We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet retreat”
Review of Hotel Villa Sarah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Sarah
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The pictures may show the hotel off in a better light than reality, but we still enjoyed our stay here. The room was clean and reasonable size, as was the bath, although the water pressure in the shower was weak. The staff claims that is has to do with the supply being regulated from Sorrento. I suspected that it had to do with them not wanting to pay huge water fees. The pool looks like the photos, but it is right in the middle of things at the hotel and a bit like being in a fish bowl. Also, the gardens and grounds look like they had seen better days... most all were roped off to keep guests out. Those minuses aside, the staff was very friendly and the breakfasts were quite nice. The walk from the funicular was uphill (but isn't everything on Capri uphill going one of two directions?) about 15 minutes from the hotel, but unlike Positano, everything on Capri is ramps, not steps.... we found that easier to do.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is actually a room here with a "view", so can't help there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    48
    15
    6
    9
See reviews for
21
62
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Bad value for money. The staff was unfriendly and not motivated to satisfy the customers. The wind has blown away some of our clothes from the balcony into the backyard. The claimed that they asked everybody and didn't find anything. But it turned out to be wrong. The guest who found it left it at the reception. Another story was at the pool: We asked several times, if we can order a drink. They let us wait for a very long time although we were the only guests. We don't recommend Villa Sarah at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a charming family run establishment that is about a 10-15 minute uphill walk from the funicular. I would absolutely stay here again! They serve a lovely breakfast, including cut fresh fruit. The air conditioning worked well and was extremely quiet. The rooms are simple and clean. Our room included a large, empty fridge – very handy since there is a grocery store nearby. I highly recommend a room with an outside patio. They have a computer near the breakfast room. My only suggestion is to include a printer to allow guests to print out boarding passes and give each guest the computer password upon check-in so that the individual at the front desk does not need do it for the guest. This is not a complaint because everyone at the front desk quickly typed in the password upon request and also allowed my friend to use the front desk computer to print her boarding pass. When we left, the front desk booked our ferry and a taxi driver to take us to the Naples train station. This was a godsend as Naples traffic is crazy!

If you are reasonably fit, there is no need to get a porter to take your bag to the hotel, especially if it is on rollers. At the end of the ferry dock get a map of the island from the information office on your right. Then turn right to purchase your ticket for the funicular – 1,80Euro. If you have a large roller bag, you will need a ticket for it. The tickets for the funicular and the buses are the same, so purchase several if you are planning to take the bus to Anacapri. Take the funicular up to the piazza. Once at the piazza, there are restaurants on either side with a walkway between all the tables and umbrellas. Traverse the walkway to a narrow arched opening and keep walking up the very narrow pathway. You will reach a couple of stairs off to the right, go right and keep walking uphill. Eventually, you will reach an intersection with the Bar Lindos on your right and a grocery store on your left. Turn left at the intersection. Hotel Villa Sarah is up the walkway on your left. It seems like it takes forever to get there, but it really is not that far. We meet so many friendly locals on the weekends and in the evening!

If you are not reasonably fit, you may not want to visit Capri because, other than the piazzas in Capri and Anacapri, EVERYTHING there is to see is up or down steep walkways or stairs. I highly recommend staying for at least three nights to really enjoy the island after the day trippers have left for the day. A day trip does not do Capri justice as there are many wonderful hikes. From the hotel you can hike to the Villa Jovis and Villa Lysis. Take the chair-lift with a picnic to Mt. Solaro. Enjoy your picnic on the hike down. The hike from the lighthouse in Anacapri to the Blue Grotto is spectacular!! Take lots of water and a picnic. It is a fairly rigorous hike, up and down narrow, steep, rocky trails. There are many informational and poetic tiles along the way describing the local flora and fauna.

A few odds and ends: The buses to Anacapri are small and it is a hair raising ride. There are only about 10 seats, people cram inside and hang on. There are only a few public beaches on the island. The easiest one to get to is near the funicular ticket booth at the harbor. Take water shoes as there is little sand at any of the beaches. Pay toilets are located at the top and bottom of funicular, near the Garden of Augustus (not much to see), and at the Axel Munthe's Museum (worth a walk through). Very good gelato and friendly service at a little stand near the Garden of Augustus. Try the Caprese Sandwich at Aldo by the harbor (left of the funicular). Bar Lindos is a nice watering hole if you want to mingle with the locals in the evening and have a sandwich. Skip the pizza! Finally, and most importantly if you are a cat lover, there is a friendly orange tabby that sits on the wall outside the Hotel Esperia (look for the white awning) before you get to the turn-off by Bar Lindos. Bring some treats for him.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Understanding everything is more expensive on islands we expected to pay a bit more for a room but it still fell far short of what we expected. Quality of rooms, breakfast and grounds was average at best, staff were friendly enough however the hotel looks much better in pictures than reality. This hotel is NOT a place to stay with families- the pool is very close to the rooms, which they apparently justify in their 2-5pm ban on children in pool each day in favor of the other paying guests who like to siesta during that time. Walls are thin so noises travel throughout the hotel easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We enjoyed our night at Hotel Villa Sarah, a short walk from the center of the town (10-15 minutes uphill) and a world away from the crowds. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the room was very neat and clean. If you want to escape the hordes of tourists on Capri, then I highly recommend Villa Sarah.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_S_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Other
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

PLUS:
good and quiet location away from the main Tourist area but main plaza easy to reach (if you are ok with Walking up the hill for about 5-10 minutes which really isn´t a problem), friendly service, rooms, pool

MINUS:
high price, breakfast a little weak (no real fresh fruits)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FL321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Rooms were on the small side, but nicely decorated and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a good choice at the buffet breakfast. The hotel is situated a little bit out of Capri town, so is quiet. The pool would be a godsend in the summer.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Capri hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Helios
Villa Helios
#6 of 41 in Capri
237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Weber Ambassador Capri
0.3 mi away
La Residenza Capri
La Residenza Capri
#26 of 41 in Capri
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Palatium Mari
Hotel Palatium Mari
#34 of 41 in Capri
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Floridiana
Hotel La Floridiana
#29 of 41 in Capri
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
Hotel Villa Sanfelice
#12 of 41 in Capri
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Sarah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Sarah

Property: Hotel Villa Sarah
Address: Via Tiberio 3A, 80073 Capri, Island of Capri, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Island of Capri > Capri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Capri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Sarah 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Sarah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Hotel Capri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing