We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bakery & Gelato: On Main Route, Great Treat!”

Buonocore Gelateria
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Capri
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Takeout
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,121 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“Bakery & Gelato: On Main Route, Great Treat!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stopped by Buonocore on the way from the port headed to Giardini di Augusto (where you can get great pictures of the Faraglioni Rocks). We also stopped again on the walk back to port as well. It is about a 2 minute walk from the Funicular (Railway Cable Car) at the top, near the Piazzetta. The worst thing about this place is deciding what deliciousness to get! We got gelato and a few cannoli both times. They make everything fresh daily; pastries, rolls, even waffle cones and bowls made while you wait. You can sit inside, but with limited time on Capri, we strolled through the streets while eating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JT_Turner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    334
    84
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream and Pastries”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful ice cream and pastries, particularly the cannoli and pistacio cookies!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place for snacks and ice cream.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not surprisingly there are queues here for their delicious ice cream. Inside there are excellent cakes, tarts and salads. There is tiny area to eat and they serve good coffee. But the best tip is to take your food along the street a little (the shop on your left ) and turn left into a tranquil shady park. Not enough seats but shade to be had sitting on the wall under the trees. A haven of peace on busy days in the town.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
112 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great pastries and ice cream”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This bakery is right in the center of Capri on the way to trendy Camerelo Street. Easy to find. It has breads, sandwiches, pizza by the slice, ice cream, coffee, etc. We tried pastries, ice cream and a sandwich and it was all good. If you are looking for a place for quick bite instead of a "seat-down" lunch, this is a very good choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prof23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Yummy gelato!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the only ice cream place we tried during our 3 days on Capri. It was very nice and a reasonable price. We always have pistacchio which was up to it's usual standard!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RachyA1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buonocore Gelateria also viewed

Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
Capri, Island of Capri
 
Capri, Island of Capri
 

Been to Buonocore Gelateria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing