, tasty Italian food and are not too fussy
about service, then this is a good place to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant, it was described as quirky with a good atmosphere and it didn't disappoint. We sat in the candle lit garden which was romantic and charming. We had some of the best food all holiday here and it was reasonably priced for such a pricey island (having just spent 16€ on a single cocktail at my hotel the 20€ house red wine was good value and very drinkable!) it's hard to find, but worth seeking out- not far from the main square.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grace c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed E' Divino also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to E' Divino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing